AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 01:15 AM
Betty's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Port Alberni, B.C., Canada
Posts: 3,668
Send a message via ICQ to Betty Send a message via MSN to Betty

Question Quick Question...need quick answer...

I'm helping my sister in law with her computer....she's got a gateway...p4 1.5 gig, no clue what motherboard....but, I installed a stick of 128mb ram, it's not detecting it...do I need to enable it in the bios? and how the heck do I get to the bios?? I've tried f8, del, and ah..can't remember what else...all to no avail....help!!
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming... Boy, What a ride!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 01:21 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Not sure on memory dealie, as for bios access I suggest you try the "F1", "F2" or "Esc" keys. Or just hold down any key until you get a keyboard error and then a mini menu should tell you which key to press to enter bios and correct the error. OR email Gateway for an answer (mind you that won't be quick, but the odds are 50/50 they'll actually be able to help you).

Hope one of those helps.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 01:42 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

the "insert" key will sometimes work as well, Are you glad we have standardization!?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 01:55 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

If it's rdram, don't they have to be installed in pairs or some sort of dummy thingy to match it into a pair? Sorry, I don't think I make sense.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 02:17 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

For BIOS, I've seen Alt+F1 and Alt+F8. Also, try Alt+Delete...

Heck try Alt+everything. Whenever I deal with proprietary mbs, it always ends up Alt + "sumthin funky"
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 21st December, 2001 at 02:43 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 04:34 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

If its gateway, I'm pretty sure they'll give you no more than SDRAM, but check what kind it is anyway...

There is a chance of the memory bank being disabled in bios so I guess you can continue trying getting into it.

and if you can, at least please give us the model of the computer, so we can look it up on their site.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 05:00 AM
Betty's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Port Alberni, B.C., Canada
Posts: 3,668
Send a message via ICQ to Betty Send a message via MSN to Betty

it was f1
ram simply will not be recognized...Glen is going over there to take a look at it...I don't have too much experience screwing with bios, so, I'd rather not, because, it's not very obvious to me what needs to be done....I don't mind screwing with my own, I've had Glen walk me through it several times....
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming... Boy, What a ride!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question. Staz OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 13th February, 2003 05:28 AM
Quick answer plz! Pieros EPoX MotherBoards 2 30th January, 2003 05:49 PM
Need QUICK answer to p4 problem BigRed Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 11th December, 2002 07:00 PM
Quick question~ The Spyder Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 4th December, 2002 01:40 AM
Quick Question... Betty EPoX MotherBoards 3 14th June, 2002 09:55 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0