AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 02:50 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Can I overclock my ThinkPad?

I just got hold of an old TP600, its a P2-266, and I was wondering if there was any way I could get it to 300 or something?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 07:00 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

you could try, but they aren't designed to handle the extra heatload. Try one of those soft FSB programs online. Sorry, the names aren't coming to me right now.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 10:49 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Assuming the design of ThinkPads has remained largely unchanged between the P2/266 and the T20i, there's an onboard fan that cuts in when the heatsink runs over a certain temperature. O/cing your thinkpad will cause its power consumption to increase, both due to extra power consumed by the cpu, and extra running time for the fan.

One other issue is that to minimise the size, things like ram, sound and gfx are often on customised buses, and only pretend to be on the pci/agp/whatever bus for the sake of windows. I'm not sure how their clock rates relate to the normal cpu clock...

You could try using cpuFSB or similar. The worst that could happen is you toast it
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 07:06 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Hehe, yeah, perhaps I'll give it a go... but it won't fold much no matter what, so I guess it isn't worth it. Do you know what the fastest CPU I can use in this baby is?

As for power consumtion, its not a problem, as the battery is more or less dead anyway...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2001, 08:51 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan Nielsen
Hehe, yeah, perhaps I'll give it a go... but it won't fold much no matter what, so I guess it isn't worth it. Do you know what the fastest CPU I can use in this baby is?

As for power consumtion, its not a problem, as the battery is more or less dead anyway...
are the cpu's soldered into the board?
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 10:54 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

From experience, most laptops have soldered CPUs. I'm not sure that the power control on the CPU actually uses a programmable clock generator or if it inserts pauses in the processors accesses to slow it down. Most clock throttling doesn't seem to change the frequency of the processor to avoid changing PCI/AGP bus speeds as well.

I'd say good luck to you. I reckon that you'll probably need to do some soldering if you want to overclock the thinkpad.

AidanII
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2001, 01:29 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Ok thanks guys, I knew it wasn't gonna be easy I guess I was just hoping for some excellent solution.

I think I'll leave it as it is then.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exploding IBM Thinkpad danrok Random Nonsense! 7 17th September, 2006 08:14 PM
disabling thinkpad PS2 port dsio CRASHED! 10 14th September, 2006 01:16 AM
IBM Thinkpad smisir Mobile Devices and Networking 4 17th December, 2004 05:52 PM
Your opinon, please: Thinkpad T41 cloasters Mobile Devices and Networking 12 12th August, 2004 04:13 AM
IBM Thinkpad BIOS password! CaesaR CRASHED! 5 11th October, 2003 09:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0