AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2003, 12:31 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Compaq Presario 1200 CMOS Battery???

Hi all,

I need to change the CMOS battery of a friends Presario 1200 laptop as its losing time, the date is all screwy and its displayign loads of CMOS errors on POST.
The manual is especially unhelpful, with no mention of a CMOS battery.
Does anyone know how to get it out/where it is?
PS the Main laptop battery is knackered and not installed, so its more of a desktop PC now, not very mobile

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2003, 01:36 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

The best thing to do is pulled the cover off the sucker and take a look. It's probably just a standard "button" type battery. Once you spot it you can replace it.

Take the batter to were ever you buy batteries or a place with a good slection of batters (ie Radio Shack) and they should be able to match it up. (there is usually a number on the battery)

Hope that helps,
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2003, 03:02 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

I may have to resort to that. I just thought that there was perhaps a secret button, cunningly hidden, that was the key to it.

Thanks for the reply.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2003, 06:38 AM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

Yeah, you're gonna have to take it apart a bit. Not too big of a deal though.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2003, 04:50 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

The CMOS battery on the 1200 should be kind of in the middle, accessed from the bottom without removing the actual mobo. You will have to pull the bottom plastic off the laptop - requires a Torx screwdriver, T10 if memory serves.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2009, 10:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1

I just changed the CMOS battery in my Compaq Presario 1200 laptop about an hour ago, so let's see if I can remember all the steps. Close the lid/screen. Unplug everything. Pull the main battery out. Turn the laptop upside down with the front facing you. Remove four torx screws on the front edge bottom panel. (Two long ones on the outside and two short ones in the middle.) There is a fifth screw on the edge of the case where the main battery slides in...remove it also. Turn the laptop rightside up and open the lid/screen. Unsnap the palm rest/speaker/touchpad cover. Slide it back gently (do not unplug anything). Now lift the keyboard from the edge nearest to you and slide it out from under the part that holds the lid\screen. Be careful not to unplug the keyboard. Turn the keyboard upside down with the top towards you. Now remove the four torx screws from the heatsink plate...two short ones in the center and two long ones in the deep recessed holes. Take a flashlight and look for the button battery under the top edge of the lid/screen mounting.
With a wooden device like a sharpened popcicle stick, pry the battery out of the white plastic holder. Radio Shack has replacements. Reassemble in the reverse order. Rebooting will take some time and maby a couple of tries to get all the CMOS setting correct. Good luck.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2009, 08:28 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Now that's a helpful post thanks, Retired GTE!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1200 , battery , cmos , compaq , laptop , presario



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compaq Presario 7000Z 7PL; what MB? videobruce AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 29th July, 2006 04:11 PM
Got a Presario Processor question -- anyone? TrevorS Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 15th June, 2005 06:50 AM
comcrap presario 5000 wtf, help??? purplemohawkman Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 11th January, 2004 08:53 PM
Low voltage at CMOS Battery a contributing factor in BIOS chip corruption??? Uncle Bob EPoX MotherBoards 6 30th January, 2003 10:42 AM
8K3A clear cmos jumper wont clear cmos Tismedt EPoX MotherBoards 1 2nd December, 2002 10:20 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0