AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2004, 10:17 PM
brian770's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: HighBridge Wisconsin
Posts: 279

fastest single chip

hi all!!!
i read about the blue genie from ibm, and other super computers. but for all us non millionairs who holds the record for the fastest single chip processor? i mean one phisical cpu.is there a lab somewhere turning out a special use cpu at like 10 gigs or some other fantastic speed?
thanks
bri
__________________
overclocking is like raising a child, you do everything you can to make sure its right and hopefully when your done it turns out perfect......but your never realy done..lol
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2004, 10:26 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

I think the fastest clock to date in a desktop single chip is an Intel @ 5ghz+. I'm not exactly sure if it's the best but it is the highest clock i've ever heard of. I wonder if that 3.7ghz FX-53 is a lot faster or not?
__________________
Main Rig
AMD64 3200+ @ 2.0ghz
MIS K8TNEO FSR
Asetek Waterchill Antartica
2x512 OCZ Platinum LL pc3200 @2.6v
2xSeagate 80 gig SATA raid-0
ATI 9800pro (460/800)
SB live 5.1 (old)
Pioneer 16x DL+DVD burner
Dell M992 19"crt 1600x1200 .24dp

Soon to be added

ATI x800XT-PE

Server
P4 1.6
Dell 4550
80gig IDE
512mb DDR PC-2100
Windows Server 2003 EE
[url=http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=45]
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2004, 10:54 PM
brian770's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: HighBridge Wisconsin
Posts: 279

ya i would like to see a showdown between those two myself wide open no holds bared !!
thanks
__________________
overclocking is like raising a child, you do everything you can to make sure its right and hopefully when your done it turns out perfect......but your never realy done..lol
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2004, 11:23 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I read about something called HAL ages ago, a chip that could reconfigure it's gates to adapt to the programming or something and was meant to offer super computer power in a desk top sized machine, I'll see what I can dig up
as for 3.7ghz fx vs 5ghz p4 theres no contest, the fx would cain the p4, think about it a 2.2ghz fx is faster than a 3.2ghz p4 which it is only 68% the clock speed of, where as 3.7ghz is 75% the speed of 5ghz
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2004, 11:48 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbon86
I think the fastest clock to date in a desktop single chip is an Intel @ 5ghz+. I'm not exactly sure if it's the best but it is the highest clock i've ever heard of. I wonder if that 3.7ghz FX-53 is a lot faster or not?

try 6ghz...

http://theinquirer.net/?article=18693 6009 mhz i think.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2004, 01:33 AM
brian770's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: HighBridge Wisconsin
Posts: 279

ya he got it posted at 6 but it was totaly unstable.
it was only stable at 5.3
__________________
overclocking is like raising a child, you do everything you can to make sure its right and hopefully when your done it turns out perfect......but your never realy done..lol
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2004, 01:42 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian770
ya he got it posted at 6 but it was totaly unstable.
it was only stable at 5.3
yeah
5.3 ghz. phhhbbt!
does anyone at home really need that much power? (FAH'ers excluded, of course).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2004, 01:50 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

yes

4 years ago people were going on about breaking the ghz barrier and some were saying 'home users just don't need this' could yu go back to a sub ghz pc now? I know I couldn't my athlon 3400+ can still only recode a dvd-9 format disc to fit on dvd-r in around an hour, so even a pc 10X my current speed would still mean waiting 6mins and by then we'll be on hd-dvd and it will still probabally take an hour
we will always find a use for more power
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2004, 02:17 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

VERY well put. Can't argue with that.
but really, i was not talknig about the time taken to perform things like that. With an hour, you can go, do something else, come back, and it's done. with 6mins, you're gonna sit there and wait, aren't ya? At least i would.
it's still performing the same task...just faster. the average home user doesn't need that much power...the least interference in daily life the better. John Doe would rather take a total of 2 minutes in front of the pc, rather than 6.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2004, 02:27 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

but while my pc's busy doing that theres no gaming for me, and some days I can have a dozen discs to do so thats my computer busy for the day
in many situations my pc is more than fast enough, when I'm dabbling in video editing it can handle mpeg2 stuff in real time and I've barely seen the cpu meter move in cubase
I'll admit pc's have reached a point where the cpu power is getting less important. For specialist needs their are specialist cards
I'll be much beter off with a dsp card for when my pc starts to hold me back in cubase for example
the average home user now would be better off loading up with ram hd space and getting a fast hd than cpu power, but I think that little part of us, the same part that likes the sentence '0 to 60 in...' can't resist a fast cpu
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
World's Fastest Optical Chip Gizmo Random Nonsense! 0 9th January, 2007 09:58 PM
8K3A bios chip flashable to 8RDA+ chip? Garrett EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th June, 2003 09:42 PM
KK266 - Fastest chip? Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 18th August, 2002 02:17 AM
"World’s Fastest GeForce4 Ti4200: 308MHz Chip and 708MHz Memory!" beerman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 20th June, 2002 07:44 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0