AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 02:54 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

Video Capture Programs

Im currently using Microsoft Vidcap... I'm noticing that the picture i get looks....umm interlaced would be the best way to describe it. But it only happens when something Fast happens on the screen. Im thinking it COULD be because im using A/V inputs(red, white & yellow) and im considering buying S-Video cables for my Xbox(thats what im using my Video in for) but before i spend 40$ i need to know, is it just the assy picture quality caused by a/v or is it a crappy program, and if its the prog could someone reccomend a good prog for capture


Idealy i'd like something where i could preview the video for playing console games(i.e. vidcap) and for NOT *wink wink* bootlegging DVDs off my Xbox
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 03:08 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I regularly rip video through my firewire port... sorry to say, I still haven't been able to figure out how to avoid that effect with fast motion... really sucks... I've tried demo versions of every program there is, and it still shows up.. Personally, I think it is a limitation of current technology.... or my ignorance. if you figure it out, please share with me. I've got about a dozen DV tape home movies I'd love to re-rip.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 03:29 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

I think its coz of the a/v imput and not S-Video but whatever.


My next question is how do i use TV-Out ? I have a TON of duckman(funniest.....show....EVAR) episodes i'd liek to see on the bigger screen.
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 10:55 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Err, they look interlaced, because they are! Standard TV transmission/Video/DVD/miniDV are interlaced. Only progressive scan TV/DVD are non-interlaced.

Any analog video capture card will capture in interlaced - that's because that's all analog currently supports. For digital connections (such as firewire), the source material needs to be in progressive scan mode as well.

SteveI - check to see if your camcorder can record processive. If not, then you're stuck with interlace.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 11:01 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by CaesaR
I think its coz of the a/v imput and not S-Video but whatever.

My next question is how do i use TV-Out ? I have a TON of duckman(funniest.....show....EVAR) episodes i'd liek to see on the bigger screen.
Composite and S-Video are both interlaced. Basically, just about every consumer analog format is interlaced.

TV-Out? Typically, this is set in the drivers. You need to have the output device actually connected to the card before you can set it up. If you're playing stuff like video, you may well be able to set the second monitor to display the video stream fullscreen.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 04:17 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Áedán
...SteveI - check to see if your camcorder can record processive. If not, then you're stuck with interlace.

Áedán
THanks Aedan,
I have a bad feeling my corder won't have the feature... but I'll check tonight. I've already gone through the settings at least a dozen times trying to learn how to best use it. Honestly, I've been a bit dissapointed with the quality... except under the best lighting conditions, the picture looks a bit grainy or worse. Only when viewing on the lcd, does the picture look good.

It's a sony TRV 17.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 08:41 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Hmm.. The TRV17 is supposed to have a progressive shutter system. From what I understand, this is not the same as progressive scan. Apparently camcorder manufacturers had problems with people not understanding what progressive scan was. Hence, they left it as a feature on the higher end camcorders.

One page that seems to be pretty good in this area (explains interlace, how deinterlacing can be achieved etc) is 100fps. Take a look, as you might be able to do something with your interlaced video. On the other hand, if it's only going to be shown on a TV, you don't need to worry about deinterlacing.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 08:58 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Thanks again Aedan,
I'll have to take another look at that link when I have time.
With my sony... I used to rip to divx and save to CDs for viewing on my PC's.... But now, I've invested in a sony DVD burner.

I tried calling sony's tech support, and asked what was wrong with my DVD burner when I burn "fast action".... Their response was "it's the DV camcorder's fault" ... So I told them the model, and of course it was something else's fault. ... Well, I gave up hope.. Seems like while I can't correct it completely, the link will be very useful in obtaining information, and maybe improving the picture a bit.

Edit: CaesaR, sorry for hijacking your thread.. but Aedan's link may help you with your videos too.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 1st April, 2003 at 09:00 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 10:41 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Programs have to be very careful to keep the field order correct. One or two capture cards have been known for getting to the order wrong. When you play back video that's had it's even and odd fields swapped, it looks disturbingly odd.

Can you tell I've had a few negative experiences here?

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2003, 12:26 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

Áedán,
Would it be worth the 40$ to get a S-Video hookup for my Xbox..............i can only use it on my comp becoz my TV dosnt have Svideo........ but QUALITY wise is it worth it.


Gimmie a sec and i'll EDIT in a screenshot
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2003, 02:09 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Áedán - Have you messed with TV Tuners at all? I need to find proper drivers and a runtime program for mine that works under WinXP..

CaesaR - I think that the SVideo is worth it. I use it for my PS2 on my Sony Wega TV, and on my TV Tuner card (SVideo in port).. Looks better then Yellow video, IMO
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2003, 03:32 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

S-Video will give you a clearer picture with less colour smearing. However, if your problem is the interlace, S-Video won't help at all. I'll knock up an SVideo lead for my GC later and try and take some screenshots both ways.

Personally, I prefer RGB, but it's hard to find a video capture card that works in RGB.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2003, 03:36 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by SiGmA_X
Áedán - Have you messed with TV Tuners at all? I need to find proper drivers and a runtime program for mine that works under WinXP..
I've not done that much with TV Tuners. It does depend on what chip and what tuner the manufacturer used. If you can find that info out, then you're on the way.

As far as Composite, S-Video and RGB goes, the preference is in that order. Of course, being European, my TV has a SCART socket that'll accept all three.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 06:52 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The two comparison images, Composite Vs SVideo can be found here:

http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/showt...&postid=170362

This illustrates the difference between the quality of Composite and the quality of SVideo.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Capture nki69c Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 15th September, 2004 09:37 PM
Video Capture Card CooledByWater Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 13th August, 2003 09:00 AM
Help ID'ing and driver-ing video capture card! megabyte405 General Hardware Discussion 4 7th April, 2003 09:48 AM
New video capture problem mrpcman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 28th March, 2002 10:42 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0