AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2004, 08:50 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

OC & RAM Upgrade

i recently added another 512 mb to my system. my oc became unstable, i had to downclock it to 2.61ghz from 2.82 to get it stable. both ram sticks are identical as far as i know.

the ram is 2x 512mb geil pc3500 ddr433 cas 2

the system just spontaneously freezes and i have to reset via the manual reset button on the case.

i think this might be a HD problem, as the HD stops blinking right before it freezes(even during the time that windows loads)

is there any way to get my OC back up? things were fine with one stick of ram.

specs in my sig.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2004, 03:38 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

You need to relax the RAM timings. Timings can't be as aggresive when running 2 sticks as with just a single stick.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2004, 05:34 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

would "relaxing" be setting from 5-2-2 to 6-3-3

do i need to change the cas latency?

would upping the vdimm also help?
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!

Last edited by RussianMissile1; 17th March, 2004 at 05:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2004, 06:57 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Yes.

Possibly.

Yes.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2004, 08:04 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Yeah, what gizmo said.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2004, 02:41 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

none of that worked. my system now only runs stable at 2.61ghz (~210mhz OC) and at 392 mhz RAM. since i cant meet the max speed of my ram of 433mhz, im thinking of selling the two sticks of ram i have now, and getting 1gb of ddr 400

watch the classifieds section, two sticks of ram might just popup there.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When/If to Upgrade RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 4 18th May, 2006 05:18 PM
Upgrade WannaGoFast EPoX MotherBoards 19 25th November, 2005 07:53 PM
Should I upgrade from sk-6? thiruvil Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 20th June, 2003 04:32 PM
Loading Windows upgrade to upgrade? akaBruno CRASHED! 1 24th February, 2002 05:53 AM
Sys upgrade? Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 9 28th November, 2001 07:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0