AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 02:13 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Multiple CDRW duplicating computer

I was asked if I could set up a computer with several CDRW drives to be used as a duplicator. Basically the computer will be used to record live audio, edit said audio and then burn to mutiple CD's simultainously. I know hardware wise I can do it but will a special program be needed to burn the data to multiple drives? I figured just using the built in burn capabilities in XP to copy past to all the drives. I'm not sure if this will work or not. Anyone tried this before????
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 02:23 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

How many drives? so long as you use sata for the hard drive you should be able to install 4 drives just using the ide channels on the motherboard, some boards also offer another ide raid channel but I don't know for sure if these support atapi.
The XP way is very inefficient, most software has the option to use multiple burners, I use nero and that does.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 02:55 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I was planning on a board with ide raid. I will have to check on the atapi. I thought my old A7V133 raid board would run a cd drive on the raid channels but I can't remember. I will check into nero. Thanks
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 10:22 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I know that DiscJuggler supports multiple drives, as well as providing network writing support.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 12:37 PM
Con's Avatar
Con Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 450
Send a message via AIM to Con

If you need to add more drives you can just get an ATA PCI card surely?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 01:03 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Con
If you need to add more drives you can just get an ATA PCI card surely?

True, I didn't even think of that. I think I actually have a ATA 133 controller that I bought but did not use.....

I will look at DiscJuggler.

I know there are stand alone duplicators, but they are quite spendy and will not capture the audio or allow editing.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 01:04 PM
Con's Avatar
Con Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 450
Send a message via AIM to Con

Do you remember me by the way? :P you used to write a review or two for me on Pc-Critic!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cdrw + Dvd = 100% ? chrisbard General Hardware Discussion 5 25th August, 2005 05:30 PM
got an issue with my dvd-r and cdrw! mattthegamer463 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 6th October, 2004 04:30 PM
drivers for cdrw barneygumble742 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 14th August, 2004 01:27 AM
8K5A2+ and CDRW. Jarrv EPoX MotherBoards 5 24th March, 2003 10:58 AM
What CDRW ? Holst General Hardware Discussion 36 8th March, 2002 06:12 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0