AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2003, 06:13 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Have SMP rigs lost their luster?

Unfortunately, most software for PC's isn't written to utlilize two processors. Today's uni-processor machines rather kick the proverbial. Has the bloom faded from dual-CPU machines for SOHO user's?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2003, 06:31 PM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Ive moved away from dual cpu rigs mostly because ive gotten back into gaming and will continue to do so because of the upcoming release of HL2
As youve seen before I moved to a 2.4ghz p4-C with HT. It preforms very simlair to my old dual rig in multitasking terms. Its not the same and I cant do as much at the same time as I could on my dual cpu rig but me, along with many others, Find it "Good enough".
Plus its a whole lot cheaper
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2003, 07:01 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Well, when they come out with a dually chipset for AMD that can handle high fsb.... I'll be all over it.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2003, 11:27 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Unfortunately, most software for PC's isn't written to utlilize two processors.
Ironically, this means that the software loses out on performance when running on a Hyperthreading CPU. Basically, it's more difficult to write software for more than one processor. That and developers are either lazy or have stupid deadlines to work to. (More of the latter probably)

Of course, when it comes to consoles like the PS2, they're quite happy writing code to run on multiple CPUs. Go figure.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 01:17 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

I am sticking with my duallies. I don't game much, and my duallie can handle everything I toss at it. My next upgrade will be to a Operton or Xeon, when I have money. Prob. in the spring, as my new hobbie - cars - is costing a lot. The MP3 system for it (Custom, of course - VIA EPIA 1GHz mobo/CPU, 7" touchscreen VGA LCD, GPS, etc, DC-DC PSU) is costing about $900 (Everything but GPS will be in before school starts w00t w00t!) and the sound will be about $800.. Two subs, $130 each (400wRMS) and a 800wRMS amp, and then the two more amps for the 6x9's in the back and the 6" in the front. But in the end it will be worth it
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 10:18 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

Cool

finally a real workstation opteron board
product page

http://flytek.co.za/store/msik8t.jpg
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2003, 03:50 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by flytek
finally a real workstation opteron board
product page

http://flytek.co.za/store/msik8t.jpg
Thank you for the link, flytek! A couple more Opteron mainboards have appeared, even a Uni-Processor one. I hope they come down in price!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2003, 03:56 PM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

Quote:
Originally Posted by flytek
finally a real workstation opteron board
product page

http://flytek.co.za/store/msik8t.jpg
Hopefully that will be overclockable like the K7D Master.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2003, 12:48 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by funnyperson1
Hopefully that will be overclockable like the K7D Master.
Anyone know if any dual-processor mainboards for Opteron's can be run with one CPU? Wonder if a "terminator" a' la PIII Dual CPU mainboards of olden days can be used?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2003, 06:38 AM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

Yeah, that would be nice because as it stands now it seems that the opterons will be too expensive to buy duallys at release.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2003, 05:08 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by funnyperson1
Yeah, that would be nice because as it stands now it seems that the opterons will be too expensive to buy duallys at release.
At least the fast one's will be expensive. The bottom of the line Dual-CPU models are $255 @ Newegg. If Asus's Opteron board is an indicator of price, the mainboards for the Opteron will be very painful in the wallet.

But Server mainboards have never been cheap.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2003, 08:24 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

those asus sk8n's are cheaper than the asus canterwoods around here. and the dual msi k7d master is only 10% above the canterwoods. so maybe there is hope
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2003, 06:38 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by flytek
those asus sk8n's are cheaper than the asus canterwoods around here. and the dual msi k7d master is only 10% above the canterwoods. so maybe there is hope
Now this is surprising!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2003, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 179

SMP rigs are still the daddy for anything like graphical / media work.

General responsiveness is also much better, and to be honest once you've used a dual system you never really want to go back :)
__________________
Thoroughbred 2400+ @ 2300Mhz, Abit NF7 2.0, 1536Mb Samsung PC2700 (DDR433)
LSI 20160 Ultra SCSI 3 HBA, 1xMaxtor Atlas 10K IV 36GB w/ 8mb cache
3ware Escalade 6410 Storage Switch, Unit 0: [RAID 10] 4x120Gb IBM 7K250 w/ 8mb cache (64K Stripe)
3Com 3CR990SVR97 Server NIC, DMX 6fire 24/96 LT, Hercules Radeon 9800Pro
Windows 2000 SP4


Angels fall farthest...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2003, 05:53 PM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flak
SMP rigs are still the daddy for anything like graphical / media work.

General responsiveness is also much better, and to be honest once you've used a dual system you never really want to go back
I went back
But like I said, a p4 with HT *feels* like a dual so its good enough for me
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 22nd August, 2003, 08:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 179

very true, and they don't half own at folding :D
__________________
Thoroughbred 2400+ @ 2300Mhz, Abit NF7 2.0, 1536Mb Samsung PC2700 (DDR433)
LSI 20160 Ultra SCSI 3 HBA, 1xMaxtor Atlas 10K IV 36GB w/ 8mb cache
3ware Escalade 6410 Storage Switch, Unit 0: [RAID 10] 4x120Gb IBM 7K250 w/ 8mb cache (64K Stripe)
3Com 3CR990SVR97 Server NIC, DMX 6fire 24/96 LT, Hercules Radeon 9800Pro
Windows 2000 SP4


Angels fall farthest...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2003, 10:27 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

pricing on the msi board. about 15% over the sk8n. not bad at all considering it's as powerfull as two desktop motherboards in the right circumstanses. the k7d master can run with 1 cpu. it should be no different here.
http://www.geizhals.at/?a=59969
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2003, 02:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 9

For real work a dual system is hard to beat.
For games, the single fastest/most powerfull cpu you can afford is still the way to go.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New rigs a foldin' The Spyder ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 14th May, 2006 08:18 AM
Added a few rigs Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 11 8th January, 2005 09:00 AM
Rigs DOWN! Lazgoat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 1 19th October, 2004 09:59 AM
Want more rigs going for team AOA? Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 6 5th April, 2003 12:00 PM
Cooling 3 rigs with H2o. Lionfish Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 10 1st September, 2002 06:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0