AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


View Poll Results: Should AOA have its own UT or other gaming server for its members?
Yes, UT is awesome and I'd play! 14 66.67%
NO!! Not a good idea at all! 1 4.76%
NO!! But maybe Diablo. 0 0%
NO!! But maybe Quake. 2 9.52%
NO!! But maybe Half-Life 4 19.05%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #81 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 04:26 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

OK, try this:

unreal://speshalk.dyndns.org:9999
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 05:31 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

how fast is your internet connection phiber?
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 06:33 PM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
how fast is your internet connection phiber?
512 up
thats no prob i think would Folding have to do with it?
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 09:27 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by phiber

512 up
thats no prob i think would Folding have to do with it?
folding might, have you tried mine to see if the gameplay is smooth?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 10:43 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

doesn't folding scale back like rc5 so it doesn't get in the way?
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 11:01 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
doesn't folding scale back like rc5 so it doesn't get in the way?
it's supposed to, but that's only if windows manages it effectively that way... I'm finding little quirks in XP Po's already .

I am asking for Phiber to try mine so I can get an idea if Folding is playing a part since this machine is folding and doing other things while he would be connecting, so that would rule out PC activity as the cause of the problem...

But still, no one has connected...

unreal://speshalk.dyndns.org:9999
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 12:05 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


it's supposed to, but that's only if windows manages it effectively that way... I'm finding little quirks in XP Po's already .

I am asking for Phiber to try mine so I can get an idea if Folding is playing a part since this machine is folding and doing other things while he would be connecting, so that would rule out PC activity as the cause of the problem...

But still, no one has connected...

unreal://speshalk.dyndns.org:9999
Yeah, jerkiness is prevailent on a Windows XP Pro system when running any graphics game with a Radeon *whew*. So, like, I have to turn it off when I play UT and RTCW.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 02:00 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Superman53142


Yeah, jerkiness is prevailent on a Windows XP Pro system when running any graphics game with a Radeon *whew*. So, like, I have to turn it off when I play UT and RTCW.
Yup, it has been off ... I never play games with it on, but I think the server console/software is also affected by it being on...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 08:05 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

maybe you all should switch to rc5! I've never had a problem running it with other stuff.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 01:35 PM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


folding might, have you tried mine to see if the gameplay is smooth?
the thing is on my server when I play i get no probs?
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #91 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 01:36 PM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

probably by 6 Pm EST i will set the server back up
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 05:49 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by phiber
probably by 6 Pm EST i will set the server back up
Ok, we'll run some tests then to see if it's roadrunner or your machine... if it's NOT software we'll put you up officially, if it's roadrunner some members won't be able to connect that's all (ncluding me ).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 06:56 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

phiber, YGM.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 12:14 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I played around on your server. I get some ping responses that would indicate Roadrunner has issues keeping a good, constant stream between the PCs which is probably why some people have had issues...

I would like to try and get a game going some time this week, even tonight is a couple of you are available... I'm going to leave ICQ and UT open so...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 01:01 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

For comparison testing I think I found my server issue... zonealarm security set to 'high' .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 01:25 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

wow, that'll sure do it.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 04:37 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Got the UT server running on my PC, but lag was too high for even 4 people...

Phiber's server is awesome, unfortunately roadrunner in NY and NYC stinks right now (lots of reasons why).

Since we've determined it's not Phiber's server, I'm gonna change the other post to his address and send people there for play.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 08:53 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

you wanna give it a try on my temporarily? It's up 24/7
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 09:44 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
you wanna give it a try on my temporarily? It's up 24/7
There's no harm in posting it here... Phiber's is the official, but there's nothing to say we can't keep an 'unofficial' one in our pocket .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 11:49 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


There's no harm in posting it here... Phiber's is the official, but there's nothing to say we can't keep an 'unofficial' one in our pocket .
We'll call it AOA alex's online Armageddon. I just figure since I'm not plauged by road runner, I would offer my services.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AOA BF2 server Áedán GAMES! OH YEAH! 550 29th December, 2007 05:58 PM
Help me with CS Server! Reziarfg GAMES! OH YEAH! 0 24th October, 2004 12:09 AM
Bye bye ET server BigRed GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 31st October, 2003 02:12 AM
help with inline file server and messagimg server. r0l0e Mobile Devices and Networking 24 22nd July, 2002 01:52 AM
Win 200- Server The Spyder OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 27th January, 2002 07:46 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0