AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2002, 11:21 PM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

prefered Operating system for gaming?

what is every ones prefered operating systems for gaming?
Thanks

Majestic
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2002, 02:38 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I like windows 98 SE.

Most compatible for now.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2002, 03:17 AM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

I'd have to say XP for speed and stability.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2002, 10:47 PM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

i have both of them running on two diffrent machiens at the moment just i cant really figure which i prefer 98se seems to be more simple and xp all ways wants to connect to the net but then xp seems to run faster but that could be to do with the diffrence in machiens xp on a 1 gig duron 382 meg of ram 98se on a 800 clocked at 880 with 128 of ram

Majestic
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2002, 05:06 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I ran some 3dMark tests when XP first came out and the score were identical between XP and 98SE
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2002, 05:41 AM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

That would be where the stability of XP comes in. I personally lothe 98 now. I just went in and made XP look like 98xx. I hate the XP GUI.

Best of both worlds.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2002, 02:31 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally posted by Southern Man
That would be where the stability of XP comes in. I personally lothe 98 now. I just went in and made XP look like 98xx. I hate the XP GUI.

Best of both worlds.
You can do that?
hummmmmmm.............
maybe time for an upgrade. I've been having some issues, But I think it's do to heat.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2002, 09:35 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

You just set properties to classic windows style and change the start menu to classic windows. Looks just like 98 but has the function of XP.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2002, 10:27 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

Personally I think 2k does alright, maybe not as fast or compatible as 98 but still good for half life.
98se is one of the best but if you have a lot of ram might as well use 2k or xp far as I'm concerned.
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 05:21 PM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

but i thought there was some issues with games and compatability with 2k?

Majestic
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 05:48 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by majestic
but i thought there was some issues with games and compatability with 2k?

Majestic
Only game I haven't been able to play (and since have given away) on windows 2k/xp is Need For Speed.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 05:53 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

carmagedon doesnt work as well
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 08:04 PM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

so there are a few issues but nothing thats really gonna effect 2k as a operating system for gaming well evry operating systems has a problem with some games!

majestic
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2002, 03:14 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

just had to uninstall xp and put 2k back on. XP wouldnt run my geforce 3 without crashing every 2 minutes, yet 2k was fine, strange.
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2002, 04:32 PM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

so xp not great with some graphics cards?
is that a driver issue

?


Majestic :P
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 10:16 AM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

dont really know.

I had latest detonators so I cant see as that would be the problem.
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 11:58 AM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

Quote:
dont really know.

I had latest detonators so I cant see as that would be the problem.
Just looking about dont u seem to be having a lot of problems with ure grafix card and compatibility or is that just me?

Majestic
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 02:00 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

not really
It works very stable in win2k and win98se, its only in winxp that it had any trouble
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 03:35 PM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

so is it all geforce3s or just yours?

majestic
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 05:59 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

I dont think it could be all geforce 3s or it would be a more heard of problem. I just dont know anymore.
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
YouOS a browser based operating system danrok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 11 30th July, 2006 07:50 PM
Operating System calhoun General Hardware Discussion 13 19th November, 2005 10:26 PM
Help me build a gaming system Azriel AMD Motherboards & CPUs 32 25th October, 2005 11:12 PM
Lindows Operating System Just_tweak_it OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 20th June, 2005 09:25 AM
I am writing my own Operating System Garfield OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 16 15th May, 2002 01:10 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0