AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2005, 04:39 AM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

what chipset do i have?

hi,

i recently acquired a dell pc with a faulty mobo. the cpu (p4 1.8A) is still good and i'd like to salvage as many parts as possible for a linux box. the one stick of memory that's in there is a 256 mb ddr 266mhz cl2. i plan to get another identical stick eventually.

the problem i have is with the mobo. its a crappy dell pos. i need to find out what chipset is on the current mobo so i can get another mobo with the same chipset.

i searched the mobo physically. i can't keep the pc on for more than 10 seconds so the bios won't be much help. the northbridge is under a heatsink. the southbridge is no help. any ideas on how i can find out the chipset? (i prefer not to call dell) also, at the moment i'm guessing the socket is of type 478.

thanks,
barneygumble742
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD

Last edited by barneygumble742; 16th March, 2005 at 04:41 AM. Reason: forgot info
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2005, 06:10 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

pull the heatsink, if it is not thermally bonded. Proly just has white paste, so some new stuff shoulld be not a prob. or a model # from the board might help.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2005, 07:18 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

doesn't the cpu have an id laser etched on it? Can't you just figure out what core and socket from that then just get a mobo that suports that cpu and ram.

Also make sure of the PSU pin out, Dell had a habit of useing propriatary pin outs on thier PSUs.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2005, 04:26 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

what model does it say on the sticker on the back?
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2005, 07:08 PM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

i found out from dell's website (http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...cs.htm#1101572) that the socket is of type 478B and that the chipset is an intel 845E.

two questions...what's the difference between 478 and 478B and where can i get a motherboard circa $50?

thanks
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2005, 07:28 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I would check Newwegg refurbished or clearance. Maybe something like this???
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2005, 08:02 PM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

this one looks interesting except the VIA chipset. i went to their website and i couldn't find any info about that. if i get this motherboard, then will i have to get a new heatsink? its kind of difficult to salvage a dell because its hard to distinguish between what standards they've kept and what they made proprietary.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
From 3.6 to 4.0 - using 9XX or 8X5 chipset ? wwswimming Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 16th January, 2005 02:01 AM
ATI and their new chipset dpgdog187 64 Bit computing 1 12th November, 2004 04:23 AM
ATI chipset for AMD brian770 General Hardware Discussion 2 27th September, 2004 04:39 AM
New Chipset!!!! The Spyder Random Nonsense! 2 10th July, 2002 02:51 PM
645 Chipset m_rh0des Intel Motherboards & CPUs 16 23rd February, 2002 05:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0