AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2005, 07:37 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

whats faster.........

Socket A Sempron 3000+ 2.0 Ghz 512KB L2 cache

Socket A 3200xp 2.2 ghz 512kb L2 cache

whats the faster one then i would think that the xp will still win as it runs a 400fsb not just 333fsb like the sempron i am running 3200xp now and i was thinking would i have more power if i was to use the 3000 sempron i'v looked into it and i'm starting to think that the xp is still the best bet to stay with as on the socket A sempron do not support the sse2 it's only sse
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2005, 11:58 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I thought the Semprons has 256Kbyte cache on board?
Otherwise, as far as I'm aware, the Sempron core was nothing other than a Thoroughbred core.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2005, 04:58 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

yeah the XP will outperform the sempron, I'm not sure how true it is but I've heard that the semprons ratings are comparable to celerons where as the XP''s are meant to be comparable to P4's
The socket A semprons don't support SSE2 but I believe the socket 754 version does
The socket A semprons are only really a good idea for very low budget systems, higher up the scale a socket 754 version is a much better option, especially as once overclocked they can compete with the A64's
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2005, 03:02 PM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

I have a socket A Sempron (2800+) and in CrystalMark09 I got some results very close to a friend of mine that has a P4@3ghz 1 MB cache HTT(Prescott).
For example: my results - ALU = 6771, FPU = 8760, his results - ALU = 6871, FPU = 7157. The only thing I don't like for this CPU is that the multiplier is locked..
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2005, 03:17 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Synthetic benchmarks aren't reliable though. Even a 3000+ XP wouldn't match up to a 3ghz P4 in everything.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2005, 03:28 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Yep thats true, when it comes to media encoding the P4 will wipe the floor with the Athlon.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2005, 09:29 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Are the sempron 3000+ and others multi locked? Ive just bought one to build the wifes pc but havent got around to checking it yet, but the 3000+ defo has 512kb l2 cache
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which should be faster Samuknow General Hardware Discussion 6 8th October, 2006 05:24 PM
Can I get it any faster? djXternal AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 10th June, 2006 04:04 PM
whats faster???? sasrob General Hardware Discussion 10 28th October, 2004 03:06 AM
Looking for a faster P4?!?! robbie Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 18th March, 2004 02:13 PM
Can't run faster than 166 FSB, Why? Uncle Bob EPoX MotherBoards 22 1st August, 2002 01:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0