AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2004, 08:57 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Netserver storage unit

Hey,

I picked up a HP netserver setup for a great price.....FREE...

Basically the CPU unit is crap..uh junk.

I am more interested in the SCSI controller in it and the Storage System that came with it. It is a netserver storage system/6 It has 2 4.0Gig Ultra2 and 3 9.0Gig Ultra2 drives in it as well as 2 powersupplies. What I am thinking is to install the Scsi card in my main rig and run the storage unit from there. One problem, well probably a few others that I have not thought of yet but anyway. I do not have the cable that goes from the back of the card to the back of the drive unit. Not sure what it actually is. I did a search and there are a boat load of cables out the to choose from. Can someone point me in the right direction? And possible think of any issues I might run into doing this...

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Netserver storage unit-picture-18.jpg   Netserver storage unit-picture-17.jpg  
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2004, 09:52 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Last I knew, the HP Netservers used an OEM version of the Mylex DAC960-PG controller. So, you should be able to use a standard U2 SCSI cable to connect to the drive bay. Can you give me a picture of the controller and a picture of the connector on the drive bay?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2004, 10:04 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Ok let's see what I can give you....I took pics of the back of the cpu unit as well as the storage unit. the cable is supposed to come from the controller card pic 1 to the storage unit pic 2.
Attached Thumbnails
Netserver storage unit-picture-20.jpg   Netserver storage unit-picture-23.jpg  
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2004, 10:05 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Basically the storage unit has a passthrough to the drive backplane.
Attached Thumbnails
Netserver storage unit-picture-24.jpg  
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2004, 10:11 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Looks like what you need is a VHDI-SCSI2 connector. The VHDI is the connector used by Ultra-2 controllers for external interfaces, and is Wide Ultra-2. Unfortunately, the other connector is a 50-pin narrow SCSI-2 connector, which is typically used for external SCSI CD-ROM and Tape drives.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2004, 10:15 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

The ends are difinatly different from each other. Well now I feel really dumb. I just looked and realized the card is an ISA.....I guess I can come up with a SCSI card that is PCI. The backplace also has a 50 pin connector on it next to the other cable. I can probably just get a long 50 pin cable and card and go that route.....Ya think..??
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2004, 10:21 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

?!!!

It's an ISA?! Oh geez. Are you sure? I don't know of any Utra-2 cards that were ISA. Come to think of it, I don't know of any Utra-Scsi cards that were ISA, either. The fastest ISA card I've ever seen was SCSI-2.

I don't think you can just daisy-chain off the back of the drive bay unless you mess with the termination. I don't know enough about the configuration of your system to know if that would be a problem or not.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2004, 10:41 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I will post some more pics later. We are going to the in-laws for Christmas Eve....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is this unit so fast? ThunderRd ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 1st August, 2007 07:44 PM
Unit info? Lancer33 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 23rd April, 2007 04:24 PM
AI processing unit anyone? Wolf2000me General Hardware Discussion 11 5th September, 2006 11:13 PM
No New Unit? cadaveca ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 11 23rd October, 2004 02:22 AM
Tubby's new A/C unit! surlyjoe Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 8 27th April, 2003 06:00 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0