AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 10:46 AM
Naughtyboy_2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to Naughtyboy_2000

Need some advice....plzzzz...!!!!

Lo again fellas...!!

I´m not sure on where to post this thread..so I hope this is OK.
Well I really need your advice and help....I have a hard time to decide.
I´m on my way to make an uppgrade to my system...and fore some strange reason I´m in to the DCDDR....I´m going to spec a couple of system cinfigs that I have been looking.
I´d really like your input..what would you get.
Any other sugestions and ideas ...and you´r welcome to post´em.

AMD System1:
AMD Athlon XP2800+
Abit NF7-S (I have considered EP-8RDA+)
Corsair XMS3500 2x256MB


Intel System1
Intel Pentium 4 2.66 GHz (Planing to get a C1 stepping.)
Gigabyte GA-8INXP E7205
Corsair XMS3500 2x256MB


Uppgrade my current
Intel Pentium 4 3.06 GHz
Corsair XMS3500 512MB

Wich system config I ever choose...I´m gonna cool it with a water rigg.

And guys..please...I don´t wanna turn this into a flame war about Intel vs. AMD.
Just want to hear you sugestions.
I´m gonna use it most for multimedia.. gaming, movies, music...and ofcourse some benchies.
__________________
Push It To The Limits

Last edited by Naughtyboy_2000; 10th January, 2003 at 10:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 11:18 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

If you are already @3 Ghz with your current computer, why upgrade? Seems like a killer rig you have there as it is. It is just begging to do some folding@home!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 11:28 AM
Naughtyboy_2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to Naughtyboy_2000

Well I´m eager...I WANT MOOORE....

And I have some money lying around that I want o spend.
__________________
Push It To The Limits
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

well, if you've got some more of that money lying around, i'm more than a worthy cause! :clown: :-D
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 12:00 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

AFAIK, you won't really get much out of an upgrade. Not many P4's will go much above the 3GHz you already have, even with water cooling.
How about buying a Prometeia case and head for subzero cooling?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 12:45 PM
Naughtyboy_2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to Naughtyboy_2000

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan
How about buying a Prometeia case and head for subzero cooling?
Well I´ve had that in mind to. But my goal is to get even more performance and still quiet system.
Anyone tried the Prommy..is loud...???

What about the E7025 chip...read some reviews ..and while default it´s not that impressive...but whilst overclocked ...it performs quite nice...don´t you think.
Also my 2.4b is a B0 stepping....getting a C1 should with some luck give me even more clockage.

And how about the AMD combo..with nforce2....shouldn´t that give some gain in both gaming performance and overall system performance...???
__________________
Push It To The Limits
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 03:34 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Not what you want to hear, but I'd start saving for the next BIG thing.

But it's not like I haven't poured money down the "fast faster fastest" rat hole ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 06:03 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

If you are already @ 3GHz on an 845PE based mobo going granite bay isn't going to give you much of a boost. You'd be better off getting a 22" monitor or a nice comfy leather chair with built in heat and massage or a wireless keyboard and mouse.

You have plenty of horsepower, go for comfort. Or if you are looking for more power a phase change cooling system (yes they are quiet) and a C1 stepping 2.4B.

Or you could stick that money in a savings account with no ATM card attached to it (tend to spend less if you actually have to go to bank durring business hours) and wait and see if hammer is what it's cracked up to be. If not intel will have something newwer faster and better by then.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 10:48 PM
Naughtyboy_2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to Naughtyboy_2000

Hmmm....do you have a conspirasy against my upgrade

Didnt get much help from you......instead you have twisted my mind about the Prometia.
__________________
Push It To The Limits
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 10:55 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Prometia is quiet, go listen to your freezer, thats as loud as it could get, and is probably quieter! i know i cannot really hear my modern freezer when the compressor is running...
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2003, 11:19 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Upgrade is good... but your rig is so close to the cutting edge, it will cost a lot for a little gain... I have to agree with Daniel~.

But, a backup rig, networked for gaming.....
BTW... I think both are very good... rule of thumb for low noise, historically speaking, it's easier to build a quiet Intel system.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 01:02 AM
Naughtyboy_2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to Naughtyboy_2000

Well....I want to thank you for all your inputs.

I have decided now...and I´ll go for the AMD system.

No I know some of you will say...that I´m wasting my money because I wont get THAT much performance improve.
But I have been doing a lot of thinking and reading.

I have been in to AMD earlier...used to run a Xp1800+ on a 8K3A+...@ 1900mhz...and was very happy with that.
For some odd reason it feels like AMD is the thing for me...sure I´m at 3ghz with my intel system now..and it performs nice.

I don´t know how to put it in other words than it just feels better/more fun with AMD. And especially the combo AMD/Epox.

So I´ll go for the first alternative....only thing I can´t decide wich mobo to go for. But thats a whole other story.



Anyways thanks for all help.
__________________
Push It To The Limits
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 02:01 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

AMD uh

Just the rebel in you coming out.

nForce2???
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 03:24 AM
Naughtyboy_2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to Naughtyboy_2000

Quote:
Originally posted by Staz
AMD uh

Just the rebel in you coming out.
...YYeeaahhh...moahahahaha

Quote:
Originally posted by Staz
nForce2???.
Well...yes.....only thing is I hva a hard time decideing witch mobo to go for.
__________________
Push It To The Limits
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 03:54 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

In this thread Uncle Bob talks about his new Chaintek 7NJS. He seems to like it.

There is a review on AMDMB.com and HardOCP

Check out the voltage options

Quote:
From [H]ardOCP

Raising processor and memory frequencies can certainly call for a healthy boost of voltage. Fortunately, Chaintech has given enthusiasts plenty of headroom for this very reason. As seen in the image above, the BIOS allows users to raise the DIMM voltage up to a potentially dangerous 3.2V. Moving to the processor voltage settings, we find that Chaintech has provided a great deal of options here as well. In this case, the user has the option to run as much as 2.15V to the processor, which is well above the stock voltage. For those aiming to get every last drop of performance out of their system, the BIOS allows the AGP voltage to be raised up to 2V.
And check out the cool panel for a 5 1/4 bay in your PC
Attached Thumbnails
Need some advice....plzzzz...!!!!-chaintech.jpg  
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2003, 12:17 PM
Naughtyboy_2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to Naughtyboy_2000

That one looks nice.....but I have decided to go with the flow and get my self an 8RDA+.
__________________
Push It To The Limits
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM advice please sylvershark General Hardware Discussion 27 16th June, 2006 01:28 AM
Need some advice. Please :) Pitch CRASHED! 20 17th April, 2005 05:58 PM
a little advice piccoLEW Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 7th January, 2005 04:47 PM
Need Wi-Fi advice rainman14624 General Hardware Discussion 6 18th August, 2004 03:25 PM
Need a bit of advice CCW General Hardware Discussion 3 17th March, 2003 09:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0