AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 12:25 AM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

Unhappy Strange HDD Problem!



I have an 8.4gb Fujitsu HDD from another PC and a bit ago i partitioned it so i could have a dual boot of win 2k and Linux red hat so i could have a play around with linux and see what its like... anyhow my mum wanted a PC so when it came to partitioning and formatting this drive it would only recognise just over 2gb of it when putting ME on for my mum and wouldnt let me partitiong and format the whole 8.4gb

Any ideas peeps cus im totally flumuxed!!!

__________________
Intel PIV PGA478 2A GHz (400) @ 2GHz
17" Samsung SyncMaster 700NF
ASUS P4T533-C
256mb RAMBUS RDRAM
61.4 Gb IBM ATA 100
18.2 Gb Fujitsu LVD160
Initio A100U2W SCSI Card
50x Asus CD-ROM (With Red Led Mod)
6x32x Toshiba DVD-ROM
10x4x32 HP 9300 CD-Writer
ATI All In Wonder Pro 128 32mb AGP
Creative SB LIVE!
3com Etherlink III 10/100
Juno P6 Full Tower

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 12:35 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

You'll need to "F-Disk" and repartition. Remove all non-dos partitions in f-Disk, repartition, then format.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 12:42 AM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

Yeah... thats the thing... i tried that many times and to no avail (sp?)

I just dont understand it :nervous:
__________________
Intel PIV PGA478 2A GHz (400) @ 2GHz
17" Samsung SyncMaster 700NF
ASUS P4T533-C
256mb RAMBUS RDRAM
61.4 Gb IBM ATA 100
18.2 Gb Fujitsu LVD160
Initio A100U2W SCSI Card
50x Asus CD-ROM (With Red Led Mod)
6x32x Toshiba DVD-ROM
10x4x32 HP 9300 CD-Writer
ATI All In Wonder Pro 128 32mb AGP
Creative SB LIVE!
3com Etherlink III 10/100
Juno P6 Full Tower

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 12:48 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Are you using a win98 boot disk to do this?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 12:52 AM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

Its an ME boot disk as far as i know
__________________
Intel PIV PGA478 2A GHz (400) @ 2GHz
17" Samsung SyncMaster 700NF
ASUS P4T533-C
256mb RAMBUS RDRAM
61.4 Gb IBM ATA 100
18.2 Gb Fujitsu LVD160
Initio A100U2W SCSI Card
50x Asus CD-ROM (With Red Led Mod)
6x32x Toshiba DVD-ROM
10x4x32 HP 9300 CD-Writer
ATI All In Wonder Pro 128 32mb AGP
Creative SB LIVE!
3com Etherlink III 10/100
Juno P6 Full Tower

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 01:07 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

ok, when you first start the f-disk program does it ask you if you would like to enable support for large disks?

If I remember correctly, there is some text that you have to read (bout a paragraph long) and then it askes you a yes or no answer.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 01:14 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

From what your saying I think you may have missed a re-boot or failed to snag one partition or another. Try again, I've screwed myself up on this more than once. F-disk and ask to see all existing partitions.

The non Dos partitions, if I remember correctly MUST be removed before the DOS partitions. You may have to recreate you Dos partition, re-boot, the del your non-dos partitions. It's been a while but I seem to remember getting stuck in just such a loop.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 05:33 AM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

check your bios settings... you might have it set wrong.... and are does the mobo have a 2gig limit? (note: it may not want to install above 2gb as many comps have problems booting above this range... i dont know if ME can do like win2k and have a boot partition)
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 10:46 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Re: Strange HDD Problem!

Quote:
Originally posted by Muta
Any ideas peeps cus im totally flumuxed!!!
Sure thing.

Basically, 95/98/ME FDisk sucks. It can only non-dos partitions when they're primary partitions. If they're logical partitions, it decides it can't see them.

My recommendation? IBM has a lovely little program called "Zap", which wipes the Master Boot Record, and the Partition table. You can download it from the usual service.boulder server.

It's a self extracting archive, so you need to download it to a temporary directory, and then execute it in order to extract the two files inside.

Copy the ZAP.COM file to a bootable disk, and insert the disk in the machine you want to wipe clean. Boot the machine off the disk, and when you get to the DOS prompt, type "ZAP 0" to wipe the first disk.

WARNING: THIS WILL RENDER EVERYTHING ON THE DISK INACCESSABLE.

Once you've done that, you should be able to use fdisk normally, as the HDD will look like a brand new blank disk to it.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 12:08 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Thanks, Adian! I could have used this yesterday! I had a heck of a time getting a partition off an old drive. This works great!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 12:17 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Oh, a partition table killer

The last time I tried to remove Linux in favour of Windows (shock, horror) was about 3 years ago. The answer I found at the time was that MS fdisk doesn't understand Linux partitions, but Linux fdisk does.

So the trick was to get a Linux boot disc that was set up to detect the hard drive and any partitions on it (thankfully Red Hat, which is what I was removing, provided this as standard. The images are on their install CDs) and use Linux fdisk to completely remove the Linux partitions. The MS version could then understand what was going on and modify partitions as normal.

I understand that this is still largely the same. Some Windoze programs like PartitionMagic claim to be able to modify Linux partitions - which they can provided you're using only the standard ext2, ext3 and swap partition types. For setups like my own (reiserfs) it still needs Linux to do it.

Anyway, once you've booted from your floppy disc and got a linux console (command prompt) do this to see what partitions you have:

Code:
# fdisk /dev/hda
assuming you're talking about the first hard disc. The naming convention is hda is the primary master, hdb is the primary slave, hdc is the secondary master and hdd is the secondary slave.

This brings up the fdisk environment
Code:
 Command (m for help):
Type "p" to print the partition table (tells you what partitions are where, and what type they are)

Code:
   Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *         1       184    370912+  83  VFAT
/dev/hda2           185       368    370944   83  Linux
/dev/hda3           369       552    370944   83  Linux
/dev/hda4           553       621    139104   82  Linux swap
Then you want to delete each of the partitions hda2 to hda4. Unlike MS fdisk, changes are not instant.

Type d to delete a partition. It looks like this:
Code:
Command (m for help): d
Partition number (1-4): 2
Finally write all your changes to disc.
Code:
Command (m for help): w
fdisk will automatically exit.

Reboot into MS and see what its fdisk will let you do.
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 12:58 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaitain
Oh, a partition table killer
<snip>
I understand that this is still largely the same. Some Windoze programs like PartitionMagic claim to be able to modify Linux partitions - which they can provided you're using only the standard ext2, ext3 and swap partition types. For setups like my own (reiserfs) it still needs Linux to do it.
Actually, Zap takes out the first 128 sectors on the hard disk.

You're also behind the times. Programs like Paragon's Hard Disk Manager support things like FAT/NTFS/Ext2/3, Reiser, HPFS. Yes, it'll even image them intelligently. It also provides Ext2FS/Ext3FS support to WinNT/2000/XP/9x. No Reiser support yet though. Shouldn't be hard under NT, as it supports installable file systems.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 02:04 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII
You're also behind the times.
That doesn't surprise me
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2002, 02:11 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaitain
That doesn't surprise me
No, It always amazes me how much I don't know.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very strange problem???? NarkotikBuzz OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 28th July, 2006 12:58 AM
New Hdd - Strange problem dod General Hardware Discussion 10 4th November, 2003 07:47 PM
STRANGE problem The Running Man AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 5th September, 2003 09:10 AM
strange problem.. sirtoby EPoX MotherBoards 1 1st April, 2003 05:49 PM
Strange problem Random Nonsense General Hardware Discussion 5 7th September, 2002 12:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0