AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 12:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 37

Screen flashes Black

For some reason my screen keeps flashing completly black (like its turned off) every now and then....it didn't bother me much buts its picked up a bit now adays and it makes a pretty load crack/snap noise...... Im not actually using my montior (mine got fried mysteriously...which makes me quite nervous..about 4 months ago). Anyone know whats going on - all connections are secure and my sig should be on the bottom.

Ta - Justin
__________________
Epox 8rda-------------------------
XP 1800+ 'A' @ 1.93 (183x10.5)----
Samsung PC3200 DDR - 512mb-----
7-3-3-2.5-------------------------
60g Barracuda ATA IV--------------
GF4 ti4200 (getting a 4400 soon)---
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 12:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 37

also Im using old detonator drivers (40.72)...does this matter - which ones should I get
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 05:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 91

typically, black screen with everything else still running is an indication that you need more vdd. if you are still running 183 fsb as indicated in your sig, could be vid card or drivers, because most vdd probs start around 185-200.
__________________
8RDA3+ rev3.1, Taipan bios
2500XP-M, IQYHA 0407,
11x230, vcore 1.75,vdd 1.8, vdimm 2.9
2x256twinmos/winbond3200 11,3,3,2.5
innovatek/black ice watercooled 40C/43C, sys 28C
antek 430true
Radeon9700Pro, 360/330
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 05:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 37

you mean vdd power? Im actually running @ stock fsb now and the same problems
__________________
Epox 8rda-------------------------
XP 1800+ 'A' @ 1.93 (183x10.5)----
Samsung PC3200 DDR - 512mb-----
7-3-3-2.5-------------------------
60g Barracuda ATA IV--------------
GF4 ti4200 (getting a 4400 soon)---
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 07:49 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

If you're getting a loud 'snap' from the monitor at the same time the screen goes black and then the screen recovers, it's got nothing to do with your graphics card.

The snap noise is the monitor arcing over internally. The monitor uses around 24,000 volts to display the image. The snap is when the store of 24,000 volts arcs over, and it takes a moment for the monitor to build it back up again.

My recommendation would be to get a different monitor, or to get the monitor repaired!

High levels of dust can make this worse, as can high humidity, as both make it easier for the high voltage to arc over.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 09:26 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Moved post to "General Hardware Discussion"
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 37

it will cause perment damage.....Im at uni and I know a few electrical enginners - is a easy fix to do? If I bring it in will it cost much to fix?

Thanks for the help
__________________
Epox 8rda-------------------------
XP 1800+ 'A' @ 1.93 (183x10.5)----
Samsung PC3200 DDR - 512mb-----
7-3-3-2.5-------------------------
60g Barracuda ATA IV--------------
GF4 ti4200 (getting a 4400 soon)---
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 02:18 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

There is the possibility of permant damage, yes. As to how easy the fix is, it depends where things are going wrong unfortunately. I'm no expert on monitors.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 02:39 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

Is it on its own or when you play stuff?

You got the right monitor drivers?

Some monitors do click off when the refresh rate is set too high and some games try stupid rates if they dont have a driver to tell them all available that most monitors cant handle.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2003, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 37

It does it all times..no rhyme of reason....Im not sure if it does it when its off...Im just using Plug+PLay drivers....can't find real ones (I looked throughly) and its on a 60hz refresh rate...the lowest it can go.

Any predictions how long it has left?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2003, 03:10 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I had a view sonic monitor that used to do that. It used to pop about once or twice a day. After about a year it was upto about once every 20 or 30 minutes. Then oneday there was pop and it stayed black and never showed a picture again.

If I were you I would plan on buying a new monitor very soon and start saving now.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2003, 05:42 AM
Postaldave's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: 3 hours from LA.. its hot here
Posts: 591
Send a message via ICQ to Postaldave Send a message via AIM to Postaldave

aeden is a friggin genious.... no wonder aoa needs donations .... how much does a genious cost

postal
__________________
WoW Server: Uther
Postal - 60 Undead Rogue
Evad - 60 Tauren Druid
Phaustus - 60 Troll Shaman
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2003, 05:56 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

It's a bit like the price of salvation...

Don't ask, it's more than we could ever pay!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+: Screen flashes with FSB >=200 MHz Maverick-X EPoX MotherBoards 78 17th August, 2003 12:24 PM
screen flashes at 200 FSB sirtoby EPoX MotherBoards 1 17th August, 2003 04:05 AM
Screen just flashes black jutboy EPoX MotherBoards 4 17th August, 2003 04:04 AM
Screen flashes on 8RGA+ Jay T EPoX MotherBoards 5 12th April, 2003 11:23 AM
how to fix the screen flashes at high FSB? eliteone EPoX MotherBoards 13 12th January, 2003 04:11 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0