AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 04:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: liverpool
Posts: 127
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesUK

slow WD 80gb 8mb cache HDD on 8rda+ what can i do?

Hi i have a epox 8rda+ board with a 2600+ cpu, my hard drive is a Western Digital 80gb Special Edition 8mb Cache, this drives supposed to be really fast, some people / some review sites saying faster that scsi drives, but not in my case

as you can see by the image drives of the same capacity on ntfs with only 2mb cache well beats it plus a simular drive with 8mb cache well beats mine the scsi drive kills it and mine is even beaten by a 36gb 5700rpm 2mb cache drive now thats even more dissapointing, i'm using the ide drivers in the nvidia nforce 2 unified drivers 2.00 (not the sw driver) although i have used it in the past and it wasn't any different on the benchmark.

i have the drive set as lba and i have s.m.a.r.t drive enabled and them things, and in device manager it says the drive is running at ultra dma mode 5, so i don't see why its so slow for me

any ideas?

thank you
__________________

Last edited by JamesUK; 25th December, 2002 at 04:30 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 04:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: liverpool
Posts: 127
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesUK

heres the benchmark

the benchmark
Attached Thumbnails
slow WD 80gb 8mb cache HDD on 8rda+ what can i do?-file-system-benchmark.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 04:40 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

First, make sure you defrag before running sisoft. My RAID0 score looks like that if it isn't defragged. After defragging, try it again... Quite a few guys here have your mobo. I'm sure someone will have an idea if that doesn't work.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 06:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: liverpool
Posts: 127
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesUK

hi

hi just defragmented my hard drive, very little change. still not beating that 30gb 5700 drive

new image below
Attached Thumbnails
slow WD 80gb 8mb cache HDD on 8rda+ what can i do?-file-system-benchmark2.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 06:52 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I've heard that the downloadable unified drivers have problems. Someone here pointed out that some of the drivers are newer and some are actually older than the drivers that come with the epox CD... I don't have one myself to test it, but check the date on the IDE controller drivers, then look for the drivers from the CD, update just the controller if you can,, double check the date... Hopefully, the driver on the CD is newer and faster.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th December, 2002, 07:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: liverpool
Posts: 127
Send a message via Yahoo to JamesUK

just done a test with HD TACH and...

hi, just got hd tach and done a test with that and i get an average score of 40403.5kps / max of 49696.0 and min of 7763.0, so do i compare that average score to my score with sanda which was 19975kb/s
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2003, 02:51 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

sandra sucks at the harddrive testing. Nuf said.

Your scores with HD tach are almost identical to the scores i got with my WD SE and ATTO harddrive benchmark.
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2003, 04:56 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Re: just done a test with HD TACH and...

Quote:
Originally posted by JamesUK
hi, just got hd tach and done a test with that and i get an average score of 40403.5kps / max of 49696.0 and min of 7763.0, so do i compare that average score to my score with sanda which was 19975kb/s
Sorry I never got back to you.. Sisoft is very dependent on a lot of factors, and the benchmarks are questionable.

Do not compare results across bm software, there are just too many unknowns. If you want to compare, it has to be within the same version of the same sw only. Does HD tach have any numbers for comparison? If you just defragged sisoft, I think your scores are too low... I still think your drivers are a likely suspect in this case.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2003, 06:14 PM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

ok :S, that atto looks very similar to mine (about 54mb/s), xcept my setup is two 40gb in a raid0 stripe size about 32k

any ideas?
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2003, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

is your WD partitioned? i read somewhere that SiSoft Sandra only tests the partition... this may result in lower scores, etc:

"The Sandra benchmark is less reliable than the HD Tech because it tests a partition rather than the whole drive and as we have seen performance changes depending on where on the drive the partition is located."

Grabbed from: http://www.hexus.net/review.php?review=477&page=6
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2003, 11:25 PM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

Its in one partion, as big as it can be, about 76gb
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2003, 07:30 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Sandra is a great test suite. All the same, its HDD performance benchmarks are useless. If the ATTO disk BM's(ATTO is available in the AOA Files zone)almost agree with HDTach's I think the benchmarks are accurate.

ATTO also performs write testing. You had to pay for HDTach to do write tests, the last time I looked.

If you're running HDTach and/or ATTO under WinXP, please post it!

A 76 Gb partition? Is this on a 200 Gb HDD?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2003, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

Quote:
Originally posted by cloasters

A 76 Gb partition? Is this on a 200 Gb HDD?
its an 80gb hard drive. ive got the same drive, but dont suffer the same problems as they have here. ive not run sisoft, but I have run pcmark and got quite a respectable hd score.

When in XP the drive only reports 76gb.... dont know why.... losing 5% of the advertised hard drive space is a bit too much in my opinion, but meh, never mind.
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2003, 09:27 PM
RandyB's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Sedro Woolley Wa
Posts: 344

I had the same problem with my Maxtor diamond max ultra 133
30 gig HDD I was only getting a HD score of 850 in pc mark. Sandra score was way off as well
I went into device manager and XP had loaded it's own IDE drivers. I removed them in device manager, rebooted and loaded the nVidia drivers from the MB CD and that did the trick for me. My HD score went up to 1128 on PC mark and 26449 on sandra.
Your problem could be different from mine but it's something to take a look at.
__________________
Xp2400+@ 215 X 11 P95 stable Epox 8RDA+, 512 (2x256) megs Corsair XMS 3200 mem sync DC, ASUS Geforce 4 Ti 4200 300 core 575 mem. Maxtor Diamond max plus ATA133, Innovatek H2O system,
Modded generic case.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2003, 10:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

Good advice!
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2003, 12:36 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Having OS, data and saved programs on one partition makes for a hell of a job if(when) the machine gives one the raspberry. Not to mention simply defragging or running checkdisc.

One partitions one's HDD's as one sees fit. But one giant partition...
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+ ,w2k,slow drives access stevil EPoX MotherBoards 0 25th October, 2003 05:32 PM
8rda+/xp2000+ Running Sooo Slow Hom3r EPoX MotherBoards 9 29th August, 2003 12:31 AM
Slow bootup on 8RDA+ !!!!!!!!!!! gsan EPoX MotherBoards 1 8th March, 2003 06:50 PM
Slow bootup / slow tray load once in windows OverDose EPoX MotherBoards 9 24th January, 2003 02:22 AM
Write-Back Cache - What might slow it? Jet Black General Hardware Discussion 2 11th December, 2002 09:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0