AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 05:14 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Everquest resolution issues

I bought this recently, have a friend who's big on the Xev server and is luring me in slowly (hell, I will make the time if the game's fun enough )... anyway...

There are known issues with flat panels and resolutions. Need to have all screens running at 1024x768. I will be acquiring the expansion packs by the weekend (including shadows of lucin). Aparently you can "unlock" the lucin pack and this solves the issue(s), but I thought I'd ask to see if anyone's already been through this and can offer some advice.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 08:06 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Re: Everquest resolution issues

Blergh.. It's been a long time since I thought anything of this.. IIRC, it wasn't SOL that allowed you to run everything in the same resolution, but Velious. With the Velious code, it didn't switch between resolutions in game when you went to a number of screens. Originally the game would show some of the screens in 640x480 rather than whatever res you set.. (!)

As for some of the other screens, I'm not sure what res they run at.... EQ doesn't like my machine at the moment, and I haven't had time to fix it. If you've got a problem with your hardware, EQ will probably find it. It's quite tough on the hardware, and small cracks that other games don't reveal will be thrust into glaring white light with EQ.

Any problems with IRQ sharing will appear almost instantly - yes, it's one of the most common EQ problems.

I won't be on the Xev server, cuz I'm European, and hence the European server offers much better play for me.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 09:25 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Thanks again Adian. You're right on the ball, based on the EQ homepage.forums that's exactly what they said, velious it is!! Then need to "unlock" it I believe... if you remember how to do this, or know of a link, that would be awesome.

BTW -- this is NOT "cracking", technical support will help you do it but it's a long distance call and their support stinks from my understanding.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2002, 07:41 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I've never called their technical support before.. I've used the forums instead, I've found they work quite well, as long as you don't mind a little wait.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2002, 10:44 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

There is a patch released last night that fixes this issue lol

thanks though
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolution dodgeyness Ultimate_death Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 2nd January, 2007 02:29 PM
when is it TOO much resolution z3speed4me Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 21 3rd August, 2006 12:46 PM
Everquest 2 leekirlew GAMES! OH YEAH! 4 4th April, 2005 12:23 PM
c/s stuck in low resolution? doctoromeo GAMES! OH YEAH! 4 26th June, 2003 10:32 PM
resolution.. metal_slug Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 25th May, 2003 06:58 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0