AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


View Poll Results: Should AOA have its own Return to Castle Wolfenstein server?
Yes! RTCW rulz!! 8 66.67%
No! We don't play enough UT as it is. 1 8.33%
Maybe... (please comment below) 1 8.33%
No! But maybe Half-Life. 2 16.67%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 04:41 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

CastleWolfenstein Server??

Bearing in mind I think keeping a UT server for the forums is crucial since many people still enjoy UT and others can't afford a copy of RTCW yet, I would like to know the member's opinions on starting a second gaming server for castle wolfenstein...

You'll note I also included half-life in fairness to all those still playing that as well... UT won pretty much hands down on the last poll, so let's see if half-life gets a rebirth here...


I'd hate to miss out on starting this now, it looks like this game might be around for a while. It's top-notch IMHO.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 04:51 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

1. Didn't vote, don't play online, no time.
2. Build it and see if they will come, just a suggestion":O}
3. Deled your post in FWIW, your setting a bad example verging upon the dreaded double post!!LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 05:01 AM
SJAXKINGPIN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 149
Send a message via Yahoo to SJAXKINGPIN

I'm down, of course.
__________________
AthlonXP 2000+ Thanks XPPCENTRAL @ 1812 mhz
Epox 8KHA+
3/4GB Crucial PC2100
2-WD 100GB 7200rpm Drives
Geforce 2 GTS 32mb Waiting for my Ti4400
SB Audigy

Dual PIII 933mhz Server
1/2 GB PC133
2-9.1gb 7200RPM Ultrastars
1-WD 1200Jb 120gb 8mb 7200RPM
40gb 7200 RPM Maxtor
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 05:34 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
3. Deled your post in FWIW, your setting a bad example verging upon the dreaded double post!!LOL
Old habits are the hardest to break... at least I didn't post it in hardware hacking ...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 06:32 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

I'm down with it. I could make my server primary RTCW instead of backup UT.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 06:53 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
I'm down with it. I could make my server primary RTCW instead of backup UT.
That will depend on a lot of things... firstly, whether RTCW will run on the older box and if there's enough mhz to support 10 players... I don't think there would be a problem, but gotta find out the system requirements as I've never hosted a Quake engine server before.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 07:02 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I voted for maybe. Are we talking full version or demo? I'll not be in a position to afford the full version until mid January but I think RTCW is massive. I'll play whatever version you can serve up just as soon as I can afford it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 08:23 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

well, If I had to I could put it on my 800 duron, but i think the server would easly run on my 400@450 because the server itself isn't actually grafix intensive. Your talking cable speeds.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 01:14 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

How many here actually can play online in the real game? Perhaps the demo would be best. Hey, wait a minute. I go to my Aunt's for a Christmas Party tomorrow. Never mind. I get da game demain. So, whatever everyone thinks is best so that the most people can play. And you use /connect blah,blah,blah to connect to a specific server right?
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 01:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Superman53142
How many here actually can play online in the real game? Perhaps the demo would be best. Hey, wait a minute. I go to my Aunt's for a Christmas Party tomorrow. Never mind. I get da game demain. So, whatever everyone thinks is best so that the most people can play. And you use /connect blah,blah,blah to connect to a specific server right?
Yes, yes, and definitely

I think you need to run the game in order to host, and I'm not sure the game can serve and be played at the same time so the volunteer may actually need 2 copies... I will obviously determine if that's the case before holding anyone to hosting, and as for speed, I will look on ID's site and see what their requirements are too... I suspect the 400 will do...

This poll will run until next Saturday.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 07:35 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I've set up a local host of the game on my Duron and then played solo on the same machine to test a few theories. I had no problem hosting and playing on one computer. Perhaps the net version would be different though.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 09:07 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


Yes, yes, and definitely

I think you need to run the game in order to host, and I'm not sure the game can serve and be played at the same time so the volunteer may actually need 2 copies... I will obviously determine if that's the case before holding anyone to hosting, and as for speed, I will look on ID's site and see what their requirements are too... I suspect the 400 will do...

This poll will run until next Saturday.
I too was a server and player on the same machine and didn't have any troubles. It ran fine on my friends 500 celeron with 128MB of ram. Either way, I have more than enough computers.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 10:55 PM
SJAXKINGPIN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 149
Send a message via Yahoo to SJAXKINGPIN

My testing suggests that a dedicated server really is needed. When I attempt to play on the same machine, I'm fine until clients start connecting. Then gameplay is affected. I would host it myself, but I've only got 128kb up and this won't go very far w/ a RTCW server.
__________________
AthlonXP 2000+ Thanks XPPCENTRAL @ 1812 mhz
Epox 8KHA+
3/4GB Crucial PC2100
2-WD 100GB 7200rpm Drives
Geforce 2 GTS 32mb Waiting for my Ti4400
SB Audigy

Dual PIII 933mhz Server
1/2 GB PC133
2-9.1gb 7200RPM Ultrastars
1-WD 1200Jb 120gb 8mb 7200RPM
40gb 7200 RPM Maxtor
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 10:56 PM
SJAXKINGPIN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 149
Send a message via Yahoo to SJAXKINGPIN

Also, w/ the full ver. you don't need the CD in to connect to a server. I can't imagine a company releasing a game w/ no CD check in todays COPY PROTECTION CRAZY enviornment, but they have.
__________________
AthlonXP 2000+ Thanks XPPCENTRAL @ 1812 mhz
Epox 8KHA+
3/4GB Crucial PC2100
2-WD 100GB 7200rpm Drives
Geforce 2 GTS 32mb Waiting for my Ti4400
SB Audigy

Dual PIII 933mhz Server
1/2 GB PC133
2-9.1gb 7200RPM Ultrastars
1-WD 1200Jb 120gb 8mb 7200RPM
40gb 7200 RPM Maxtor
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2001, 11:47 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

OK. Thanks for the feedback, if by next Saturday we have a resounding yes from this poll, we'll try a RTCW server .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2001, 12:52 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by SJAXKINGPIN
Also, w/ the full ver. you don't need the CD in to connect to a server. I can't imagine a company releasing a game w/ no CD check in todays COPY PROTECTION CRAZY enviornment, but they have.

They probably figured that it just wasn't worth the time and effort since almost everybody owns a cd burner.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2001, 01:20 AM
SJAXKINGPIN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 149
Send a message via Yahoo to SJAXKINGPIN

While I've never heard of a large company coming to such a clearly logical conclusion, that does make sense.
__________________
AthlonXP 2000+ Thanks XPPCENTRAL @ 1812 mhz
Epox 8KHA+
3/4GB Crucial PC2100
2-WD 100GB 7200rpm Drives
Geforce 2 GTS 32mb Waiting for my Ti4400
SB Audigy

Dual PIII 933mhz Server
1/2 GB PC133
2-9.1gb 7200RPM Ultrastars
1-WD 1200Jb 120gb 8mb 7200RPM
40gb 7200 RPM Maxtor
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2001, 01:24 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman



They probably figured that it just wasn't worth the time and effort since almost everybody owns a cd burner.
Sorry Mrpcman, I have to ask you to remove the logo from your signature. except for our Allied sites, graphics are limited to your Avatar.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2001, 05:54 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
Sorry Mrpcman, I have to ask you to remove the logo from your signature. except for our Allied sites, graphics are limited to your Avatar.
okay, sorry i didn't know that. I've had it since the beginning.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2001, 06:20 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman


okay, sorry i didn't know that. I've had it since the beginning.
I was thinking the same thing ... not to team up on you Daniel

Now he's got that tacky "A" bobbing back and forth, dunno which is more annoying lol
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AOA BF2 server Áedán GAMES! OH YEAH! 550 29th December, 2007 05:58 PM
Bye bye ET server BigRed GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 31st October, 2003 02:12 AM
help with inline file server and messagimg server. r0l0e Mobile Devices and Networking 24 22nd July, 2002 01:52 AM
Win 200- Server The Spyder OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 27th January, 2002 07:46 PM
UT server.... mrpcman GAMES! OH YEAH! 3 20th November, 2001 03:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0