AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2003, 03:04 PM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

Is this good memory?

Thinking of getting some of the following memory to use on my 8k3a+ alongside some corsair xms 3000 256mb. Should i have any probs and how fast will this memory go?

TWINMOS PC3200 512MB DDR400 CL2.5 OEM

Anyone have any experience with this memory, im just looking for 166fsb with cas2 really, but dont wanna pay corsair prices
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2003, 03:25 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Try and get the twinmos/winbond 3200 not just the twinmos stuff.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2003, 03:28 PM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

Whats the end difference? is it higher quality/ more overclockerble/ more stable?
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2003, 02:25 AM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

bump, has anyone any experience with this ram, with or without winbond chips??
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2003, 11:11 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

My winbond chips do 225 fsb 5,2,2,2 timings on 8rda+

The twinmos/twinmos stuff might not be as good.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2003, 05:04 PM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

Cool, thanks for reply Holst, like i said im looking for 166mhz and cas2 in 512mb with a little oc headroom and the right price, which this twinmos stuff seems to be
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2003, 12:02 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I have a similar module, with Winbond chips, and it works at DDR333 CAS 2 4-2-2 pn nForce2 w/o any problems, stock voltage and all.
Works even at DDR400 CAS 2 5-2-2 with 2.63V, and even at DDR433 same timmings but 2.77V.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2003, 05:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 12

Strange thing to say, I think. I've had modules from Crucial, Nanya, Kingston, Mosel and more (never Corsair or Mushkin - way too expensive for little or no increase in perceived performance), but my present TwinMOS PC2700 CAS2.5 (no Winbond) are by FAR the best overclockers I've owned. Sadly I've never had the chance to test them fully because my MB gives up way before the CPU and RAM, but both 512MB modules will do 384MHz 2-5-2-2 at stock voltage, while being rated at 3-5-3-3 at 333MHz - which is pretty good in my book. Oh, and these modules were bought 3 months apart, so they're not from a single, particularly good batch either.

Agrippa
__________________
Veni, vidi, volo in domum redire...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2003, 07:05 PM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

yup, this aint bad memory, running 400ddr fastest timings on this 8k3a+ (sorry, cant remember the numbers) and this aint even the winbond stuff, ill try some uber high fsb later, i know what memory im buying from now on....
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is good low cost o/c DDR 1GB memory? TrevorS AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 8th December, 2006 11:21 PM
good memory for low price assman2003 General Hardware Discussion 13 3rd August, 2004 04:43 PM
Good memory for 8RDA3+ ? Kerpo EPoX MotherBoards 6 4th November, 2003 03:09 PM
Looking for memory and good online retailers .... keistler Random Nonsense! 6 24th June, 2002 07:38 AM
Memory Prices (Good News!) Superman Random Nonsense! 8 10th April, 2002 12:06 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0