AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2003, 06:57 PM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

File/HDD corruption at 170FSB +; help?

Hello I'm a newb here, and really need help with this issue. I feel as if I could push my AXDA2400 AIUCB to approximately 2490MHz (15x166) as it posts, and even gets partially into Windows, at this speed, however, I inevitably get the BSOD configsys file corruption etc.

I've had the system at 11x200 just to bench the RAM, and run 3DMark2001SE. The 3DMark ran, then crashed to windows. When I tried to reboot, and raise the VDIMM (DDR voltage) I found my entire HDD was completely purged of files? There was nothing there? I had to re-Partition, re-Format, and re-Install WinXP. My HDD is ATA100/133? Maxtor DiamondMax 7200 (20GB). I've tried changing the IDE from UDMA to PIO in both the BIOS, and Windows, to no avail.
Now I find attaining over 170FSB or above causes file and/or HDD corruption.
MY mobo is Epox 8K9A, 1GB OCZ PC3500 (512MB removed for benching) and since a 2nd Leadtek GF4 Ti4400 just failed on me, I'm using my Radeon 8500 (64MB Retail). PSU is Antec TruPwr 480Watt, OS is WinXP. Your wisdom would be appreciated, thank you.
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2003, 07:17 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

I normally manage to run perfectly upto 177FSB. If it crashes at that speed however, its completely screwed. Just keep a ghost image of ur windows partition safe and backup regularly. Make sure u create and read from the backup file only at stock speeds to prevent further errors. Completely erasing hard discs of partition info does sound a bit extreme tho. Loss of system32\config is what i get most commonly.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2003, 07:18 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Welcome to the forums.

I read in another post that this can be a comon occurance at high FSB speeds. I am not sure what type of HDD you are useing (ata100 or ata133) If you are running an ATA133 HDD then you should back your DMA settings down to ATA100. If you are running an ATA100 HDD then you should set your DMA to run at ATA66. This should fix your problem.

The other post I mentioned was posted by Aedan and was quite thorough. I will try to find it for you
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2003, 07:27 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Even @ 175fsb, the pci bus is only running at 35mhz... While this may sound odd, I'd actually look at the memory or the pci divider as a culprit. I see you have good memory.. try running with a slight overvolt. Also, in your bios, make sure you are running with the 1/5 divider enabled.

As a reference, I'm running @ 189fsb, with 2 maxtor ATA133's in a raid0 stripe. I haven't had a problem.

good luck.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2003, 07:34 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Here it is

Hard drive/IDE speeds and FSB
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2003, 05:38 AM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

Thak you for replying so quickly! (even though I didn't acknowledge it till now)
I will read the entire post you linked me to. I have another quick question. Do you think buying a SCSI HDD would ameliorate the file corruption/HDD problem?

Another issue which perplexes me is wanting to push my RAM to 440MHz + (as BlargOC did in the link to follow) doesn't seem to require a specific formula such as 220FSB = 440MHzDDR, the reviewer acheives 440MHz on 165MHzFSB and 3:4 memory divider? How can I accomplish this if my Epox seems only to have "built-in" dividers? Is it due to the clock speed of the CPU used as well? Here's the link;
http://www.blargoc.co.uk/reviews/oczpc3500/page4.shtml
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W


Last edited by Liquid3D; 8th January, 2003 at 05:44 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ninja File Managers - Suggest a killer file organization app. DimViesel OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 6th September, 2004 09:35 AM
NF7-s v2.0 SATA corruption Soul99 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 8th February, 2004 08:36 AM
BIOS file shows up as BootVis trace file chile EPoX MotherBoards 2 17th January, 2004 10:51 PM
does bad memory cause corruption? m1ke101 EPoX MotherBoards 5 24th February, 2003 01:32 PM
windows corruption????? bmexline EPoX MotherBoards 12 25th January, 2003 04:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0