AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


View Poll Results: Should you need 1 CD per PC for LAN PLAY?
YES 7 36.84%
NO 12 63.16%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2002, 08:36 AM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

Why do games need 1 CD per PC for LAN PLAY :(

Why do you need 1 CD for each PC when you play over a LAN. I can understand for internet play but when i've got 3 comps here and I play with my mates do they expect me to go out and buy 3 copies of a £30 game?? I'm a student (and I like to buy hardware) I can barely afford the £30 for the first copy let alone £90 for all 3 (hey I'm saving for an Atthy XP)

Psycho
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2002, 09:29 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

While I feel for your wallet, the terms of purchase are clear, one CD per customer. Some games do have some sympathy and after a time release updates which make the CD unnecessary except during installation. But that is their choice.

Ask your friends to bring along their own copy, should be enough that you provide the hardware.

(To those who follow after in posting here,... ANY discussion involving the advocating of piracy or it's methods is grounds for banning as it could easily result in getting AOA shut down.)

But should it be this way? Sorry in this instance I think the development team and distributor ARE being reasonable, after all the software is being used by a group not an individual. Location and set up seem to me to be largely irrelevant to the question.

Think of it this way:
If you went to an amusment park each person in your group would be expected to pay for each ride they take. Hotels charge extra for dubble occupentecy.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 4th April, 2002 at 01:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2002, 09:51 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I think the games should require "keys", and that you should be able to purchase additional "keys" online at a discount. That's just my $0.02 though . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2002, 09:58 AM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Midlands, England A.K.A The Middle Of Nowhere
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Psycho

I can see it from both ways, however I think that dimmreaper has a valid point there.
__________________



1)EPoX 8KHA+ | AMD T-Bird 1.4@1.5 | 768MB DDR RAM | GeForce 3 128MB DDR | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | IBM GXP60 40GB
2)ABIT KT7A-RAID | AMD T-Bird 1GHz | 390MB SDRAM | Geforce 2 32MB | SND BLASTER LIVE 5.1 | 3 * IBM GXP60 40GB + 2 * 120GB WD Caviar
3)PC-CHIPS M810LR | AMD DURON 1GHz | 256 SDRAM | 12GB MAXTOR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2002, 10:05 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by [PCE]Psycho
I can see it from both ways, however I think that dimmreaper has a valid point there.
Hey I wish it was that way too! But think it "Reasonable" that it isn't. Now if a company wants to win my love by doing this, well that would probably work for me! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2002, 12:55 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Not all publishers insist on the 1 CD per user on a LAN game. Some publishers will allow 1 CD per 4 users, or 1 CD per 2 users. This is only for multiplayer though, and typically means that the machine with the CD ends up sending some of the data on the CD down the wire.

Remember that games are licensed as per any other piece of software. That license is generally for a single copy on a single machine, just like the OS or other applications.

Requiring the "keys" could cause interesting problems. What happens if I have a key, but corrupt my hard disk? Now I've got a key with no software, which cost me money, but is worthless on it's own. What do I do now? Hope I can find a copy of the game? Ring up the publisher and bug them?

On top of that, how would the retailers respond? Suddenly they're selling 1/4 of the games they were, because everyone's copying the CD and just buying a "key". Why would any retailer stock such games?

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2002, 01:53 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Games used to come with multiplayer only clients that you could use for Lan play.

They seemed to disapear once the internet got big.

Allot of games make the CD check invalid with a recent patch (q3 and UT are good examples)
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2002, 05:10 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

EULA

End User Licensing Agreement

User being a player.

Software can only be used by one person/user at a time, that's why. if software allows for multiple users on the same cd/opy, then that software publisher is being generous because they don't have to.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2002, 05:33 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I have come to like the licencing program that micrsoft has for our school- any computer can use any software for 1 years licenced for $20 a computer- wish games had that..........
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2002, 08:45 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

We ran into an issue last Saturday. Guy could not get Half Life to run to play DoD. Kept saying invalid serial number. Now, they DO allow for duplicate CD keys for LAN gaming. However, we were in a new location, and were not aware that we were ALSO connected to the internet, hence it was checking with their servers and finding a duplicate and kicking him out. He ended up running out and buying Blue Shift.
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2002, 02:43 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
I think the games should require "keys", and that you should be able to purchase additional "keys" online at a discount. That's just my $0.02 though . . .
that's a good idea, but the only downside i see to that is somebody coming out with a key generator of sorts and screwing them over...if this post is considered objectional, delete it.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2002, 03:12 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
that's a good idea, but the only downside i see to that is somebody coming out with a key generator of sorts and screwing them over...if this post is considered objectional, delete it.
I'm sure they could do that now anyway. As I understand it, the key is not stored on the CD at all. It just has to follow certain guidelines to work. I've installed off one CD, and used two different keys for it (one of my roommates lost his CD, but still had the case with they key on it). Worked just fine.

However, many times if you just do an exact copy of a CD, it won't install off the burned CD. So basically, buy the CD. If it's too expensive, wait a month or two. The prices always drop. If you can't afford the $50 for a brand new game, be patient.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2002, 10:00 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

Quote:
Originally posted by nullCRC
We ran into an issue last Saturday. Guy could not get Half Life to run to play DoD. Kept saying invalid serial number. Now, they DO allow for duplicate CD keys for LAN gaming. However, we were in a new location, and were not aware that we were ALSO connected to the internet, hence it was checking with their servers and finding a duplicate and kicking him out. He ended up running out and buying Blue Shift.
Thats funney!

Me and my mate discovered that on quake 3 if you just hold down the "a" key when it asks for the cd code it just says valid code and lets oyu play LAN, but if you try a net game it kicks, very strange.

I bought 2 copes of half life brand new (£10 each, a deal). It was cos I had a lot of family wanting to play but they couldnt be bothered to buy copies.
I've no problem with making people buy a copie but I do have a problem with prices. £30 quid for a game, you must be joking??

£20 I will pay for a good game, £10 if I just need another copy for the cd code, but anymore than that and I think they deserve a good pirating.

The instance of buying loads of copies of half life wasnt even for the game, it was just so that I could have online games with my family so Valve and Sierra only really deserve a small amount of money for making the engine.
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2002, 01:22 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Prices are indeed outrageous. Go look a copy of the Sims. THE SIMS, FOR PETE'S SAKE!! At all my area retailers, it's about $50. And it came out when?! Yeah, that's what I thought.

The problem is, these people jacked up the prices in response to pirating. Problem is, jacking up the prices lead to more pirating. I think they need to drop the prices after 6 months, and then again after a year. No reason to have a game cost $50 for two years. Most people aren't even playing a game one year after it's release.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 29th April, 2002, 04:46 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally posted by Wa11y


I'm sure they could do that now anyway. As I understand it, the key is not stored on the CD at all. It just has to follow certain guidelines to work. I've installed off one CD, and used two different keys for it (one of my roommates lost his CD, but still had the case with they key on it). Worked just fine.

However, many times if you just do an exact copy of a CD, it won't install off the burned CD. So basically, buy the CD. If it's too expensive, wait a month or two. The prices always drop. If you can't afford the $50 for a brand new game, be patient.
Half Life has been at $30 for over a year now.
Kinda blows your theory. But I see what your saying.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 29th April, 2002, 03:48 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by robbie
Half Life has been at $30 for over a year now.
Kinda blows your theory. But I see what your saying.

Rob
Yeah, I'm not saying EVERY game does it, but a large majority of them do. I mean, THE SIMS, for pete's sake! Still at $50!! If The Sims is still that expensive, what hope have we for any other games?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2002, 01:20 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

out here it's also been around $30, but that might be for the expansion packs.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2002, 01:40 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by robbie
out here it's also been around $30, but that might be for the expansion packs.

Rob
The actual game "The Sims" is about $50. But pretty much all the expansions are about $30. Still with, what, 5 expansions? That's kinda expensive.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 5th May, 2002, 05:25 AM
krazyman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GMT +8.00
Posts: 2

Let me re-phrase.

There are some software that can do wonders. If you are interested, take a look at Virtual CD and Virtual Drive .
__________________

Last edited by krazyman; 5th May, 2002 at 09:14 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 5th May, 2002, 08:21 AM
Betty's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Port Alberni, B.C., Canada
Posts: 3,668
Send a message via ICQ to Betty Send a message via MSN to Betty

umm...krazyman, I'd seriously consider editing your post. What you are talking about, I would imagine violates most EULA's, if not all of them.
But, I'm just taking a stab in the dark here.

A good rule of thumb, if you aren't sure if it will harm the forum, err on the side of caution and keep us all online here
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming... Boy, What a ride!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play games with limited account Samuknow OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 28 3rd January, 2009 02:54 PM
Surgeons who play video games more skilled: study Gizmo Random Nonsense! 2 21st February, 2007 03:45 AM
AOA Clan - Vote Which Games You'd Like To Play aghastpumpkin GAMES! OH YEAH! 21 31st January, 2006 04:15 PM
How do YOU play your favorite games? Daniel ~ GAMES! OH YEAH! 13 30th June, 2003 12:58 AM
Play Some Games :) Superman Random Nonsense! 13 31st October, 2002 07:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0