AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2003, 11:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 56

Is 300w enough?

After my trusted KT133A based mobo died I have gone for an upgrade. My final spec will be:

Abit KX7-333 Mobo
Athlon T-Bird@1.33Ghz, cooled by Zalman Flower Cooler
40Gb Seagate Barracuda IV
Geforce Ti4200 64mb
1 Case Fan
CD Burner, Ye olde PCI 16 Soundblaster and a Network Card

I have a 300W Aopen power supply which is rated at 300W, is this enough to power these components?

Thanks
John
__________________
Asus A7V333A mobo
Athlon 1.33 (133 FSB) (Silenced)
512mg Crucial PC2100 DDR RAM
Inno3d Geforce 4 Ti 4200 (silenced)
40gb Seagate Barracuda IV
300W Aopen PSU (silenced)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2003, 11:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 56

Re: Is 300w enough?

Quote:
Originally posted by slack

I have a 300W Aopen power supply which is rated at 300W
Oops LOL.

I should've also said that I'll be using 512mg of PC2100 RAM
__________________
Asus A7V333A mobo
Athlon 1.33 (133 FSB) (Silenced)
512mg Crucial PC2100 DDR RAM
Inno3d Geforce 4 Ti 4200 (silenced)
40gb Seagate Barracuda IV
300W Aopen PSU (silenced)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2003, 11:17 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I don't know that particular PSU... You need a lot in the 5v line to power a Ti4200. Most people needing more wattage don't realize, it's not the total wattage being stressed, it's usually the 5v line giving out. Getting a brand name high wattage PSU is an easy way to play it safe, but expensive.

Do you have the specs for your PSU?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2003, 11:17 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

My brother runs an ECS K7S5A and XP1600+ on an antec 300W. Its not a problem, so I think you will be ok. His voltages are pretty good.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2003, 11:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 56

Yes, my specs are:

+3.3V -- 14.0A
+5V -- 30.0A
+12V -- 12.0A
+5vsb -- 0.85A
-5V -- 0.3A
-12 -- 1.0A

The model of the PSU is an Aopen FSP300-60GT

Hope this helps

Thanks
John
__________________
Asus A7V333A mobo
Athlon 1.33 (133 FSB) (Silenced)
512mg Crucial PC2100 DDR RAM
Inno3d Geforce 4 Ti 4200 (silenced)
40gb Seagate Barracuda IV
300W Aopen PSU (silenced)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th February, 2003, 01:34 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Can't tell for sure, but the 5v seems a tad on the weak side, and the 3.3v is definitely low compared to other PSU's I've seen.

I doubt you can damage other parts by trying. Try using it in the system after you have upgraded, and if the system seems unstable (especially reboots), keep an eye on your voltage readings. If it falls outside +/- 5%, you'll need something more powerful.

Good luck.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th February, 2003, 11:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

I suggest you get either a 350watt or 400watt PSU. Just to be in the safe side and for future power requirements. I was just reading an article on the new Nvidia Geforce FX vid card and found out that you'll have to have at least a 350watt PSU on your system to ensure stability.

You might wana check out this article on PSUs

http://www6.tomshardware.com/howto/20021021/index.html

__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th February, 2003, 04:45 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Unfortunately, 300W PS's are obsolete for up to date machines. There are a few folks that insist that their XP-2600+ boxes with all the trimmings run fine on a no-name 250W ATX PS.

Never known one of these people! For quality and bang per monetary unit, it's hard to beat a 350W Sparkle. A 400W PS may be a wise investment, new PC's never seem to require less power.

The "shootout" that JayJay's link takes you to is well worth a read.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
300w PSU - help! ojpd General Hardware Discussion 13 6th April, 2006 05:01 PM
6800GT on 300W psu dsio Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 10th October, 2004 02:53 AM
Is Zalman 300W PSU enough for oc 8RDA+? xeqt EPoX MotherBoards 2 18th January, 2003 09:04 PM
is 300w enough? Rollydog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 9th May, 2002 06:13 PM
Antec 300W ps running whole SYSTEM!!! The Spyder General Hardware Discussion 5 10th April, 2002 05:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0