AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 11:02 AM
brian770's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: HighBridge Wisconsin
Posts: 279

Amd Ddr2

hi all!!

i see that OZC is releasing some ddr2 at 800mgz at christmas!
i also see the AMD chipsets using pci-x will be around then, so when will there be ddr2 for the AMD cpu?? is this a chipset thing or a cpu thing? i dont realy understand, at first i thought it was a chipset thing but it sounds like a cpu thing from what i've heard. can anyone set me straight? it seems like if its a cpu thing then AMD is flat out screwed! i havent heard anything about any of the motherboard manufactures releasing a board that has it, and usualy there is at least a roomer about it.
__________________
overclocking is like raising a child, you do everything you can to make sure its right and hopefully when your done it turns out perfect......but your never realy done..lol
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 01:54 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

AMD's 64bit processors all have their memory interface embedded on the CPU. This means that the CPU can get to the memory with less latency, but limits you to the memory types that the CPU itself supports. Hence, AMD would need to produce a 64bit processor that supports DDR2. I do not know if they have this in the pipeline.

For AMD's Socket A CPUs and Intel's CPUs, the CPU does not have a memory interface onboard. This means that the chipset has to deal with the memory for the CPU, so it's possible to interface whatever type of memory that the chipset supports.

However, Socket A maxes out at 400MHz effective data rate, so 800MHz effective data rate memory is rather a waste. Intel's P4 FSB currently runs at 800MHz effective data rate, so it might be able to take advantage of the memory.

Having said all that, remember how well the Socket A processors stand up to the P4, despite having half the effective FSB bandwidth. FSB bandwidth is not the be all and end all some would have you beleive.

One alternative to using high speed DDR2 memory is to operate a dual channel system. AMD is already running dual channel on some processors with an embedded memory controller, and this can boost performance without having to resort to expensive DDR2 memory.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 02:16 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

ddr memory only has an efficiency of like 60% though, so 800mhz memory with a bandwidth of 6.4gbs would only achieve something like 3.8gbs, so this would still give socket A a boost over ddr3200 memory in real world situations
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 02:27 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Socket A and A64 processors really need low latency memory, not fast burst speeds. Lowering the latency makes far more of an impact than increasing the speed of the memory. This was one of the reasons for the integration of the memory controller in the A64 processors.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 03:00 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

I was under the impression that the socket 754 did NOT use the on chip memory contoller.
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 03:35 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

it does it's just single channel
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DDR2 ram on a S939? Toastmaster AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 3rd August, 2007 02:42 PM
DDR2 6400 7-Way roundup Gizmo Hardware Hacking 2 17th August, 2006 03:38 AM
Corsair 1.066Ghz DDR2! skool h8r General Hardware Discussion 6 26th May, 2006 11:06 PM
AMD DDR2 M2 CPU Socket danrok AMD Motherboards & CPUs 22 18th November, 2005 07:34 PM
DDR2 Anybody? Kingston DDR2 1GB PC4200 Speed 533MHz 209.99 - 20.00 rebate = 189.99 mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 12th December, 2004 07:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0