AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


View Poll Results: Does TrueForm actually do something now?
yes 3 75.00%
no 0 0%
I have no idea what trueform is 1 25.00%
Voters: 4. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 07:54 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

TrueForm and CS:S

ok i just turned on trueform and omg it was amazing. Idk what it does but my image quality is superior and i get around 85-115 fps @ 1280x768 2xAA 2xAF with my 9800pro!!! half the settings are on med(player models) half are on high(world texture). here are a few screen shots from my comp.
Attached Thumbnails
TrueForm and CS:S-de_piranesi0003.jpg   TrueForm and CS:S-de_piranesi0004.jpg   TrueForm and CS:S-de_piranesi0005.jpg   TrueForm and CS:S-de_piranesi0007.jpg  
__________________
Main Rig
AMD64 3200+ @ 2.0ghz
MIS K8TNEO FSR
Asetek Waterchill Antartica
2x512 OCZ Platinum LL pc3200 @2.6v
2xSeagate 80 gig SATA raid-0
ATI 9800pro (460/800)
SB live 5.1 (old)
Pioneer 16x DL+DVD burner
Dell M992 19"crt 1600x1200 .24dp

Soon to be added

ATI x800XT-PE

Server
P4 1.6
Dell 4550
80gig IDE
512mb DDR PC-2100
Windows Server 2003 EE
[url=http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=45]
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 07:56 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

What is trueform?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 07:58 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

idk it's something in my vid card prefrences that before when enabled it made my games totaly unplayable for example 1-5fps. But for CS:S it increased my fps by about 15-30 fps!!
__________________
Main Rig
AMD64 3200+ @ 2.0ghz
MIS K8TNEO FSR
Asetek Waterchill Antartica
2x512 OCZ Platinum LL pc3200 @2.6v
2xSeagate 80 gig SATA raid-0
ATI 9800pro (460/800)
SB live 5.1 (old)
Pioneer 16x DL+DVD burner
Dell M992 19"crt 1600x1200 .24dp

Soon to be added

ATI x800XT-PE

Server
P4 1.6
Dell 4550
80gig IDE
512mb DDR PC-2100
Windows Server 2003 EE
[url=http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=45]
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 08:01 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Hmmm...........'k. That seems kind of odd, though, that it would knock your frame rates down for everything but that.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 08:35 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

As far as I understand it, trueform does adaptive tessellation (and a few shading tricks) to try and round corners. This effectively means the driver is guessing where it should be inserting polygons to make things a bit more rounded and natural. Curved surfaces are where you should see Trueform showing.

The downside is that it requires more CPU power to drive the card with Trueform enabled. The upside is that it normally improves things, but there are occasions when the drivers guess wrong. With ATi's input to HL2, it should be a good showcase for such features.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 09:31 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Am I right in saying it is ATI only?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 10:10 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Trueform is ATi only, but it does some seriously weird things to Open GL games.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 11:04 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I am the one that started the truform thing for cs:s.
ya'all know that i have been pushing truform and temporal anti-aliasing for a while now.
Well, the source engine is one of few that support Truform. People reviewing the game have been complaining about large open ares being poorly detailed, but i know better.
I posted the start in STEAM forums a while ago, when someone complained of the 4.9 catalyst drivers causing problems.

Anyway, for a detailed explaination of TRUFORM:

http://mirror.ati.com/products/pdf/truform.pdf
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 13th October, 2004 at 11:18 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2004, 07:53 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Id love to partisipate but i cant find CS:Source anywhere, how you guys playing it????
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2004, 08:01 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

The only way to get it now is via Steam, pay for the HL2 download and CS:S is included.

I was playing the free beta version, but that is now over.

I'll have to wait for the retail version of HL2, because Steam only takes Visa/Mastercard and I have neither.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2004, 11:25 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Hmmm, they gave it to me for free if I had Beta
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2004, 11:34 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Lucky you! LOL
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2004, 12:12 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Ati voucher all the way to the bank :-)
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2004, 02:13 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

CS:S comes with Hl2 anyway, seeing as HL2 has no multiplayer.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2004, 03:41 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I'll post correct settings for ATI drivers, whatever the current version is, once the HL2 game has been released. Most of the settings for HL2 are the same for CS:S, but with a minor difference. Also waiting for ATI to fix one feature properly.

If anyone has any issues, please let me know.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0