AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2004, 02:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Posts: 14

Micro ATX power

I'm upgrading an old Tiny pc for a relative, which currently has a micro atx mobo and psu inside it, cpu is a 7xx mhz pentium 3. I was going to install a more up to date mobo and something like an AMD XP2400 cpu in there but the PSU in this case is the worry. I think its only 145watts ! (the psu label says Delta Electronics DPS 145PB) .. would i need to replace this psu ? or are the power requirements for microatx much lower anyway ?
The highest micro atx psu i've seen is 230watts ..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2004, 02:22 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

230w should be fine. I had instability problems with a 145w mATX PSU and a 1GHz Duron and a GeForce 2 mx400. Problems cleared up with a larger PSU
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2004, 02:57 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

145w is pushing it a bit, but there's only one way to find out.
I have an 8rgmi, and it is a powerhouse little overclocking mobo... the new version, the 8rgm3i, available at newegg sounds even better. I use a 200w PSU on mine, with a 1700+ overclocked to 2.08ghz and it is stable. Mileage may vary... Having onboard everything saves quite a bit on power. good luck with it.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2004, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Posts: 14

i just checked out the manual pdf for the epox 8rgmi and it says u need a 250w psu minimum !! .. and recommends a 300w. I havent been able to source a psu higher than 230w @ micro atx size (a chieftec mATX psu) ! .. how is it you are using a 200w !? (overclocked at that)
i'm not sure i can just chance it and buy the gear and pray it works
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2004, 02:33 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by StackOverflow
i just checked out the manual pdf for the epox 8rgmi and it says u need a 250w psu minimum !! .. and recommends a 300w. I havent been able to source a psu higher than 230w @ micro atx size (a chieftec mATX psu) ! .. how is it you are using a 200w !? (overclocked at that)
i'm not sure i can just chance it and buy the gear and pray it works
I can't tell you how it works... only that it does. The mATX PSU is actually a cheapo generic too. With cool weather, the CPU was running 2.16ghz @ 1.75v. Heat is a problem in the dinky case, so with the warm weather, I took the side panel off, and it is now running 2.08ghz @ 1.65v. The system currently has a single stick of 512 DDR, 1 16x DVDROM, 1 PCI TV tuner, 1 USB powered wireless G nic, and a 60gig 7200 rpm HDD. The PSU runs hot, so i know it is being pretty stressed. I've been running it this way for about 5 months now. It folds 24/7 and hasn't had any stability problems... I've rebooted maybe 3 times in the last 3 months, and it was only to install software. Will the system burn out?? I have know idea, but so far so good.

BTW, I recall when I was running the CPU @ 1.75v, the voltage lines were ok(within 3-4%). At 1.65v, everything is within 1-2%.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2004, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 79

[QUOTE=StackOverflow]i just checked out the manual pdf for the epox 8rgmi and it says u need a 250w psu minimum !! .. and recommends a 300w. I havent been able to source a psu higher than 230w @ micro atx size (a chieftec mATX psu) ! .. how is it you are using a 200w !? (overclocked at that)
i'm not sure i can just chance it and buy the gear and pray it works [/QUOTE
i have 2 micro axt systems and 1 full axt system the power suplies are all the same size!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2004, 01:40 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I have seen some mATX sized PSUs that are supposedly around the 300W mark. 'A Power' and 'Arrow' appear to manufacturer higher powered mATX PSUs. Enermax appear to do a 230W and a 270W PSU too.

A number of the Shuttle systems ship with a 200W PSU. Just make sure that the PSU is well matched to the load on the various voltages!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th July, 2004, 07:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Posts: 14

just a quick follow up on this - I ended up getting a 250 watt psu (seasonic) with an epox 8kmm3i mobo and the pc has been working great. No issues at all.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
micro ATX madcatmk3 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 36 24th December, 2005 11:28 PM
Micro ATX AMD Board RussianMissile1 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 21 28th February, 2004 02:39 AM
New Micro Board? AZColt EPoX MotherBoards 0 2nd July, 2003 05:31 PM
Micro$oft dod Betty's Rants and Rages 4 18th February, 2003 06:04 PM
NIC boot rom on micro atx boards?? jpmunroe EPoX MotherBoards 0 22nd October, 2002 05:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0