AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2003, 12:36 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Is my PSU no good?

I have a Q Tec 400w PSU which is about one month old.

Sandra reports the -12v line as -7v. See screen shot.

Is this PSU no good, faulty or what? Please help.
Attached Thumbnails
Is my PSU no good?-voltages.jpg  
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2003, 03:08 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

NO, sandra is just reading that line wrong.
If your system is stable, don't worry about it.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2003, 03:08 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Try motherboard monitor as well, see if it reports the same as Sandra...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2003, 04:35 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I noticed your 12v lines seem to be a little low. Do you use alot of fans and HD's?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2003, 04:53 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Thanks for your responses!

I get the same results with Motherboard Monitor.

There're 2xHDD, 1xCD, and 1xCPU fan, 1xCase Fan plugged into MB and 2 more fans plugged in a molex connector.

I have just upgraded this PC and I have two problems:

1) 3d games like MOHAA crash after 5 to 15 mins of play.

2) My monitor which is a few months old is starting to flicker, this is nothing to do with refresh rates. The hue changes between blue and red.

I am sure all drivers are installed correctly.

The Northbridge heat sink feels very hot.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2003, 05:26 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

If I recall correctly, the 8RGA draws most of it power from the 12v line... including vcore.

As such, your 12v line is a bit low. It explains why the 5v looks so good. If you are not running a raid array, try disabling as many 12v devices as possible. See if that improves your results, and crashes.. HDD's CDROMs and fans all use 12v. Keep your case open so that heat isn't a problem. and see if that helps the 12v readings.

Your monitor problem seems a bit more serious. If it is always off, make sure it is connected to the video properly. If it is occassional, a driver update may be in order.... if that doesn't help, it is possible you have a bad monitor.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2003, 07:49 PM
refermadness's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 120

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
Your monitor problem seems a bit more serious. If it is always off, make sure it is connected to the video properly. If it is occassional, a driver update may be in order.... if that doesn't help, it is possible you have a bad monitor.
Or if you have the monitor in a cubby hole it might be overheating as well.

As for the 3d games crashing and with the NB being hot.

What are you running in settings. FSB speed and VDD voltage?

You might have to up the VDD voltage to make it stable in 3d games. Also, check and make sure the NB heatsink if frimly attached and either add a 40 - 60mm fan to the stock NB or replace the stock HS with a crystal orb or a Zalman NB hs and a modded fan.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2003, 08:09 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I have just reinstalled XP. This has cured the problems with the monitor, which is good. The image has been stable for a good while now.

Games do still crash though.

Within the BIOS the VDD is currently set to 1.6v, the default I believe. FSB is set to 166Mhz as is the memory.

Should I try increasing VDD to 1.7v?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2003, 09:00 PM
refermadness's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 120

Try raising the VDD voltage to 1.7 and see if it is stable. If not, it might be a possible heat issue then. Try cooling the NB then and see if that helps in 3d games.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 12:40 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Changed VDD to 1.8v and still no joy.

Dropped the FSB to 133, instead of 166. This has cured the problem of games crashing.

Although the FSB speed is lower, the games still run at smooth speed with most graphics options set to high, etc.

I just happy that everything is stable now!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 12:46 AM
refermadness's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 120

What timings and voltage are you running on your memory?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 04:23 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Looks like you fixed it. I was going to ask what your case temps look like.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 06:29 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by danrok
Changed VDD to 1.8v and still no joy.

Dropped the FSB to 133, instead of 166. This has cured the problem of games crashing.
....
Download memtest from aoafiles. I strongly suggest you test your memory to make sure it is working properly. If you are having problems running 166, often the memory is the culprit. most sticks out on the market labeled PC2700 cannot run fast timings even at 166. I think this may be a separate issue from your voltage readings.

In fact, every time you change memory timings or increase FSB, I think it is a good idea to run memtest... I learned the hard way.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How good is your AV? Áedán Data Security 17 14th April, 2006 02:28 AM
Not good! thehandler CRASHED! 7 14th January, 2004 12:00 AM
A good vocabulary is a good thing. mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 16th February, 2003 11:19 PM
A good laugh at a Misfortune of a good friend! The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 22nd March, 2002 01:05 AM
Good Day, Good Night, and if I don't see you, Good Evening Pinky Random Nonsense! 5 2nd November, 2001 10:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0