AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2002, 07:48 PM
staffspeted's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Watford,UK
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to staffspeted Send a message via Yahoo to staffspeted

Disc Drives In The Wrong Place!

Have just re-installed Win XP and Service pack 1 on my system to clear out
all the old junk and something strange has happened.
My DVD Rom and CD RW have been installed as Hard Disc Drives and not as
Devices With Removable Storage (see My Computer).
This is preventing Autoplay and also causing an annoying Low Disc Space
warning to pop up every time I play a CD then Disc Clean-up activates to try
to free up space.
Also on install I re-installed my Mobo drivers.
Any ideas????
My system is:-

Windows XP SP1
Epox 8k3a+
1024 Mb PC2700 Ram
AMD 2100xp+ CPU
ATI Radeon 9700 Graphics
Soundblaster Audigy Player
80gb Hard drive
CDRW/DVD Rom/Floppy

Help much appreciated. Pete
__________________
8k3a+ mobo
XP2400+ CPU
Cooled by Thermalright SLK-800 H/S
nVidia Geforce Ti 4200
1024mb PC2700 333mhz samsung memory
80gb hard drive
Audigy Player Soundcard
Windows XP Pro, SP2
Enermax 550w psu
8 Fans in an E-Star case unmodded as yet!
Average temps:-CPU 40C, System 26C
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2002, 10:47 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

You might try removing the CD-RW and DVD-ROM from Device Manager and reboot the box. With luck, XP will "discover" the optical drives and get it right. You might want to be in Safe Mode when you remove the drives from Device Manager.

If they are mis-identified again, I would remove them from Device Manager. Then crack the cover and disconnect both the IDE ribbons and the power plugs to both drives. Start the machine, let it boot all the way into Windows. Then shut it down. Remembering to pull the PS's power cable out of the PS or the power strip before putting a finger inside the box, re-connect the "Molex" power and IDE data ribbons to the optical drives. XP should find the drives and treat 'em right.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2002, 11:31 PM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

if all else fails try using the update driver and then picking the correct driver manually
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2002, 06:42 AM
staffspeted's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Watford,UK
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to staffspeted Send a message via Yahoo to staffspeted

Thanks for your replies have done all the above still the same, however when I re-boot in Safe Mode they are correctly recognised as Drives With Removable Storage. When I boot up normally they are back as Hard Disc Drives! OS problem maybe??
__________________
8k3a+ mobo
XP2400+ CPU
Cooled by Thermalright SLK-800 H/S
nVidia Geforce Ti 4200
1024mb PC2700 333mhz samsung memory
80gb hard drive
Audigy Player Soundcard
Windows XP Pro, SP2
Enermax 550w psu
8 Fans in an E-Star case unmodded as yet!
Average temps:-CPU 40C, System 26C
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2002, 06:49 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Did you reinstall XP and write over all old files? If so, reformat disk and reload windows. It should change root directory. If not, you may consider doing so.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2002, 06:51 AM
staffspeted's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Watford,UK
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to staffspeted Send a message via Yahoo to staffspeted

I reformatted hard drive before re-install!
__________________
8k3a+ mobo
XP2400+ CPU
Cooled by Thermalright SLK-800 H/S
nVidia Geforce Ti 4200
1024mb PC2700 333mhz samsung memory
80gb hard drive
Audigy Player Soundcard
Windows XP Pro, SP2
Enermax 550w psu
8 Fans in an E-Star case unmodded as yet!
Average temps:-CPU 40C, System 26C
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2002, 06:52 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

I would FDISK it, and reformat. May be the easiest way out of the mess.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2002, 03:24 AM
unclemojo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: mojoland
Posts: 572
Send a message via ICQ to unclemojo

why not just reassign the drive letters?

Control Panel>Admn Tools>Computer Management>Disk Management

You can right click on any drive and choose Change Drive Letter and Paths. Nice thing about this, is it remaps all your files, exe, shortcuts and so on to their respected drive to make sure everythings all nice
__________________
~mojo~
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2002, 06:05 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

It would certainly be worth a try instead of or bfore FDISK/FORMAT Install.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2002, 09:29 AM
staffspeted's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Watford,UK
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to staffspeted Send a message via Yahoo to staffspeted

Re-assigned the drive letters and all seemed to work until I re-booted ,then the drives in question were back as Hard Disc Drives but with newly assigned letters!! This will not beat us!
Getting V.close to a re-format though!
__________________
8k3a+ mobo
XP2400+ CPU
Cooled by Thermalright SLK-800 H/S
nVidia Geforce Ti 4200
1024mb PC2700 333mhz samsung memory
80gb hard drive
Audigy Player Soundcard
Windows XP Pro, SP2
Enermax 550w psu
8 Fans in an E-Star case unmodded as yet!
Average temps:-CPU 40C, System 26C
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2002, 10:04 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Unplugg the drives.

Reinstall all your drivers (4-in-1 and IDE)

Download the latest CDrom drivers.

Plug the drives back in and install em.

Hopefully that will fix it.

Im running XP with SP1 on the office server with no CDRW or DVD problems.. so a reinstall might fixit as a last resort
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2002, 07:03 AM
staffspeted's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Watford,UK
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to staffspeted Send a message via Yahoo to staffspeted

All sorted now ,thanks for the replies. Did a full XP re-install and all is now as it should be. Strange one though!
__________________
8k3a+ mobo
XP2400+ CPU
Cooled by Thermalright SLK-800 H/S
nVidia Geforce Ti 4200
1024mb PC2700 333mhz samsung memory
80gb hard drive
Audigy Player Soundcard
Windows XP Pro, SP2
Enermax 550w psu
8 Fans in an E-Star case unmodded as yet!
Average temps:-CPU 40C, System 26C
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2002, 07:25 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Allrighty, good to hear it!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blu-ray Disc and HD DVD Encryption magic! Daniel ~ Data Security 0 15th February, 2007 06:11 PM
Dynamic disc. The_DuDe General Hardware Discussion 4 12th January, 2007 08:16 AM
The right drivers in the wrong place can make all the dif-ference in the woo-rld XeroHouR Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 11 20th February, 2005 05:11 PM
ABout PS2 Disc`s ? woodeirl General Hardware Discussion 11 13th December, 2004 08:43 PM
Nine disc! R0BB23 Random Nonsense! 6 24th November, 2003 05:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0