AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2003, 06:31 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

DvD on Computer = slow

I put the dvd on my Hardrive and when i try to play it it runs real slow, i had this problem with my dvd player, but i fixed it. so any one got any ideas?
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2003, 08:18 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

We need some more details bud. Do you have the DVD on aseparate IDE chanel from the hard drive?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2003, 11:27 PM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

its on the same channel as my cd rom ( ide2) but thats not the pointt the dvd is on my hd and its playin slow
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2003, 02:43 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Are you saying that you ripped to .vob files to your HDD and playback is slow.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2003, 02:57 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Since it happened on the DVDrom, then on the HDD... my first guess is you have an issue with your DVD software, codec, or vid card.

Have you checked device manager for any conflicts?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2003, 03:20 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

but with the dvd rom, i fixed it, it was on 4 x dvd playing so i changed it up to 16 x so now that works.
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply

Last edited by BMan; 11th February, 2003 at 07:44 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2003, 03:43 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I am just not understanding what your problem is.

If you ripped the .vob files from a DVD And put them on you HDD. Then tried to view the movie and are having problems then give us a better discription.

What program are you useing to view the movie? Are you useing a front end? If so then don't. What do you mean by slow play back? Is it dropping frames or does it freeze then restart then freeze then restart.

It could very well be a bad DVD drive. My Creative Labs DVD drive did the later of those problems and even after putting the vob files on the HDD it still happened. After replaceing the drive with a pioneer it works perfect. If it is dropping frams try uninstalling and reinstalling your DVD playback software.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.

Last edited by Staz; 11th February, 2003 at 04:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2003, 07:46 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

ok how its going slow is ill here the music and stuff but like when you listen to it it like stops every sec then goes back on then does it again, and i dont even see a screen tell like 15 minutes in, and even then its really slow its like watching a webcam on yahoo, really slow. and the dvd plays fine on the dvd player.
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2003, 04:42 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

It actually sounds like a bad drive that corrupted the info as it was pulled from the rom. But I would try uninstalling and reinstalling my DVD software first.

What DVD software are you useing?

Also if you are useing a front end for your DVD software then don't. If you are useing Windows Media Player then try a different player. WinDVD works good, so does PowerDVD. I have a Radeon video card and it just so happens that ATi Player works best.

Try uninstalling your current software and reinstalling it. Do Not use the software that comes with a DVD movie to actually watch your movie. Only use that software to access the DVDrom only features. Also next time you rip a DVD always always always defrag first, as in imeadiately before.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2003, 06:12 PM
CeleryMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Columbia, SC, along with my weenie dawg. :) ^
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to CeleryMan Send a message via Yahoo to CeleryMan

If you rip DVDs, playing the raw .VOB information back regardless of what program you use will prove pointless. You have to compress the movie down into a DiVX format or whatever codec you choose (DiVX is recommended for the quality/filesize ratio). The fact of the matter is that .VOB uncompressed DVD video is too raw for the computer to handle. Not even the DVD codec can handle it. On a DVD it works fine because of the multiples of the drive speed (16x), but on your hard drive, it isnt responsive enough because your hard drive is doing other things beside pumping raw uncompressed video to your CPU (swapfile, virtual memory, windows being a pig...). So if you are going to playback a ripped DVD, then use compression software to do it.
__________________
Tear on your undesirable cry, the times that we've tried, and ended up making things worse than they were before, ever could have been or thought to be. Im moving on without you. Im moving on without my light, and no, I won't cry tonight..... - OBA
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2003, 08:57 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

ok..... i have the divx software but i dont know how to use it
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Built New Computer. Now Internet is Slow marcofra2000 CRASHED! 13 5th August, 2004 05:15 PM
Why is my computer slow?!? BigRed Random Nonsense! 10 28th April, 2003 06:19 AM
stanford getting slow? REALLY slow? stigweed ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 3 24th January, 2003 08:07 PM
Slow bootup / slow tray load once in windows OverDose EPoX MotherBoards 9 24th January, 2003 02:22 AM
How slow is the computer at you work! Ikester7579 Random Nonsense! 13 13th September, 2002 05:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0