AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 05:09 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

What's the best RAM for this system?

I am going to be purchasing an nForce2 MoBo and AthlonXP CPU. I want to know what is the best ram to use.

I had planned on useing a 512mb stick of Corsair XMS3500 C2. However, I have been ot of the techno geek loop for several weeks now.

I know people are going to tell me to use 2 stick in order to gain the advantages of the dual DDR controller. But in benchmarks this only seems to give a small performance boost and I will be looking for a maximum FSB (which may be easier to achieve with 1 stick of ram).

So what is currently the best single stick of 512 RAM that I can purchase?
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 06:02 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

This may depend on the brand and model of the mainboard. As a general rule, Samsung and Crucial DDR work on most motherboards.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 08:47 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

I use samsung. The price of their PC2700 has halved recently (in U.K at least) and you can get a seriously good overclock out of them.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 09:54 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I know that Holst is very happy with his Winbond/Twinmos sticks...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2003, 10:51 PM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

I'm an OCZ Technology user, if you visit my website; http://mysite.verizon.net/vze4y8k9/  there's screenshots of my overclock of OCZ's early PC3200, that was using a Epox 8K9A. And (if the my edited version is on yet, my ISP has been troubled) on the second page is some spec's using OCZ EL-PC3700 in Dual DDR mode on my 8RDA. There's much more then a "small" difference between Dual DDR and , memory bus. Dual DDR is 128-bit prima facie. And the excerpt below from OCPrices DDR round-up is but one reason why. It uses the least amount of VDDR of any memory I've used including Corsair, Twinmos, Kingston, Kingmax, and Samsung. If I were to chose an overclocker's memory OCZ would be my choice with Corsair second, and I do respect everyone's opinion, because just as CPU's go through phases where production steppings are much better then average, so does memory. Certain steppings of Samsung were used in early OCZ to the best of my knowledge, as it was used in many a manufacturer's high-performance memory lines. High performance memory manufactuers who do not manufacture in-house (which is about 95%) simply search for the best steppings, at the least expensive price point. Here's some link's for which for comparison (for simplicity's sake I linked you to the conclusion pages): http://www.hexus.net/review.php?review=492&page=7 and http://www.gamingin3d.com/reviews/ocz_ddr/ and in reference to the clip below; http://www.ocprices.com/index.php?re...action=reviews

 
Attached Thumbnails
What's the best RAM for this system?-ocz.gif  
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W


Last edited by Liquid3D; 19th April, 2003 at 04:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New System bhdeath11 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 30 12th July, 2005 06:07 PM
New system, what do you think? Freezerburn AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 18th November, 2004 10:18 PM
what ram would u get if u had my system _MID_Viking AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 7th May, 2004 07:09 AM
My new system is down! FerrariF50 CRASHED! 6 6th March, 2003 07:16 PM
New system martin AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 15th March, 2002 06:51 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0