AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2005, 10:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: S. New Jersey USA
Posts: 8

250gb hard drive problem

I heard back from Epox and they told me my mobo was too "old" for the 250gb drive I just bought, even though I want it in 3 partitions? Has anyone used a drive larger than 137gb with the 8k7A+ ?? How did you do it? Running WinXP Pro w/sp2 already.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2005, 10:10 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA Forums, BruceY!

It is possible that the mainboard's BIOS is too old to support a 250 Gb HDD. That you want to partition it makes no diff, the mobo has to be able to see the whole drive before you can do anything to said HDD.

Maybe a BIOS update can fix this hassle? It's worth doing the research to find out.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2005, 04:51 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

The software from the drive manufacturer should be able to get around this. The other option is to pick up an IDE controller card - they are less expensive than a motherboard.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 01:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: S. New Jersey USA
Posts: 8

worked around issue before updatiing my bios. I found it on Maxtors cd that came with the drive, its calle Dynamic Disk Overlay. Worked the way I wanted it have it anyhow. 3 partitions.............
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 02:34 AM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

wouldn't an IDE controller card slow down the bandwidth to the drive because instead of 66mb or 100mb on the mobo, i think the max you can get out of a pci controller card is 33mb...am i correct/wrong?
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 05:38 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

no, I think PCI is 133mb/s,

and I think that was PCI 1.0, but I been s9o....
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 03:57 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

An add-on PCI controller will most likely be faster than the IDE controller built into your chipset - but if you are happy with the way it is partitioned out now I'd say leave it be
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 02:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: S. New Jersey USA
Posts: 8

I have a raid option on my mobo and 2 UIDE channels. I wanted the 250 drive as 3 partitions anyhow. Now is all up and running, all ducks in a row , drives A thru L

Thank You for helping Bruce
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New hard drive problem Samgasm General Hardware Discussion 5 1st September, 2005 05:45 PM
9NPA and a hard drive problem donkey EPoX MotherBoards 31 23rd May, 2005 02:01 AM
hard drive problem Microgers87 General Hardware Discussion 2 15th September, 2003 09:51 AM
New Hard Drive - problem dod CRASHED! 5 27th July, 2003 10:38 PM
Possible Hard Drive problem? Rollydog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 29th April, 2002 02:33 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0