AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 07:16 AM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

Help me decide- HDD comparison

I'm looking to get an 80 gig hdd and I've got two possibilities in mind but can't decide which way to go.

One is the WD 7200rpm, ATA100 with an 8mb cache.
The other is a Maxtor 7200rpm ATA133 with 2mb cache.

The mother board supports ATA133. This will be the only hdd and will be used for gaming and a lot of multi-media stuff plus cd burning.

The cpu is a duron 800 bumped up to 1000 mhz but will probably be upgraded later.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 10:57 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Which model of the drives are you looking at?

Presumably the WD drive is a WD800JB and the Maxtor is a DiamondMax D740X(6L060J4)?

If that's true, then the WD is a faster hard disk.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 02:30 PM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

That is the WD drive I was looking at but the Maxtor drive I'm looking at is the DiamondMax Plus 9 model 6Y080L0.

Thanks for your help so far.
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2002, 03:33 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The 8Mb cache DiamondMax Plus 9 is a little faster than the WD800JB, but I don't know about the 2Mb cache version.

Anyone else?

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 03:52 PM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

Hey there

Im kinda in the same predicament on 40/60/80gb hard drive

Which of the three hard drive to get, wd, maxtor or maxtor 8mb cache, expcept im planning to raid 0 two of them and use the third in my brother machine.

The western digitals seem to be a little more expensive then the 8mb maxtors, with the standard maxtors being the cheapest, so on the price im porbably looking at the maxtors.

Anyone have any comments or experience on why i shouldn't get two of the 80gb 8mb maxtors to raid 0?
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 03:37 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The SE aka xxxJB model WD's are at the head of the pack in recent shootouts. They also have a three year warranty. However, I don't know what effect the 8 Mb cache has in a RAID-0 configuration. So far, ATA-133 is of little real value.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 06:26 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

In the last six months, I have gone from 2 Maxtor 40G in raid 0 to a single Maxtor 60G to a single WD SE/JB 80G. I am very pleased with the WD SE/JB, I don't think that I will need to worry about a drive update until SATA becomes mainstream and evolves a bit.

The WD SE/JB performs better than the maxtors I have had and on par with any raid setup that I have used. I have read that these drives work very well in raid setups but I have no desire to go back to raid 0. I used raid 0 for a couple of years and never had any failures but leaving the pc on 24/7 made me nervous about the possiblity of a failure. Not to mention that I never really saw any noticeable performance increase outside of benchmarks.
__________________
-- P4 930 @ 4.1Ghz -- Asus P5WD2-P -- 2X1GB PQI DDR2 3-3-3-8 -- 7800GT -- X-FI Audio --
-- X2 3800+ @ 2.7Ghz (No IHS) -- Epox 9NPA+ Ultra -- 2X1GB G. Skill 3-4-3-8 -- 7800GT --
-- P4 3.0C -- Abit IC7 -- 2X512MB PQI TCCD -- 9800 Pro --
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 06:56 AM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

Thanks guys!
It sounds like I'll be going with the WD 80gig with the 8MB cache.
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 11:59 AM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

Righty'o then, might just consider a 8mb cache drive rather then a fully blown raid setup, but im still tempted as ive never used raid before and would like to experiment. What do you think, is it worth it, if i do get the raid0 setup then i would keep my ibm 30g 60gxp for backup, and no i haven't had any problems with ibm hard drives before you ask!

Btw, my comp is mainly a gaming rig, but i do store a lot of mp3's and movies on the pc and would really like to have lagless disk access and lower loading times. Is the jump to raid worth it?
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 04:45 PM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

Quote:
Originally posted by PornoMonkey
Righty'o then, might just consider a 8mb cache drive rather then a fully blown raid setup, but im still tempted as ive never used raid before and would like to experiment. What do you think, is it worth it, if i do get the raid0 setup then i would keep my ibm 30g 60gxp for backup, and no i haven't had any problems with ibm hard drives before you ask!

Btw, my comp is mainly a gaming rig, but i do store a lot of mp3's and movies on the pc and would really like to have lagless disk access and lower loading times. Is the jump to raid worth it?
I went through several generations of Maxtor 7200 RPM UDMA 66, 100 and 133 drives in raid 0. When my onboard controller was still at 33 or 66 the raid 0 helped a little. With todays controllers and drives, such as WD SE/JB I really don't see any performance difference in my daily use. I play games, watch movies and do lots of office apps.

For my personal use the Risk/Reward doesn't add up. Additional expense to get in with increased possiblity of failure and not enough performance to justify it. But that is a question that each individual must answer for themselves. You may have a higher tolerance to risk than I and the performance may be enough to make you happy. From what I have read, if you are able to get 8Mb cache drives that would be the way to go. Good luck.
__________________
-- P4 930 @ 4.1Ghz -- Asus P5WD2-P -- 2X1GB PQI DDR2 3-3-3-8 -- 7800GT -- X-FI Audio --
-- X2 3800+ @ 2.7Ghz (No IHS) -- Epox 9NPA+ Ultra -- 2X1GB G. Skill 3-4-3-8 -- 7800GT --
-- P4 3.0C -- Abit IC7 -- 2X512MB PQI TCCD -- 9800 Pro --
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 04:45 PM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

come on guys, out of the 70 that have viewed some of you must have opinions on hard drives?
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 06:58 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I have the WD 80 gig 8MB cache hard drive. At a time I had a problem with it making strange rattling noises, but after two weeks they slowly started fading away, and now they are gone. Go figure!

Its a very fast drive, and I'm very happy with it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 09:30 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by PornoMonkey
Btw, my comp is mainly a gaming rig, but i do store a lot of mp3's and movies on the pc and would really like to have lagless disk access and lower loading times. Is the jump to raid worth it?
Very probably not. RAID0 doesn't really reduce access times, it only boosts sustained transfer rates. Hence, if there's lots of reading of large files in a linear mode, then there's a nice boost if the program is bottlenecked at the hard disk transfer rate.

Unfortuantely, most stuff doesn't do large reads in a linear fashion, and plenty of things are not bottlenecked at the hard disk transfer rate.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 10:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 86
Send a message via AIM to dr5op3rdud3

I have the WD 8mb SE. So far no problems, but it does get VERY hot. But ever since i put a HEPA filter in my computer, i can touch it now with out getting burned
__________________
1700+@1900mhz SK-7 with YS TECH 512mb Corsair 4-2-2-2 ATI 9500pro WD SE 80gig Lite-On 52x24x52 Lite-On 48x12x48
Logitech MX700 Logitech Elite Logitech z640 Samsung 955DF and 4 fans that aren't quite enough

RIP SF2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2002, 11:26 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally posted by dr5op3rdud3
I have the WD 8mb SE. So far no problems, but it does get VERY hot. But ever since i put a HEPA filter in my computer, i can touch it now with out getting burned
Welcome to AOA, dr5op3rdud3!

This is good to know! Looks like HDD coolers make sense for all 7200 rpm HDD's. Shucks, that means I gotta buy one for the B Box.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maybe we should let our Doctors decide...? Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 4 20th November, 2005 04:41 AM
cannot decide... Frost | #jXp Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 3rd January, 2005 05:13 PM
Help me decide on upgrade for 8KHA+ IrishFlyer EPoX MotherBoards 10 14th December, 2003 04:46 PM
UK Broadband - help me decide? Kaitain Mobile Devices and Networking 23 29th August, 2002 12:57 AM
Help me decide which is the best graphics card??? Paul.K Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 31 23rd January, 2002 04:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0