AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2004, 07:42 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

New HDD not visible in Windows?

Evening all, I'm sure this is dead easy to solve but I cant think tonight!
Installed a new Western Digital 160JB hard drive tonight as a slave on IDE1.
Now, its detected in the BIOS and if I use windows System Info tool it shows up as well. Even Device manager shows two drives, the 80GB master and the new 160GB slave, BUT Windows Explorer only sees the 80Gb drive!?

Any ideas? I'll just check the jumpers once again.....

Laz.

PS: Anyone using the Abit Serillel IDE-SATA converters or is it not worth the hassle?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2004, 07:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: The land of wawas and tastycakes
Posts: 13

I think you have to partition and format the drive before explorer sees it.
__________________
AMD Athlon xp 2000+ MSI kt3 mobo
512 pc 2100 mem Ati Radeon 9000 128 mb oced to 304 core, 222 mem

new folding member
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2004, 08:47 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Even under WinXP?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2004, 08:57 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I believe CoolGeek is correct. You'll have to go into Drive Mangler and find the drive and at least partition it before explorer will see it.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2004, 09:09 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
I believe CoolGeek is correct. You'll have to go into Drive Mangler and find the drive and at least partition it before explorer will see it.
that would be correct...
usually there is a utility that comes with the drive that will do this, but if you bought an oem drive i can understand why not. I personally always perfer to add a drive to an existing system using the Manufacturer's utility..kinds guarantees things go smoothly(it'll also edit the registry to say the drive is active, as i beleive this is what is going on in your situation)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2004, 11:24 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

It was an OEM drive, so I downloaded the Western Digital Data Lifeguard tools.....and nothing happened.
So I hunted around for my Partition Magic and voila! Found the drive, partitioned it, formatted it etc in seconds. Its great!
Gizmo, Device Mangler couldn't do anything as is detected the HDD properly, I tried trouble shooting with it but gave up after 10min!

Thanks all.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2004, 12:19 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

lmao
i gotta read posts more thoroughly
dlgdiag will do the trick....not the new windows datalifeguard tools. sorry Laz, i sgould have told you this sooner. all i read was the hd was not recognized.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2004, 01:32 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
It was an OEM drive, so I downloaded the Western Digital Data Lifeguard tools.....and nothing happened.
So I hunted around for my Partition Magic and voila! Found the drive, partitioned it, formatted it etc in seconds. Its great!
Gizmo, Device Mangler couldn't do anything as is detected the HDD properly, I tried trouble shooting with it but gave up after 10min!

Thanks all.

Laz.
Not Device Mangler, DRIVE Mangler. It's in the System Management tools.

In any case, you got things ironed out, so all is well.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GKR why the labels are not visible (C# code) MrSeanKon Programming and Assembly Language 2 21st March, 2007 08:15 AM
Patch Microsoft Windows and Windows Servers for Daylight Savings Time now Samuknow OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 13 11th March, 2007 04:08 AM
Windows 98 Machine connecting to a Windows 2000 Domain.. Nate-X Mobile Devices and Networking 6 27th July, 2006 01:13 PM
Windows XP Home Sp1 can boot into windows nor re-install. Chesso OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 10 28th February, 2005 12:24 AM
Windows 2000 and Windows NT code posted to the Internet. Southern Man Random Nonsense! 25 19th February, 2004 08:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0