AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


View Poll Results: Should AOA have its own UT or other gaming server for its members?
Yes, UT is awesome and I'd play! 14 66.67%
NO!! Not a good idea at all! 1 4.76%
NO!! But maybe Diablo. 0 0%
NO!! But maybe Quake. 2 9.52%
NO!! But maybe Half-Life 4 19.05%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 06:46 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman


what if I threw linux or win2k on a 233 with 128MB of ram? Do you think that would be more than enough for a game server?
I think it's Linux compatible... actually, I know it is (same friend also had a linux UT server at one point).

If you're into it, give her a try. Let me know if you need software.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 07:13 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


I think it's Linux compatible... actually, I know it is (same friend also had a linux UT server at one point).

If you're into it, give her a try. Let me know if you need software.
hmm I guess what I need is a socket 7 mobo. :/ I'll see what I can find, but donations would be nice.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 07:28 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman


hmm I guess what I need is a socket 7 mobo. :/ I'll see what I can find, but donations would be nice.
I have spare parts, but no motherboards/cpus...

gimme specifics in PM and I'll see what I have to help with.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 07:35 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Looks like UT won and little support for anything else.

When Daniel returns he'll visit here and give his approval (or not) and we'll decide the rest then (this won't be locked until he gets back, but the poll is over and done with so 12 UT, 4 Half Life were the final count).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 10:13 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

YGPM.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 10:41 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Planet Unreal reckon that the absolute minimum would be a 266MHz P2 with 64Mb RAM and a cable connection. They recommend 300MHz or better, and 96/128Mb RAM...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 11:11 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII
Planet Unreal reckon that the absolute minimum would be a 266MHz P2 with 64Mb RAM and a cable connection. They recommend 300MHz or better, and 96/128Mb RAM...
just to be the server?
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 03:54 PM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

if my server can handle counterstrike it can handle anything
why worry about the server dont i have one up?
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 08:11 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by phiber
if my server can handle counterstrike it can handle anything
why worry about the server dont i have one up?
I'm thinking about a backup , and also the poor ping responses from 2 members have me suspecting a roadrunner bottleneck, but it seems that MRPCMAN needs a mobo for the P233, which isn't probable and definitely not worth it in this instance.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 08:15 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

like I said. If I go get a cheap duron,then I could turn this 450 into a server...
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 09:00 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
like I said. If I go get a cheap duron,then I could turn this 450 into a server...
If you're into folding, that might be worth it, but as a UT server the upgrade would not alone be worth it. When I had little traffic and twice the upload capacity, running UT and some smaller sites off my now defunct webserver wasn't a big deal, but I wasn't making any money on it, which was part of the reason I didn't replace it once it went down.

I don't want anyone spending anything they are not completely willing to other than to supplement a purpose they have for their own machines... this is all voluntary and altruistic .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 09:20 PM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


I'm thinking about a backup , and also the poor ping responses from 2 members have me suspecting a roadrunner bottleneck, but it seems that MRPCMAN needs a mobo for the P233, which isn't probable and definitely not worth it in this instance.
a bottle neck on my side?
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 11:40 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


If you're into folding, that might be worth it, but as a UT server the upgrade would not alone be worth it. When I had little traffic and twice the upload capacity, running UT and some smaller sites off my now defunct webserver wasn't a big deal, but I wasn't making any money on it, which was part of the reason I didn't replace it once it went down.

I don't want anyone spending anything they are not completely willing to other than to supplement a purpose they have for their own machines... this is all voluntary and altruistic .
I don't fold, but I do do rc5, and I need an upgrade for this old one later. I'm waiting a few months for my nforce amd XP setup.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 11:50 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Hey, it's 4:45 CST, anyone want to play UT on phiber's server or RTCW Test 2 somewhere. My AIM is Superman53142 and my ICQ number is 133251536. Give me an IM
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2001, 01:19 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

It's 4:14 PM PST here, If I can connect I will try

If I have the maps and don't have to wait to D/L them

You can PM me with the Addy if you want.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 02:25 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

OK, I'm bored and I want to see if this server is still having any issues, so I'm gonna go on the UT server in 20 minutes (after I have a bite to eat), which would be 8:40 EST Sunday
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 03:00 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I have never had connectivity issues with a server before. The connection to yours is very choppy, which is causing the issues. I've run both the video card and CPU at default speeds but get the same results either way and my average ping is 56ms.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 03:05 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky
I have never had connectivity issues with a server before. The connection to yours is very choppy, which is causing the issues. I've run both the video card and CPU at default speeds but get the same results either way and my average ping is 56ms.
My ping was like 239
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 03:31 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

what should i do?
i guess if it aint working i will shut it down
its been shut off as of 9:30 PM EST
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]

Last edited by Phiber; 12th November, 2001 at 03:33 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 03:53 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by phiber
what should i do?
i guess if it aint working i will shut it down
its been shut off as of 9:30 PM EST
That depends on what the issues are. If you're running other things from that server, they might be conflicting in some way or pulling too many of the networking resources (I've seen this before when I've hosted it)... the symptoms I'm seeing are that of stress on the server since the connection speed seems fine for me. Unless I am not the only one having problems, I don't see the need to shut it down. It's always possible there's something wrong here, but I have had no problems connecting elsewhere for gaming so I am suspecting you end, and since that hasn't been explored I thought we might try and correct it.

This is all stuff we'd want to work out before 'launching" it to the forums to use anyway ...

Just for kicks I'll find my server software and we'll compare the two, we'll see which end it's on that way (I really can't be hosting it unfortunately, you may see why when multiple peopel connect).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AOA BF2 server Áedán GAMES! OH YEAH! 550 29th December, 2007 05:58 PM
Help me with CS Server! Reziarfg GAMES! OH YEAH! 0 24th October, 2004 12:09 AM
Bye bye ET server BigRed GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 31st October, 2003 02:12 AM
help with inline file server and messagimg server. r0l0e Mobile Devices and Networking 24 22nd July, 2002 01:52 AM
Win 200- Server The Spyder OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 27th January, 2002 07:46 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0