AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 01:54 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Ut Prob

I asked this on OC now I'll ask it here.

I've been having a prob with my UT pausing for a few seconds randomly.

Happends a few times during the game.

Any thoughts?

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 01:58 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Are there any other processes running in the background? That would be my first guess. #2 would be that perhaps the video card is overheating. When my case was too hot it used to do that too. Not sure if it was GPU or CPU releated though.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 02:43 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Watch and see if this occures in certain maps but not others. Some maps simply need more juice to run smoothly. You might try lowering your "Skin Detail" in your preferences menu.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 03:47 AM
kendan's Avatar
Deactivated
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: S.F.
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to kendan

Is this during online play or offline? If it is online make sure you have all programs that access the net turned off like aim, downloads, ect...
Hope this helps.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 03:18 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Well guys I'm a born trouble shooter. I've checked all the obvious. The only thing I haven't checked yet is the single player thing. I don't single play much.

So NO I don't have anything running in the background. No net apps either. Unless I got a virus that's sucking my bandwidth everynow and then, that's all I can think of. I got a fan on the GPU and a use and SK6 with an 80mm fan on it. So don't think temps are a prob.

The only thing I have a prob with every now and then is it will HARD lock when I watch a video or play music. So this might be directx related.

Hell I don't know. It's starting to suck and I'm thinking about giving windows another enema.

Thanx for the help though. I realy do appreciate it.


Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 04:29 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

could be a bad mouse. I've seen that with the optical ones.... do U have IRQ for VGA turned off in the bios? some times that helps too. what ... give me some specs, mobo vid OS etc... we'll figure it out
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2002, 04:13 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

oops. I didn't put my specs in my sig on this forum.

Amd Athlon 1 gig @1.133
Iwill 266 (no R or A) Mobo.
SB Live Value (yeah lastest 4-in-1)
GF2MX400 64Megs
Creative 8x burner (yeah it's time to upgrade)
Creative 32x Cd (yeah it's time to upgrade)
WD 40gig 7200rpm HD.
I have a web cam on it too.

Can't think of anything else.

OH mem 384megs

That's it.

I'll check the Irq thing. I have a serial mouse. But I've been thinking about getting a good one, cuz I online game. UT ALL THE WAY!! hahah ]V[ega Tribe.

Thanx guys

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 04:17 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

OK guys, I think I got it fixed. I installed the 21.83 drivers for my video card and that seemed to get it working better.

I think the one's that I had before were beta drivers.

Thanks for your help.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HL2 Small Prob.. Abdul GAMES! OH YEAH! 3 25th November, 2005 11:13 PM
Prob with I/O WonderBread Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 22nd May, 2005 04:15 PM
mem prob raven_19702003 General Hardware Discussion 2 13th January, 2004 06:38 PM
Mobo prob Grum EPoX MotherBoards 1 15th July, 2003 05:07 PM
Got a PROB. with my EP-8RGA+ adamginz EPoX MotherBoards 3 3rd May, 2003 08:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0