AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 07:36 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Added Bonus!

Anybody ever heard of a Western Digital special edition HDD with an 8mb cache. Sure you have, it's the best performing IDE HDD out there. Ever heard of on in a 40GB capacity? I never had...

I am planning on building myself a new PC after x-mas. I want to coustom build a coffee table and conceal the pc inside of it. Well actually 2 PC's. I have already bought some parts and peices. Well anyway my wife wants to give one of her friend a PC for X-Mas. She asked me what was the absolute cheapest the I could put a websurfing and e-mail box together for. So I went out and ordered an iTX mobo and case/psu combo from servercase.com. I ordered some RAM from crucial. Got a modem from digitallyunique.com. But for a HDD and CD-RW I could get them at compusa for cheaper. So I picked up a cheap CD-RW and a WD 40gb 7200rpm ATA100 HDD for $60 after rebate. I stoped and decided that I may as well pick up a second HDD for when it became time to build mine.

Well today the last of the parts showed up so I put the iTX box together. When I was finished I set the box in my den to start the software installation. Went back to the kitchen to gather up all the documentation for the PCs future owner when I see a bright pink slip of paper. It read:

Quote:
ADDED BONUS
You have just received a higher performance hard drive at no extra cost!

The drive you have received is a Western Digital Special Edition hard drive which features an 8 MB cache buffer. Compared to the industry standard 2 MB versions, this Special Edition drive delivers data to users faster than any desktop hard drive has befor. You can expect the best combination of performance, reliability, and value in every award winning Western Digital hard drive.
I thought wow. Totally cool. Then I thought I better check the other one. After all they were sitting on the shelf right next to each other. I go to my pile of parts and pull out my HDD. Rip it out of its box, start searching. Look as I may I can find no pink slip. Pull other HDD out of the machine I just built and compare part #s. One is a WD-400BB and the other is a WD-400JB. I got bummed because I was hoping that my HDD would have the *mb Buffer, but alas it only has a 2mb buffer. Oh well, better luck next time.

Anyone else ever come accross a WD-400JB befor?

I think I may have screwed up and accidently put the WD-400BB back into the iTX box for my wifes friend.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 09:50 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

That kinda stuff happens to me as well! Man, it sure pays to read the fine print!
Coffee table PC< nice! I haven't seen the 8MB 40 G drives, nice. Be great for a RAID array.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 03:44 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I haven't seen any 40GB 8 megs either. But I have the 80GB 8MB myself.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

I realise this its a UK site, but:
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...Drives_74.html
200GB one at the bottom
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 05:45 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Quote:
Originally posted by ByteWipe
I realise this its a UK site, but:
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...Drives_74.html
I'm am just happy to have gotten one. I almost boght an 80GB drive just to get the 8mb buffer but decided that I didn't need that much space and the price/performance ratio didn't justify the added expense. So it is totally cool that I got a WD-400JB

Quote:

200GB one at the bottom
And I can remember when a sales person talked me into getting machine with 16mb of RAM and an 800mb HDD instead of one with 8mb RAM and a 1GB HDD because the RAM would give it more of a boost in performance and besides I would never fill an 800mb HDD.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 07:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

Quote:
Originally posted by Staz

And I can remember when a sales person talked me into getting machine with 16mb of RAM and an 800mb HDD instead of one with 8mb RAM and a 1GB HDD because the RAM would give it more of a boost in performance and besides I would never fill an 800mb HDD.
ahhh yes, back in the day with the 486s. think i started worrying about hard drive space when theme hospital took up 50mb on max install.

imagine the excitement when we got our first 133Mhz Cyrix, then to go and buy 64mb of ram and a voodoo2, thinking that technology couldn't go much further... course i was only about 12 at the time
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 11:25 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

If the 40 Gb WD is a xxxJB model, the "JB" signifies that it's an SE HDD. A friend was talking about WD 40 Gb Special Edition's yesterday. I said that I doubted that they existed. Looks like he was right! Wish I had a brace of them, these 40 Gb Barracuda IV's are s l o w.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.5 GHz added RussianMissile1 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 13 3rd September, 2004 05:50 AM
Added another rig! turbo dan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 17 11th September, 2003 01:01 PM
Just added some ram Arsenal CRASHED! 2 10th February, 2003 10:18 PM
Can this be added.... eobard Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 22 8th June, 2002 02:56 AM
one more rig added to the list... e_storm ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 7 9th January, 2002 04:19 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0