AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2004, 06:47 PM
brian770's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: HighBridge Wisconsin
Posts: 279

hi all!!
so even if i were to drop the cash on the card and cable i wouldnt see an improvement unless i had 4 more devices hooked up?
i origanaly was just going to put the os on it but got sticker shock when i saw the price of hook ups!
thanks for the f.c. info. i guess i just have a expensive paperweight!lol
brian770
__________________
overclocking is like raising a child, you do everything you can to make sure its right and hopefully when your done it turns out perfect......but your never realy done..lol
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2004, 06:58 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

That's about the size of it.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 06:33 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I'm not entirely certain I understand your question, Noogen?

Most Ultra-2 SCSI LVD drives are capable of operating in single-ended mode (the way older Utra-SCSI and below drives worked) but will not be able to achieve data transfer rates higher than 40 MBytes/Second unless they are operating on a bus that contains nothing but LVD devices, with LVD terminators. In other words, no device on the bus can operate at a data rate faster than the slowest device on the bus supports, and no device on the bus can operate in a mode that is not supported by ALL other devices on the bus.

This is one of the reasons why SCSI CD-ROMs and SCSI Tape drives are usually given their own independent channel on the controller, and many times are even on their own controller.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 08:49 AM
Noogen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 34

do i need a cable that suports lvd?
there r so many different cables do i need a female or male 68pin
thanx alot
__________________
2600 xp-m, 8rda3+ rev3, Corsair 512m 3500v1.1, 128 Powercolor 9600xt, maxtor 80g sata, Antec 1000amg, 480w Trueblue, slk947u/Tornado

Last edited by Noogen; 16th September, 2004 at 09:50 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2004, 03:08 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

If you want to run Ultra-2 SCSI or higher, then you need a cable rated for Ultra-2 SCSI or higher speeds. It's that simple. The cable doesn't 'support' LVD in the sense that there is a special wiring scheme for LVD and another one for single-ended. In order to get 80 MBytes/Second or higher transfer speeds, the cable must be wired a particular way, period. However, all 68-pin SCSI cables have the same pinout, so again, you are concerned about the rated transfer speed of the cable, NOT whether it is LVD or not.

Now, having said that, when you get into cables that have built-in terminators, you've got a different kettle-o-fish, because the terminator is most definitely specific to the transfer mode. So you can buy one cable that has a built-in terminator for single-ended mode, and another cable that has a built-in terminator for LVD. Thing is, if you buy a cable that has a built-in terminator, then you are restricted to using devices that support whatever mode that terminator uses.

I think that I may be confusing you a little, so maybe some examples will help:

1) Cable rated for Ultra-2 SCSI transfer speeds with built-in terminator for single-ended mode. This cable will not be able to run at speeds faster than Ultra-SCSI (40 MBytes/Second). Even though the cable (wire) is rated for Ultra-2 SCSI speeds, the terminator is single-ended, and 40 MBytes/Second is the fastest SCSI transfer speed available in single-ended mode.

2) Cable rated for Ultra-2 SCSI transfer speeds with built-in terminator for LVD mode. This cable will be able to run transfer speeds up to 80 MBytes/Second, but you won't be able to plug older single-ended drives in that run 40 MBytes/Second or slower, because they don't know how to do differential signaling, and the LVD terminator can only be used on a LVD bus.

3) Cable rated for Ultra-2 SCSI transfer speeds without built-in terminator. This cable can handle any speed and signaling type from old asynchronous single-ended 5 MByte/Second narrow SCSI-1 up through synchronous LVD 80 MByte/Second Ultra-2 SCSI, depending on the type of terminator and devices you plug in. However, all devices (including the terminator) have to have a common operating mode they can all run in, or all bets are off. SCSI will try to find the fastest transfer mode that all devices can support, but if you've got a narrow SCSI-1 device and a wide LVD U2 SCSI device on the same bus, things are gonna break.

Does that clarify things for you?

Also, 68-pin SCSI devices are almost universally female connectors (plug), so you need cables with male connectors (pins) for all but the most bizarre configurations.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2004, 02:53 PM
Noogen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 34

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....e=STRK:MEWN:IT
i have this adaptor, is this fyne? and a male pin cable should work fyne with it

These r da cables im getting, goot enough
http://www.pccasegear.com/prod733.htm

thanx alot sorri for so many questions
__________________
2600 xp-m, 8rda3+ rev3, Corsair 512m 3500v1.1, 128 Powercolor 9600xt, maxtor 80g sata, Antec 1000amg, 480w Trueblue, slk947u/Tornado
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2004, 04:14 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

No worries. Better to ask questions if you are unsure than spend a lot of money on components you can't use.

Yes, those components should do you just fine. Report back here when you've got them, and we can walk you through how to install them.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2004, 02:10 AM
Snake Plissken's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 3

here is a parts list im working with
buying--->http://www.centrix-intl.com/?source=...Number=U3SCA80
Buying-->http://www.cmishop.com/store/ShowDet...=pwaha-2940u2w
already have-->Seagate ST118202LC 18.2GB SCSI 10K RPM Hard Drive)x4

any advice on cables
__________________

Last edited by Snake Plissken; 3rd October, 2004 at 02:15 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2004, 03:53 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Something like this is what you need.

Or you could contact the folks at www.tmcscsi.com and have them custom make you a cable for about 2/3 the price of the cable listed above. I get all of my cables from them, and I've not had any problems yet. All you have to do is call (or e-mail) them and tell them you need a terminated U2W cable for one drive, and they will know pretty much what you need and build to order. Usually takes about 5 days to build a custom cable.

Also, even though their web site shows custom cables, they have standard product as well. You could ask them if they have a standard product that would fill the bill.

BTW, welcome to AOA!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2004, 03:37 PM
Snake Plissken's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 3

@Gizmo i see your using a mega raid card mylex. I just order the
Mylex ExtremeRaid 1100 it's 32-bit PCI and 64-Bit PCI Compatible
__________________

Last edited by Snake Plissken; 4th October, 2004 at 02:30 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2004, 05:03 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I've used the ExtremeRaid also. The Mylex controllers are all generally pretty good controllers, although the ExtremeRaid 1100 is a bit of overkill for your application, based on what you've posted.

BTW, the MegaRaid card was originally an AMI product, not a Mylex one. They are both owned by LSI Logic now, though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 06:29 AM
Snake Plissken's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 3

Gizmo I got that card just incase i want to up grade so im covered

here's what left to get
http://www.scsi4me.com/index.php?menu=menu_scsi&pid=17
http://www.scsi4me.com/index.php?menu=menu_scsi&pid=14
http://www.scsi4me.com/index.php?men..._scsi&pid=3033

Mylex ExtremeRaid 1100 it's 32-bit PCI and 64-Bit PCI Compatible (is on it's way)

input or ideas are welcomed
__________________

Last edited by Snake Plissken; 6th October, 2004 at 11:06 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's a good video card for 2D? whatever Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 6th March, 2006 04:00 AM
What is good overclocking for 6800GT card? BarrySWE EPoX MotherBoards 2 13th October, 2005 11:14 AM
is this a good card? skool h8r Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 41 2nd May, 2005 05:10 PM
Good card for the $$$ Phat Pat Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 15th October, 2002 09:23 PM
Good HDD benchmark Utility? (Sandra doesn't like SCSI) Azriel General Hardware Discussion 13 3rd May, 2002 05:50 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0