AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2008, 12:55 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Thumbs up I got STALKER Clear Sky as a Gift!

I got this surprise in the mail yesterday...I like surprises like this!
Anyways, the graphics are just like they showed in the demo previews of the game. INTENSE...
Unfortunately, I'm going to have to turn down some of the eyecandy more than I want to so that the game is playable.
On High settings @ 1400x960 it's a bit too much for my 8800GTS to cope with even overclocked.
Oh well, ya do whatcha godda do!
I'm just starting the game so here's a screenshot to give you and idea of what I'm talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
I got STALKER Clear Sky as a Gift!-scs-room.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 25th September, 2008 at 12:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2008, 01:19 PM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

nice, i still need to wait one more week before i can play
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2008, 04:39 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

This game is Very Demanding on the Graphics card & Memory!!!
Not to sure about CPU usage because I'm at 3.5GHz & I don't see that effected at all...
Because I didn't want to turn the graphics down from High settings, I had to reduce the resolution down to 1152x864 before it would play smooth with fast response times on the mouse look.

Another thing I noticed was the memory usage in the LCD performance monitor of my G15 KB! At those settings it uses 96% of my installed 2Gbs of memory! So I really need to get another 2 gigs of what I already have installed so that it won't start offloading onto the pagefile which is much slower...
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2008, 08:47 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Someone try and convince me as to why I should give this game a chance.

Not meaning to sound pessemistic, but from what I've read and seen of it, I'm just not feeling anything.
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2008, 05:06 AM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

Because the story line is awesome
because the graphics are amazing
because the lighting is wow

i only played for 10 minutes before it crashed so i'm going to wait for them to fix the bugs before i attempt playing again. Crysis is keeping me distracted until then.
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2008, 11:29 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceRaptor View Post
Because the story line is awesome
because the graphics are amazing
because the lighting is wow

i only played for 10 minutes before it crashed so i'm going to wait for them to fix the bugs before i attempt playing again. Crysis is keeping me distracted until then.
You've described Rainbow Six; Vegas 2 to me. =P

Forgive my ignorance, but, for me, STALKER just looks like a cross between Half Life and FEAR, and I only really enjoyed the latter.
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2008, 12:16 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by raphael2040 View Post
You've described Rainbow Six; Vegas 2 to me. =P

Forgive my ignorance, but, for me, STALKER just looks like a cross between Half Life and FEAR, and I only really enjoyed the latter.
I have no desire to convince you to buy this game at all...
"I" enjoy playing it & that's all that really matters to me.
So I leave the choice to you....

Actually the game is very none linier, compared to most games & it's nothing like Rainbow Six, HL2 or FEAR at all.
(I have all these games + their expansion packs)

Yes there is a storyline, but the storyline changes depending on your actions in the game.
For example there is 6 different endings to the first game depending on what you do during the game.
There is also day & night as you play the game (you can watch the transitions happen while playing) with aspects of RPG, strategy & economics as well.

If you didn't play the original game Shadow of Chernobyl, then this game isn't going to make a lot of sense to you.
As far as the gameplay, you either like it, or you don't.

Btw, I installed the update patch 1.5.04 EN & the game hasn't crashed once on me yet unlike the first one did.
There is also a NoDVD patch out for it too for the update patch so you don't need the DVD in the drive to play the game.
I always use NoDVD/CD launch.exe's for all my games so that the drives & disks stay in good condition.

Final Note: To have all the "Eyecandy" turned on you really need to have 2 powerful graphics cards in SLi or Crossfire to have it look like it does in the preview videos!!!
This game IMO is even more demanding than Crysis on your system & graphics card(s)!
Attached Thumbnails
I got STALKER Clear Sky as a Gift!-stalker-clear-sky-v1.5.04.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 28th September, 2008 at 12:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2008, 01:37 PM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

i can play stalker on maximum graphics at 1024x786 with about 25 fps
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2008, 06:07 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceRaptor View Post
i can play stalker on maximum graphics at 1024x786 with about 25 fps
For me, anything under 50-60 FPS is too slow & it really bothers my eyes.
Also, the reaction time on mouse movement (mlook) is to slow & laggy for me at those lower framerates.
If you can't react fast enough (Like being shot from behind), you die...simple as that.
Not only that, but with headshots you can take an enemy out much quicker & I need optimal mouse movement control for that to be effective at it.

Btw, if you click Advanced graphics settings, you will probably see, that not everything is enabled even at Maximum settings.
Like Wet surfaces & the other advanced settings.
1 card can't render that fast enough unless it's a 9800GX2 or a HD 4870 x2 which are really 2 graphics cards in one.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 29th September, 2008 at 12:48 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2008, 10:21 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUff1N View Post
I have no desire to convince you to buy this game at all...
"I" enjoy playing it & that's all that really matters to me.
So I leave the choice to you....

Actually the game is very none linier, compared to most games & it's nothing like Rainbow Six, HL2 or FEAR at all.
(I have all these games + their expansion packs)

Yes there is a storyline, but the storyline changes depending on your actions in the game.
For example there is 6 different endings to the first game depending on what you do during the game.
There is also day & night as you play the game (you can watch the transitions happen while playing) with aspects of RPG, strategy & economics as well.

If you didn't play the original game Shadow of Chernobyl, then this game isn't going to make a lot of sense to you.
As far as the gameplay, you either like it, or you don't.

Btw, I installed the update patch 1.5.04 EN & the game hasn't crashed once on me yet unlike the first one did.
There is also a NoDVD patch out for it too for the update patch so you don't need the DVD in the drive to play the game.
I always use NoDVD/CD launch.exe's for all my games so that the drives & disks stay in good condition.

Final Note: To have all the "Eyecandy" turned on you really need to have 2 powerful graphics cards in SLi or Crossfire to have it look like it does in the preview videos!!!
This game IMO is even more demanding than Crysis on your system & graphics card(s)!
I think the attachment just swayed my decision.
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2008, 12:49 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Quote:
Originally Posted by raphael2040 View Post
I think the attachment just swayed my decision.
Which direction?
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2008, 05:54 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I'm in! I played Shadow of Chernobyl and absolutely loved it! The only reason I purchased it was because it was on the clearance shelf at Target. So I figured "why not" and I didn't regret it. I havn't even finished it correctly and plan to play again. As for the sequel, I'm going to be running 2 9700GS in SLI. I hope they will cut it.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2008, 05:18 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
I'm in! I played Shadow of Chernobyl and absolutely loved it! The only reason I purchased it was because it was on the clearance shelf at Target. So I figured "why not" and I didn't regret it. I havn't even finished it correctly and plan to play again. As for the sequel, I'm going to be running 2 9700GS in SLI. I hope they will cut it.
Yea, I really enjoy the game as well & it's a very long game to get through...

If you want me to tell you "how" to get to the final Real ending of the game just let me know & I'll tell you what you need to do to get there.
There are certain actions that you must do, or you will never get to the real ending of the game at the Chernobyl power plant.

I was going to give you some hints, but decided that maybe you don't want them...so I took them off this post.
But, if you want a hint to get you started in the right direction to lead you to the true ending of the game let me know...OK.
Attached Thumbnails
I got STALKER Clear Sky as a Gift!-chernobyl-powerplant-1.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 15th October, 2008 at 05:27 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2008, 08:29 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

No hints yet. I'll actually enjoy replaying it again and try to figure it out. If I get stuck or frustrated, then I'll PM you for some hints. Its a fun game to roam around in and do random missions without even achieving the main missions. I do remember before I made it to the power plant, it was extremely hard. I got so frustrated because I kept dying. At that point I was just happy to play most of the game. I'm on break right now and played through HL2 Episode 1 & 2 again. Now I'm playing Max Payne 2, and plan to try Crysis again with 2 7900GS's in SLI...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2008, 12:00 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
No hints yet. I'll actually enjoy replaying it again and try to figure it out. If I get stuck or frustrated, then I'll PM you for some hints. Its a fun game to roam around in and do random missions without even achieving the main missions. I do remember before I made it to the power plant, it was extremely hard. I got so frustrated because I kept dying. At that point I was just happy to play most of the game.
That's about 2/3 of the game.
The "real" ending of the game is even a bit tougher to get through to the final end being the Powerplant you see in the screenshot.

Get the SEVA suit (in screenshot) before you go into the highly radioactive areas after the Freedom Border going into the Red Forest.
It also has superior night vision that is very clear.
This will save you from dieing a bunch of times.
You can get that from the Scientists in Yantar at a decent price.

Try to stock up on nothing but armor penetrating ammo too.
You'll have to run some side missions & do a lot of trading before you'll be able to do this.

Also, use the Artifacts to your advantage & wear them on your belt.
For example the crystal (shown is screenshot inventory) that Skinflint gives you at the Freedombase for clearing out the bloodsuckers in the village reduces radiation by 30% if you wear it with no ill side effects! So hang on to that, you'll need it.

There's even more to learn in the game if you play it for awhile.

This is what I went into Red Forest & on to Prypiat with as far as suit, weapons & ammo. The crystal is next to the bandages in my inventory.
Attached Thumbnails
I got STALKER Clear Sky as a Gift!-vintar-bc.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 16th October, 2008 at 12:03 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2008, 12:34 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I've never seen that "scoped" rifle before.
Thats why Stalker is so amazing, because it is very "thought through" so the gamer gets to have almost unlimited options.
I look forward to playing it again because I've missed so much...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2008, 10:51 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
I've never seen that "scoped" rifle before.
Thats why Stalker is so amazing, because it is very "thought through" so the gamer gets to have almost unlimited options.
I look forward to playing it again because I've missed so much...
When you go into the Freedom Base, take a left turn after the bridge & it's inside the second barracks just laying on the floor to pick up for free!
Its laying on the floor in the upper lefthand corner.
The Vintar BC is by far the best sniper rifle you can use in the game with the most damage & there's lots of ammo for it just picking it up off guys.
It has a big arch to the trajectory at distances, so you have to compensate by aiming high to hit targets a long way off. But one headshot will take anyone out!

There's lots of stuff to find all over the place but you need to take the time to thoroughly search areas & buildings to find them.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 16th October, 2008 at 10:52 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 12:46 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
No hints yet. I'll actually enjoy replaying it again and try to figure it out. If I get stuck or frustrated, then I'll PM you for some hints. Its a fun game to roam around in and do random missions without even achieving the main missions. I do remember before I made it to the power plant, it was extremely hard. I got so frustrated because I kept dying. At that point I was just happy to play most of the game. I'm on break right now and played through HL2 Episode 1 & 2 again. Now I'm playing Max Payne 2, and plan to try Crysis again with 2 7900GS's in SLI...
OK HOW did you kill the Ram boss in HL2 Episode 1?!? I've throw a ton of exploding oil drums at it.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 01:52 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
OK HOW did you kill the Ram boss in HL2 Episode 1?!? I've throw a ton of exploding oil drums at it.
What is a Ram boss? I have all the HL games & never ran across one of them...
IF you are talking about the Ant-Lion Guardian, I usually kill it with the Stake bow. Only takes 3 of them.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 17th October, 2008 at 01:55 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2008, 02:58 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'll try to update this tonight and find the correct name for him. I have looked on the web to no avail.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holiday Gift for me RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 6 10th December, 2005 06:52 PM
A gift for his dad... XeroHouR Case Modifications 19 24th March, 2005 10:28 AM
IKEA. First 30 people to dress up as a gift get $100 gift card. mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 5th December, 2004 02:25 PM
8K3A clear cmos jumper wont clear cmos Tismedt EPoX MotherBoards 1 2nd December, 2002 10:20 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0