AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 02:47 PM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

Is This Proc Compatible ???

dod is selling these two XP's
1- AGOIA '4' £30
1- AGKGA £25

#1 which one is the better deal (i have no clue) ?
#2 would one of these be compatible with my ASUS A7V?


Thanks in advance

-Pat

EDIT: i've flipped through the manual and it dosnt say anything about the MAX speed it can handle.
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)

Last edited by CaesaR; 3rd April, 2003 at 02:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 03:48 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The AGOIA will likely overclock much better... if I was interested, I'd pay a few bucks more for the better chip.

Both cpus are pally's so they will work... however, you will likely be limited in the fsb to no more than 110mhz (KT133 limitation)... if unlocked, you might get up close to stock speed with higher multipliers.

I was able to run morgans on an old A7V, so I think yours could handle the pally. I would check the websites for updates... There are many variations of the A7V, some may be more capable than others... Mine was the raid version.

Based on your mobo, if the lesser cpu is unlocked, and you are prepared to run at 12.5 x 100, it seems like a cheap upgrade.

EDIT: in this case, it's not the max speed you should worry about... it will be in the 1250 -1375 range. It is compatibility with the core. Some old KT133's can NOT deal with pally's and morgans... Remember, they were designed for Tbirds and spitfires. (I've run into that problem too, with a different KT133 board.)
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 3rd April, 2003 at 03:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 03:57 PM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

Heres the cover of my manual.....
EDIT: 30.00 GBP
United Kingdom Pounds = 69.4219 CAD
Canada Dollars

not a bad price
Attached Thumbnails
Is This Proc Compatible ???-asusbook.jpg  
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 10:01 PM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

Ok, before we get started;
"The AGOIA will likely overclock much better... if I was interested, I'd pay a few bucks more for the better chip.

Both cpus are pally's so they will work... however, you will likely be limited in the fsb to no more than 110mhz (KT133 limitation)... if unlocked, you might get up close to stock speed with higher multipliers.

I was able to run morgans on an old A7V, so I think yours could handle the pally. I would check the websites for updates... There are many variations of the A7V, some may be more capable than others... Mine was the raid version.

Based on your mobo, if the lesser cpu is unlocked, and you are prepared to run at 12.5 x 100, it seems like a cheap upgrade.

EDIT: in this case, it's not the max speed you should worry about... it will be in the 1250 -1375 range. It is compatibility with the core. Some old KT133's can NOT deal with pally's and morgans... Remember, they were designed for Tbirds and spitfires. (I've run into that problem too, with a different KT133 board.)"


I sort of understand this.....kinda. could you plz just dumb these down for me.

"Both cpus are pally's so they will work... however, you will likely be limited in the fsb to no more than 110mhz (KT133 limitation)... if unlocked, you might get up close to stock speed with higher multipliers."

"Based on your mobo, if the lesser cpu is unlocked, and you are prepared to run at 12.5 x 100, it seems like a cheap upgrade."
^^^ 12.5x100 = 1250Mhz right ? but isnt the XP1600 clock @1400MHz.


Sorry if i make no sence but i dont fully understand what im talking about


Cheers!

:beer:

-Pat
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 11:01 PM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

Uh-Oh......

on the ASUS site it says it can only go up to 1Ghz

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=A7V&langs=01#

"The A7V is based on VIA KT133 chipset in ATX form factor for the latest support in AMD® Thunderbird™ / Duron™ 550MHz ~ 1GHz processors"
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 11:09 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by CaesaR
Uh-Oh......

on the ASUS site it says it can only go up to 1Ghz

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=A7V&langs=01#

"The A7V is based on VIA KT133 chipset in ATX form factor for the latest support in AMD® Thunderbird™ / Duron™ 550MHz ~ 1GHz processors"
Don't worry, that doesn't mean anything... It's marketing. You need to identify your particular mobo.. the exact name and version number. Then find a technical doc for your exact model, and look for CPU compatibility. The key is "can it handle palaminios?" I think it should, but I am not positive.

Your mobo uses dipswitches for multipliers... you can manually set it to 12.5 which is the highest, but only if the CPU is unlocked. Next, your max FSB will be limited. You can't run 133, it was only meant to run 100. So if it works, it will have to work at a lower speed. If the CPU is locked, then you will be stuck with 1050mhz.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 11:32 PM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

"Your mobo uses dipswitches for multipliers... you can manually set it to 12.5 which is the highest, but only if the CPU is unlocked. Next, your max FSB will be limited. You can't run 133, it was only meant to run 100. So if it works, it will have to work at a lower speed. If the CPU is locked, then you will be stuck with 1050mhz."


How would i unlock the CPU...is that the L2 L4 thing ???

So are you saying i WONT get my full 1400MHz that its supposed to be at ???
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 05:11 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

SiSoftware Sandra

Processor(s)
Model : AMD Athlon(tm) Processor
Co-Processor (FPU) : Built-in
Speed : 908MHz
Model Number : 908 (estimated)
Performance Rating : PR1208 (estimated)
Type : Standard
Multiplier : 9x
Generation : 7th (7x86)
Model Information : Athlon M4 (Thunderbird) 650-1.4G 1.7-1.8V
Revision/Stepping : 4 / 2 (0)
Stepping Mask : A4..A8

Caches
Internal Data Cache : 64kB synchronous write-back (2-way, 64 byte line size)
Internal Code Cache : 64kB synchronous write-back (2-way, 64 byte line size)
L2 On-board Cache : 256kB ECC synchronous write-back (16-way, 64 byte line size)
L2 Cache Multiplier : 1/1x (equiv. 908MHz)

Host Interface
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 101MHz (202MHz data rate)

**************************************
Mainboard Upgradeability
Socket/Slot : SOCKET A
Upgrade Interface : Other
Supported Speed(s) : 1.80GHz (or more)
Supported Voltage(s) : 1.7V
**************************************


WOOT....that means the XP will work...right ?

Environment Monitor 1
Model : Asus AS99127F SMB
Version : 3.01
Mainboard Specific Support : No

Processor Sensors
CPU Temperature : 52.0°C / 125.6°F
Auto Fan Speed Control : No
CPU Fan Speed : 7849rpm
CPU Core Voltage : 1.84V

Features
Co-Processor (FPU) Built-in : Yes
Virtual Mode Extensions : Yes
Debugging Extension : Yes
Page Size Extension : Yes
Time Stamp Counter : Yes
Model Specific Registers : Yes
Physical Address Extension : Yes
Machine Check Exception : Yes
Compare & Exchange Instruction : Yes
Local APIC Built-in : No
Fast System Call : Yes
Memory Type Range Registers : Yes
Page Global Enable : Yes
Machine Check Architecture : Yes
Conditional Move Instruction : Yes
Page Attribute Table : Yes
36-bit Page Size Extension : Yes
Unique Serial Number : No
Cache Line Flush Support : No
Debug Trace & EMON Store : No
ACPI Technology : No
MMX Technology : Yes
Fast Float Save & Restore : Yes
SSE Technology : No
SSE2 Technology : No
Self Snoop : No
Hyper-Threading Technology : No
Auto Clock Control : No
IA-64 Technology : No
DAZ Support : No

Extended Features
Extended Fast System Call : Yes
Extended AMD MMX Technology : Yes
3DNow! Technology : Yes
Extended 3DNow! Technology : Yes
MP Capability : No
AA-64 Technology : No

Advanced Settings
TLB Cacheable : Yes
System Ack Limit : 4 req(s)
System Victim Limit : 0 req(s)
Extended MTRR Types : Yes
I/O Type Range Registers : Yes
Top of Memory : 18000000 (384MB)

Machine Check Architecture Settings
No. Reporting Banks : 4 bank(s)
Exception Reporting Control Support : Yes

Performance Tips
Tip T210 : Mainboard supports faster CPUs, so the CPU can be upgraded when needed.
Notice N224 : SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
Tip T2 : For more information about tips, press F1 and scroll to the Tips section.
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 05:22 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Keep in mind your mobo only has a 1/3 divider... You will not be able to run much higher than 100 fsb... In the end, the mobo has to 1) support the palamino core, 2) have high enough multipliers to get your total speed.

AFAIK, the dipswitches only support a max of 12.5x. In theory, you need to cut a bridge on the cpu to get at higher multipliers. (I wouldn't recommend this unless you are very confident).

Lastly, to unlock, you have to close all L1 bridges.. Others have done this... I've tried with partial success. You have to fill the pits and then close the bridges.

Unfortunately, if you are looking for an easy upgrade, I would recommend getting an inexpensive KT333 mobo. This will get you much more performance, and allow you to use almost any CPU on the market today. Your AV7 is hitting the limits of upgradability.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 05:31 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

Hmm.......so lemmie get this straight


FSB x Multiplier = Proc speed ???


and as for upgrading the mobo.......im not getting many hours at work(im a student too) so im looking for a 2nd job but until then i dont have the $$$

secondly

ASUS A7V333 VIA KT333, ATA-133, USB 2.0, audio more info $128
ASUS A7V333 VIA KT333, ATA-133 RAID, USB 2.0, audio more info $158
ASUS A7V333-X VIA KT333, DDR333 more info $122

http://www.canadacomputers.com/motherboards.html


All prices in CDN$
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 05:55 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by CaesaR
...FSB x Multiplier = Proc speed ???
...
Yes exactly,
Your mobo's max fsb is 100 (maybe 110 if you are lucky).

So, the highest multiplier you can reach will determine your max CPU speed. Let's assume your mobo can handle the pally core (probable)... On an 1600+, the actual speed is 133 x 10.5 = 1400mhz.

If you used this CPU, you could only run at 100 x 10.5 = 1050.

Next, if you chose to unlock the CPU (some work involved), you could then use the dip switches on board to run up to 12.5x. This would yield 100 x 12.5 = 1250. However, it is unlikely that you will be able to run much faster than that. While the CPu can handle it, your mobo is limited in its capabilites. The choice is yours... I understand about expenses but in this case, it seems your mobo is going to be the limiting factor. Without too much work, you are looking at about 150 - 200 mhz upgrade + SSE, and another 200mhz if you go through the trouble of unlocking.

(I've gotta hit the sack... it's been a long day. Good night, and good luck.)
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2003, 02:35 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Alas I do not believe the KT133 chipset will suport the pally.

I know it won't "officially" suport the pally because of the lack of 133FSB suport.

Your MoBo is starting to lag behind the times. It would be a much better upgrade ot get a new (or used) mobo first. You should be able to pick up on second hand for a good price. Just remember that if you get a chipset newer than a KT133A you will most likely also have to purchase new ram (DDRr ram).

You may be able to find a second hand ECS K7S5A (an SiS735 chipset mobo that suports both SDRAM and DDR ram) for fairly cheap. Heck they were only slightly above $50 US brand new.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2003, 11:42 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

It might run, but it wont run very well.

It may be very unstable and messy even at 100fsb (you wont OC much past 108 on that chipset.

You will have to get a new motherboard and probably ra as well.
That means spending allot more ££££
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI compatible. madcatmk3 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 27th September, 2005 02:21 PM
what is the fastest proc the epox 8rda+ can handle? waylman EPoX MotherBoards 4 3rd February, 2005 09:20 PM
New Proc for 8KHA+ - Please Help Wikey EPoX MotherBoards 6 27th August, 2004 12:40 PM
AthlonXP-compatible cooler compatible with Athlon(tm)? gratznic Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 28th April, 2004 02:55 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0