AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2001, 10:54 PM
Brad
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

fixed 33mhz, by extra pll (sort of like turbo pll)

if we solder in a 16mhz crystal instead of a 14mhz, we get a faster fsb speed, but everything else gets a lot faster. Which is why we build a turbo pll, so the 14mhz, 24mhz, 48mhz can stay at those speeds.

now, why not build one so we can keep the pci at 33 and the agp at 66?

some 845 and 850 chipset boards have this already. But of course the P4 is a load of ****.

would it be possible to do this on a kt266a board for example? or some other board? Or would the chipset be incompatible with this 33mhz, would it want the usual 1/4 and just not boot at all.

does anyone have any input into this?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2001, 02:03 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Brad, it is not possible to do so. VIA KT266A does not support any PCI and AGP divider. On KT266A mobo, AGP is controlled by VT8366A Northbridge and PCI is controlled by VT8233 Southbridge. Both chips do not support any PCI and AGP divider, as this is their limitation.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2001, 04:52 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Mushkin Rules
Brad, it is not possible to do so. VIA KT266A does not support any PCI and AGP divider. On KT266A mobo, AGP is controlled by VT8366A Northbridge and PCI is controlled by VT8233 Southbridge. Both chips do not support any PCI and AGP divider, as this is their limitation.
Isn't this a general hardware query anyhow ?
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2001, 05:37 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Epox Tech,
I think it's not possible to do it on VIA KT266A due to the chipset limitation, but I do not know if this can be done on other mobo. What do you think ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2001, 05:58 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Mushkin Rules
Epox Tech,
I think it's not possible to do it on VIA KT266A due to the chipset limitation, but I do not know if this can be done on other mobo. What do you think ?
I can't say too much on the subject but will say :-

The KT266a chipset is responsible for PCI and AGP control in it's south and northbridges as you state.

The frequencies output by a clock generator aren't necessarily always the speeds that a chipset uses - A chipset only needs an host clock reference to do all of the work with.

I don't think it is possible to modify from a 14MHz gear crystal to greater without beginning to upset the whole of the board to the point of it burning out.

I will state again however, I'm not sure as to the suitability of this thread in this topic area.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2001, 06:38 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Thanks Epox Tech, you're the good one
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2001, 10:53 PM
Brad
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

people have done it with 440bx's.

use a 16 - 18mhz crystal instead of the 14mhz.
solder in a 14mhz, 24mhz, 48mhz on the output of the clock gen
solder in a 33mhz, 66mhz to the output of the pci/agp pins on the clock gen

why can it work on the 440bx, not the kt266a? would it 'unsync' itself or something, like the kt266a will only accept 66mhz pci speed at 100, 133, 166, 200, and the southbridge will only accept 33mhz pci at 100, 133, 166, 200.

so at 180fsb per say, if you sent the northbridge 66mhz agp speed, would it just not post, as the northbridge is expecting 2/5 x 180 = 72mhz
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th December, 2001, 02:15 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

If it means that you can make the record become unstuck as it presently is, do the modification yourself and see if it works.

As the saying goes - action talks, something else walks.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2001, 10:04 PM
Brad
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

yeah I know, some people at the [H] are really into it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st January, 2002, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Que.Can
Posts: 69

It has been done But you have to know What you're doing.What Thingies to change(you notice no parts list)I think it was Frankister (or something like that) aka turbo pll god.If you are good enough to know the mb down to component level you can Play and enjoy,if not you will cook and crisp.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Steal.... sort of... captinhector Online Deals, and Steals 7 8th June, 2007 05:34 PM
MSI recalls 6800's...sort of cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 8th February, 2005 01:55 AM
Is the PCI Bus locked at 33mhz on the EP-8RDA+? agnishvatta AMD Motherboards & CPUs 43 10th December, 2002 06:00 PM
stuff dividers, lets fix the pci speed at 33mhz Brad EPoX MotherBoards 4 15th December, 2001 08:37 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0