AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2003, 08:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Plymouth, UK
Posts: 3
Send a message via MSN to neo149 Send a message via Yahoo to neo149

Unhappy suffering data corruption on 200gb drive when drive is 110gb full

I have a Western Digital Cavier 200GB hard drive, which seemed to work fine until now. When the drive gets to 110gb full, the data on it (mainly movies and large files) starts getting corrupted.

I am running Windows XP Pro, on an Epox 8K5A3+ Mobo, with an AMD Athlon XP 1800+, and 1GB DDR RAM. The motherboard has two onboard RAID controllers (Highpoint 374), which the 200gb drive is running from.

This is the URL for the spec of my mobo... http://www.epox.org/products/mainboards/8k5a3plus/

I have tried flashing my BIOS, and althought the BIOS recognises the drive as a 200gb drive (i have changed it to the primary slave for the time being for testing reasons...), when I run the Western Digital testing tools in Windows, it recognises the drive as a 134gb drive (although if you right click on the drive and select properties, Windows reckons the drive is 200gb, or 186gb formatted).

Any help would be appreciated
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2003, 04:23 AM
CCW's Avatar
CCW CCW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 345

I have no idea why this is happening, unless the hdd is just working slow which is why you think its corrupted. I can explain however why it would say 134gb. This is because its considered a large drive and 134GBs was the limit however this limit has gone for newer drives.

Craig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2003, 10:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Plymouth, UK
Posts: 3
Send a message via MSN to neo149 Send a message via Yahoo to neo149

I've actually had a bit of luck with this problem now and taken a step forward...

I changed the 200gb to my primary master, and after flashing my BIOS to the latest version (dated 10/25/02), I managed to fill the 200gb drive to 153gb without suffering data corruption. However, when I put the hdd back onto my RAID controller, about 16gb of data got 'corrupted' again, (leaving me with 137gb of data that was uncorrupt). If I switch back to primary master on my mobo, the data is ok again; going back to RAID 'corrupts' it again.

Flashing the BIOS also updated the RAID controller to version 1.22 (from 1.21), and the driver version I'm using in Windows XP Pro is 1.22.8.12 (previously 1.21)

Any ideas...?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2003, 11:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Plymouth, UK
Posts: 3
Send a message via MSN to neo149 Send a message via Yahoo to neo149

Aha!

I've just upgraded my Windows drivers to ver 1.23.0.0, and that seems to have done the trick
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2003, 03:18 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Glad to see you got it fixed. I was going to ask what your FSB was set too.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 11:14 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Just to let you know i've had a similar problem with mine (got two of them). i was running it off a hpt370 controller and it did the same thing on both drives really although one was slow, and the other was slow and corrupt.
I had an interim fix of creating 3x 60GB partitions and they were allrite then. I've now got one of them in my new puter, but the other died whilst i was installing an os on it for a 3rd puter, its still sitting on my shelf waiting tobe rma'd

K
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Hard Drive Data Recovery Jen CRASHED! 16 18th May, 2016 01:58 AM
200GB IDE drive and 4G4A+ giusman EPoX MotherBoards 2 23rd March, 2003 09:58 AM
200fsb=hard drive corruption?8k3a+ doctoromeo CRASHED! 7 5th December, 2002 05:48 AM
Hard Drive Data Manipulation Claudius General Hardware Discussion 4 9th August, 2002 07:48 PM
FSB & Hard Drive Corruption dmdstar EPoX MotherBoards 16 3rd April, 2002 08:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0