AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th January, 2003, 05:30 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

kvm

don't ever buy on of these the loss of video quality was unreal the entire screen was covered with gost images

any one know of a good kvm???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2003, 04:40 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Im setting this up tonight. I'll let you know what its like.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2003, 05:24 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I have a Belkin OmniCube 4port KVM. I've had no issues with it running at 1280x1024.

One hint: buy decent quality video cables. Poor quality video cables cause lots of image problems!

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2003, 05:47 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

And the length of the VGA cable makes a real difference. The shorter, the better.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 01:33 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

i bought 6' cables I'm really not sure if there good ones or not, the two computer stores that i shop at both had the same brands, "cables unlimited"

so i just put my folding rigs on a spare monitor that i had,I'm actually surprised at just how much you can spend on one of these units i did a little looking around and found several between 300 and 400 ...ouch the one i bought was only 40$
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 02:29 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Diffenitly go with the Belkin OmniCube 4port KVM it's only limitation that I've found is that if you use logitec mouse or track ball you must stay with a box while it re-boots or it won't pick up your drivers.

A minor annoyance compared to it's overwhelming convenience and quality.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 03:08 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

wow this is a slick looking unit it looks like my folding farm is going keep growing, went downtown and bought a new mother board and antec case after work tonight i guess i might just as well invest in something nice .......next month
__________________

Last edited by kat; 21st January, 2003 at 03:11 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 05:36 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
wow this is a slick looking unit it looks like my folding farm is going keep growing, went downtown and bought a new mother board and antec case after work tonight i guess i might just as well invest in something nice .......next month
Shwwuuuueeeet!!
How many giga-hurtzz can you attach to that 8port???


Let's see, Tbred B's averaging 2.4ghz each.... sounds like about 20ghz of AMD folding goodness.... Ya may wanna stick solar panels on your roof to defray the electricity bill. :clown:
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 12:08 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
this is a slick looking unit
If you really want to move into the big boy's toys, the MATRIX2 is towards the mid end. This one only allows two administrators, but also supports PC, Mac and Sun platforms. Put it together with a remote solution (Can run video, mouse and keyboard over 100metres of cat5), and you can have truely silent computing, as they're in another room! If you run out of space on one, just daisy chain another MATRIX2 onto one of the existing ports - that'd get you up to 240 ports worth of KVM. As SteveI puts it, it'd be over half a terrahertz of clock speed.

I use a similar concept where I work. The machines are 3 floors below me, so I don't have to listen to their noise. On the other hand, I can control them from one of two administration stations!

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).

Last edited by Áedán; 21st January, 2003 at 12:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 12:31 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

guess i should have asked a few more questions before i bought somthing, those all in one cables are realy nice, would have made for a much nicer looking rack instead of the spiderweb look that i have now
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 02:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: las vegas-nv-usa
Posts: 213

I use IOGear. Have two of these:
http : //www .iogear.com/products/product.php?Item=GCS84A

Image quality is superb and the cables come with it. $119 at Directron.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0