AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #81 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2005, 09:40 PM
Gunny2times's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Posts: 65

Man, I'm buying this darn game. Played some Bf2 multiplayer lastnight and I'm hooked. Runs very smooth at 1024x768,settings at half med and the other half at high with 2aa and 8af. Using fraps, I'm getting anywhere from mid 30's (big battles) to high 90's. Can't be any happier right now. And no lag online. Very impressed. Still my old battlefield I guess. My CSS rank is going down now. Hahaha. Who cares. I don't! Battle On Boys!
__________________
64 3000+ 939
MSI K8T Neo2
MSI 6600 GT
40 gig WD
1 gig 3200
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 08:20 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

He has a 5700 ultra, athlon64 2800+, 640mb ram(333 i think), his pc is so full of c**p though it wouldnt help and running 2003 server.

All at stock speeds
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 09:00 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Will download it tomorrow.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 09:28 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

OFF TOPIC: Dsio(or whoever knows) apart from clock speed what is the difference between the 5900xt i had and the 5900ultra im using temporarily
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 10:10 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Mate the 5900XT (which is basically identical as the 5900SE), is essentially no different from the 5900U.

The 5900XT is a 400Mhz core, the same as the plain 5900. The Ultra, is clocked at 450Mhz to give it some extra punch. All of them are quad pixel shader based with the ability to complete 2 shader opertions per pipe.

The main problem the XT and SE share is limited memory bandwidth. They feature 350Mhz (700DDR) DDR ram, which is considerably slower than the Ultra, which runs at 900Mhz. Often the 700Mhz DDR is also of the older TSOP variety rather than BGA as well.

This makes them very good overclockers indeed, and a great card (in their day) to crank up to Ultra speed.

The confusion is caused by a card called the 5950. This thing is a real problem because it came in with no real purpose. It was expensive. I mean real expensive. So overpriced that it was a joke.

The 5950 has the same number of pipes, the same complexity pipes, the same core clock speed, and only a tiny improvement in DDR speed over the 5900U, but has twice the price tag. The thing that sets it apart, is that it has added vertex units. Now, what happened was Nvidia sent off some of the 5950Us that didnt come anywhere near required speeds within temperature requirements, and blocked the extra vertex units, selling them as 5900XTs. These cards could sometimes be flashed to allow the extra pipes, but less than 2% would ever reach the required clock speed. On top of that, the DDR on the 5900XTs sucked, and couldnt reach 5950 DDR speeds.

This means alot of people ruined their cards. Now some people are successfull. And when it became known what Nvidia was doing, some makers even sold premium XTs with better quality BGA ram on them, and great coolers, that had a price tag to match, but were still cheaper than 5900Us. These were almost INTENDED to be flashed to 5950 speed.

What happened was Nvidia then stopped making 5950s all together, and people didnt know about it until thousands had flashed cards and killed them. Old, and new 5900XTs cannot be flashed, as they just wont function properly. SOME of the 5900XTs made in a brief period around the middle of volume production can be flashed, but the ones not designed to be flashed will need to be clocked down a bit to become stable.

You have about a 1/250 odds of having one of the great 5900XTs, and about 1/50 of having a flashable one.

I hope that answers your question lol.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 15th June, 2005 at 10:15 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 07:07 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

well my xt blew up so dont reckon i did well on that count
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 09:30 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderBread
chris, how well does your game play with a 5900xt? just curious b/c i used to have a eVga 5900SE
The game look awesome and plays the same. The water looks very very nice. My card runs 500 / 750 and I am quite happy with it's performance ! Yesterday evening I play for more than 2 hour and it was great fun. OK for the best players around I have a few questions. When you are the team leader you can deploy several things. Where should be the artilery deployed? What is the APC if I remember this one right. There is a set of commands available (orders or messages) but I don't know what is the key for these. Other than that I was in command yesterday for a couple of rounds (they keep electing me) and it was fun (especialy cause we won) ! I would like to have all of us here at AOA playing on the same server or somethin' Is it possible?

Chris out
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 04:27 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
OK for the best players around I have a few questions. When you are the team leader you can deploy several things. Where should be the artilery deployed?
the artilery is to be dropped where its needed, wheather it is on a group of enemies or on the enemies artilery trying to destroy it

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
What is the APC if I remember this one right.
An APC is a transport vehicle

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
There is a set of commands available (orders or messages) but I don't know what is the key for these.
when you are in your cammander menu if you rightclick on the map their is a list of options that you can select from
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 04:34 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Thank's WB. Hope we see each other on the battlefield sometime and play !
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2005, 02:46 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

So when we going to play?!?!?
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comp USA bad Far cry demo!!! lol karbon86 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 12 12th August, 2004 03:48 AM
DOOM 3 Demo danrok GAMES! OH YEAH! 0 31st July, 2004 10:27 AM
Serious Sam - The second Encounter demo is out. Supradog GAMES! OH YEAH! 6 4th January, 2002 03:01 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0