AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 11:29 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Angry BF2: Can't login

Right now I can't login to the Account Server. I get the message "the server refused the connection". Completely unhelpful message that we come to expect!

Anyone having a similar problem at the moment?

I see the game website is down at the moment.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 11:31 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

I have it all the time. But I think they are doing some modifications to accounts following an account exploit.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 11:37 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Thanks Pitch.

The usual EA run around then...
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 11:38 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Could well be related to the rollback on the accounts.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 12:45 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Up and going again....
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 01:41 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Maybe your one of the hackers!?!?!?! hahah J/K
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 03:31 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Thumbs down

After playing several hours a day, (many ppl are in vacation) a regular customer that has no hacks installed and no $h1t going on in his BF2 account, has aquired a lot of new weapons but now he must use the old ones for a while because some hackers made some $h1tty things. Is not the end of the world I agree but is more than unpleasent. What do you guys think?

Chris
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 08:51 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The persons responsible claim that they'd tried to notify EA of the issue, but that they were ignored by EA. At this point, they decided that the best course of action to ensure the hole was closed was by their actions. This way, EA could not ignore the issue and would have to deal with it.

Having seen companies fail to respond to being told they are vulnerable in the past, I can understand the frustration of these guys, who probably just wanted to make sure that BF2 didn't end up overrun with a few people cheating and ruining for others.

They did choose a course of action that is reverseable. They could have done nothing, and let other people find the vulnerabilities and cheat. If they were malicious they could have done a lot of damage to people's rankings, but they chose not to.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 09:06 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

now i cant log in now!! WTF!!?!?!?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 11:35 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Its Fixed!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 11:45 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Has been taking about 15 mins to connect to the account server at the moment!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2005, 05:02 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

E-mail from EA:

Quote:
Hello,

Thank you for contacting EA technical support. I am sorry that you are having difficulty.

You are receiving this E-mail because today there were intermittent outages with the Battlefield 2 servers, meaning that players were having difficulty logging in and playing online at certain times. You may also have noticed that weapons may have been unlocked on Ranked servers. This was a known issue that the development team has corrected.

If this is not why you are contacting us, please reply back to us and we will do our best to personally assist you.

Please note if you are contacting us about changing or missing stats, this is not something tech support can address as we can not change or add stats to your account.

If you are not happy with your stats or wish to change your name, you will need to create a new account. Stats or nicknames can not be changed or reset but, you can easily create a new account by using another E-mail address.

Please keep checking the Battlefield 2 website (battlefield2.ea.com) for more information and future updates. You can also find quick solutions or information about this game or any Electronic Arts games by visiting our website and review our extensive Self Help knowledgebase (http://eatech.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/e...r/std_alp.php?)


Thank you for your patience, and thank you for contacting us.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bypassing XP Pro login & passwords... Lazgoat OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 6 20th March, 2006 10:42 AM
login credentials cached :( Con Mobile Devices and Networking 1 18th February, 2003 10:36 AM
Presented with 5 login prompts. No joy. cloasters Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 16 6th March, 2002 09:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0