AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2004, 03:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 15

Need Wi-Fi advice

I'm trying to find out if it's feasible to try to set up a wireless network. Problem is I need a range of about 200 feet from my house to my shop. I know you can buy repeaters and/or antennas to boost the signal. I'm looking at shooting it through one wall in the house and two walls in my shop. Any advice would be appreciated. I've been looking at a Netgear 802.11g router with possibly a directional antenna.
Thanks,
Rainman
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2004, 04:04 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

If I remember correctly, the "b"'s got better range then the "g"'s. But I could be wrong. I was just break down and get one of those extention anttena's.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2004, 04:43 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

the range for most wireless devices is abt 150ft...so regardless of what you want to do, you are outside those boundries. therefore, you'll have to buy a repeater i'm afraid.
Personally, @ that length, the latency will be so high that you may regret doing it. If you have a laptop with wireless access, try the system out...i've installed alot of home networks, and hpna may be the best option for you @ such a distance(wired through telephone lines like adsl is.)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2004, 04:52 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Netgear uses a non-standard connector for their antenna. If you want to use a high gain antenna with your wireless router, I wouldn't go with Netgear. I have one myself and I'm mildly disappointed in it's performance distancewise.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2004, 06:08 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Also bear in mind that if the walls of your house or shop are made of cement or plaster, this has the effect of creating a Faraday cage (more so if your walls have 'rebar' or 'chicken wire' in them) which will tend to attenuate the signal, in some cases significantly.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2004, 02:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 11

Ok yes first find a wireless router that has a standard ant connection
then search the net for a ant called a cantenna you can build it yourself or buy one but the a directional ant that will send a singnal up to 1.5 miles
heres a simple web site to get some info on

http://www.cantenna.com/

I am useing one to go from my house to a house down the street and
so far no real signal loss just remember to secure your access or you will have everyone around latching on to your signal
that is if you have computer geeks around you if not I wouldnt worrie about it
since its only between two buildings

Rick
__________________
AMD 64 3400 <price drop going for faster CPU)
512 meg 3200 memory
Gigabyte K8N Pro mobo
EVGA NVIDIA 5600 Personal cinema 256meg
DVD/RW drive
DVD Drive
30 gig main drive
20 gig storage drive
Custom side window made by hypercool
theme case "Stargate"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2004, 03:25 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by mookydooky
Netgear uses a non-standard connector for their antenna. If you want to use a high gain antenna with your wireless router, I wouldn't go with Netgear.
FCC rules mandate that domestic wireless routers should not have a standard (AKA trivially easy to get hold of) antenna connectors on them. It's fairly easy to find companies that will supply you with the connectors now however!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM advice please sylvershark General Hardware Discussion 27 16th June, 2006 01:28 AM
Advice Please QSDT AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 2nd December, 2005 01:09 AM
I need your advice ! chrisbard Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 142 31st August, 2005 08:06 PM
Need some advice. Please :) Pitch CRASHED! 20 17th April, 2005 05:58 PM
a little advice piccoLEW Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 7th January, 2005 04:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0