AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2003, 05:59 PM
CCW's Avatar
CCW CCW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 345

Need a bit of advice

Hi,

I think I will order a new grahics card later: just wondered what one! I have £200 to spend. I was thinking of the Abit T14200 OTES Card (£130) my only concern about thsi card is that it doesnt support DirectX 9.0 which will be used for most games this year. Its specs are 275/550, 128MB

however a Radeon9500Pro is 150 275/540 but does suppoort DirectX 9, its memory is 128 bit, i can afford a 9700 non pro but the only difference is the price (£180) and a 256bit memory bus, is the double amount of bits in memory bus make a big difference, enough to justify the extra cost?

Thanks for nay help you can give me,

Craig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2003, 06:32 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

You can overclock most 4200 to the 4600 range, and its still a good card for the price. However, its not really cutting edge anymore.

You may want to look into the 9700 non pro, if you can't afford the 9700 pro. I would say its a fair bit better than the 9500 pro.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2003, 06:36 PM
CCW's Avatar
CCW CCW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 345

thanks Allan, was thinging the 9700 non pro would be right, do you know how much of a difference the amount of bits in the memory bus makes please?

Thanks,
Craig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2003, 09:45 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

If I remember right, the 128-bit wide bus of the upper crust Radeon's makes a noticeable difference. Seems that the GF FX Vidcards are crippled in comparison to the Radeon 9500's/9700's, because of their 64-bit wide memory(?) bus.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM advice please sylvershark General Hardware Discussion 27 16th June, 2006 01:28 AM
I need your advice ! chrisbard Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 142 31st August, 2005 08:06 PM
Need some advice. Please :) Pitch CRASHED! 20 17th April, 2005 05:58 PM
a little advice piccoLEW Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 7th January, 2005 04:47 PM
Need Wi-Fi advice rainman14624 General Hardware Discussion 6 18th August, 2004 03:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0