AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2004, 12:07 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

my AMD3200 OR P4 3.2???

q-tec 460w --------------- q-tec 400w
epox 8kra2mobo ----------- gigabyte 848p p4 titan mobo
AMD3200XP 400fsb -------- P4 3.2 GIG 800fsb
1024 ddr400 kingston ------- 1024 ddr400 (not sure of make)
74gig10000rpm wd --- both sata --- maxtor 120gig 7200rpm
fx5950ultra -- both 8times agp -- fx5200 256mb

the 1 on the left is what i am useing now i'm not sure what todo i have set both hdrives up with xp both r set up with that mobo. is there any easyer way to move the 74gig over to the titan mobo with out haveing to reload windows xp back on it !!!!!! this is the system i am thinking of !!!!!

q-tec 460w
p4 titan mobo
p4 3.2
1024 kingston hyperX 2 pairs of 512
would like the 74gig but alot of waiting and hopeing no problams loading xp on
so i think i will stay with the 120 gig!!!!!!
fx5950 ultra

sorry AMD for leaveing u but don't worry i am AMD at heart and will never forget u!!!!! be back with u soon !!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2004, 08:30 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Completely uninstall your mobo drivers before you pull the drive out of the AMD system, and it should recognize the new mobo and prompt you for new drivers.

However, that begs the question: why not keep both drives?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2004, 01:38 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

i will be saleing 1 system just not sure what 1 to sale

will i have to go though device manager to uninstall the mobo drivers ??

from what i'v seen so far i am thinking of keeping my AMD system it's alot faster at starting up but then u have to put that down to the mobo really. i am just going to test both system on aquamark 3 i think the intel cpu will be top but the amd gpu should kick ass i'l post as soon as i'm done!!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2004, 02:35 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

heres the scores (these score r from aquamark 3 )

intel system ---------------------amd system
gfx=792 ------------------------- gfx 5.877
fx5200 -------------------------- fx5950

cpu=8.598-----------------------cpu 7.432
p4 3.2 gig ---------------------- 3200xp runs at only 2.2 gig!!!!!!!

over all the intel got 7.598 and the AMD got 42.119 so if i was to put the fx5950 in to the p4 3.2 i should hit over 50.000 easy!!!!!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2004, 05:59 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

your suprised that the amd system only ran at 2.2gighz?
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2004, 11:02 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

no i am not suprised about that i am suprised the 3.2 gig is not that far ahead!!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2004, 12:42 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by sasrob
no i am not suprised about that i am suprised the 3.2 gig is not that far ahead!!!!!
Yup,
Last spring, I made the same leap... Barton to a P4HT... same conclusion.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2004, 03:10 PM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

[QUOTE=gizmo]Completely uninstall your mobo drivers before you pull the drive out of the AMD system, and it should recognize the new mobo and prompt you for new drivers.

i would like to know what to uninstall and were to do it as i would really like this set up

q-tec=460
p4 mobo
p4 3.2
1024 kingston
74gig 10000rpm hd wd
fx5950

but i am not to sure what to uninstall i am thinking i will have to go into device manager and uninstall thing there just not sure what to uninstall???help!!!!!
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0