AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


View Poll Results: Should AOA have its own UT or other gaming server for its members?
Yes, UT is awesome and I'd play! 14 66.67%
NO!! Not a good idea at all! 1 4.76%
NO!! But maybe Diablo. 0 0%
NO!! But maybe Quake. 2 9.52%
NO!! But maybe Half-Life 4 19.05%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 03:03 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

well people
i jumped the gun and put a temp server up so you can feel it and tell me what i should do

unreal://66.65.113.107:7777
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 03:17 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Quote:
Originally posted by phiber
well people
i jumped the gun and put a temp server up so you can feel it and tell me what i should do

unreal://66.65.113.107:7777
make me an admin

and turn off tournament mode.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 03:18 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by phiber
well people
i jumped the gun and put a temp server up so you can feel it and tell me what i should do

unreal://66.65.113.107:7777
it looks good, but I'm real close, I want to see what others further away think.

and no, you're not jumping the gun unless it has AOA's name on it, then you're jumping a bit .

I think we'll do some fragging tonight after I reboot.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 03:29 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


it looks good, but I'm real close, I want to see what others further away think.

and no, you're not jumping the gun unless it has AOA's name on it, then you're jumping a bit .

I think we'll do some fragging tonight after I reboot.
BTW, we couldn't play because there must be a minimum of players required... we'll need to disable that so we can destroy... I mean, play civilized .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 03:32 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

wait how are you not playing? minimal players are at 4 now
with bots?
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 03:45 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

No bots, just me and Super talking .

I'll try right now and come back.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 03:48 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Just me and Super and lava flow.

Need to take it off tournament mode, or something.... it's just not working... maybe restarting it... or manually editting the server file.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 03:52 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

well it is set up to work?
i restarted it like 20 times
in CTF
and did it in the .INI file also
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 04:35 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Got it fixed, my ping was horrible but everything seemed smooth. If you want the honor of hosting you got it. We'll have to setup a stardard though... more to come.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 04:41 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

I'll have to go find my ut cd and reinstall it.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 05:00 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky
Got it fixed, my ping was horrible but everything seemed smooth. If you want the honor of hosting you got it. We'll have to setup a stardard though... more to come.
i just wanted to give you a preview
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 09:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to SEiZe Send a message via Yahoo to SEiZe

I wouldn't mind playing Q3A over the 'net but i'm stuck on 56k and lag time would kill me quicker than ******. Im stuck waiting for DSL/Cable.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 09:27 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Ping around 170-180ms
Packet loss above 0% though. varied between a few percent and over 70%.

My end is ADSL on a good network, so something inbetween is screwing it.

AidanII
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 10:36 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

what's the slowest a sever could be? I may be able to slap somthing together to throw in acorner a never touch.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 11:15 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Instagib!

Come on, someone make an instagib one. Everyone will love it, trust me
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 11:19 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Superman53142
Instagib!

Come on, someone make an instagib one. Everyone will love it, trust me
I had instagib once, but the doctors operated and now I'm fine.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 11:45 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
what's the slowest a sever could be? I may be able to slap somthing together to throw in acorner a never touch.
Friend had NT 4.0 server running UT server on a Pentium 75mhz 32MB ram. I've personally run it on 100mhz Pentium NT 4.0 servers.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 03:42 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Quote:
Originally posted by Superman53142
Instagib!

Come on, someone make an instagib one. Everyone will love it, trust me
hehe, you will not beat me that easily.

57 avrg ping
and some UT skill.

thats all I need...

oh, and maybe a shock rifle.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 03:48 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Ok Mr. Superman, you win the Instagib battle, but its not over....yet.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 04:19 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


Friend had NT 4.0 server running UT server on a Pentium 75mhz 32MB ram. I've personally run it on 100mhz Pentium NT 4.0 servers.
what if I threw linux or win2k on a 233 with 128MB of ram? Do you think that would be more than enough for a game server?
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AOA BF2 server Áedán GAMES! OH YEAH! 550 29th December, 2007 05:58 PM
Help me with CS Server! Reziarfg GAMES! OH YEAH! 0 24th October, 2004 12:09 AM
Bye bye ET server BigRed GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 31st October, 2003 02:12 AM
help with inline file server and messagimg server. r0l0e Mobile Devices and Networking 24 22nd July, 2002 01:52 AM
Win 200- Server The Spyder OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 27th January, 2002 07:46 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0