AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 05:57 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

New Router

I need a new router, my dad bought a US Robotics(what was he thinking?!?) 10/100 4 port router a year or two ago and its just about hit the hay. i need your suggestions on what a good router would be to get that will last alot better and have a good firewall.

thx.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 06:06 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Do you need a modem/router or just a router?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 07:21 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

just the router
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 02:06 PM
Con's Avatar
Con Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 450
Send a message via AIM to Con

Wired/wireless?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 02:18 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I'd suggest looking at D-Link and Netgear.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 02:45 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

its a wired router.

what would be the best model for the either one of them?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 03:00 PM
Con's Avatar
Con Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 450
Send a message via AIM to Con

There is no "best" model.

If you are going to choose this, you need to choose what is best for you, factoring in features, cost, ugpradability, and think about what you may need in the future.

If I were you, I'd be purchasing a Linksys WRT54G Wireless broadband router, it has all the wireless equipment, and a 4 port switch, as well as a router/firewall solution, and it only costs £50!

But like I said you need to choose yourself.

I've tried belkin, netgear, and linksys, linksys is the best kit i've used.

Con
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 03:05 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

What type of broadband modem do you have? USB or ethernet?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 03:07 PM
Con's Avatar
Con Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 450
Send a message via AIM to Con

I did ask him if it was a modem/router or just a router, so I assume he is running an ethernet modem plugged into the modem port of his router.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 07:20 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

yes, i have a cable modem which is connected to the router via ethernet then to the rest of the comps in my house through wired connections
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 08:41 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I use a Net gear RT 314, probably a bit dated, but flawless and transparent in operation, easy to set up and came with good 1st. timer instructions.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 10:21 AM
Con's Avatar
Con Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 450
Send a message via AIM to Con

Seriously, I would highly reccomend that you purchasse the Linksys WRT54G Wireless Broadband Router.

Linksys equipment is cisco engineered right? So thats got to be a good thing in my books .

It doesn't cost much more than a wired router, and it comes with an inbuilt 4 port 10/100 switch, Firewall, DHCP server, etc etc etc.

Even if you don't use the wireless functionality, at least it is there if you decide to get a laptop in the future!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 03:51 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

How about this one?
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...122-008&depa=5

Firewall looks quite extensive and it's cheap. Probably the current version of Daniel's one.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 05:47 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by Con
Linksys equipment is cisco engineered right? So thats got to be a good thing in my books
Except that those designs were around before Cisco bought them... It's also not necessarily engineered to Cisco's normal standards, but depending which side of Cisco you see, that might not be a bad thing...
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 07:15 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Again with the Wireless. Why? Personally, I have enough security problems already, I don't want war driving greedy nerds hijacking my connection.

Granted, they rock if you have a notebook that you want to use anytwhere in your house without wiring the whole dwelling.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 07:40 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

I'd go with the Netgear, unless you REALLY want wireless. I'm sticking with the wires, 1GB networks are simply faster than anything wireless has to offer
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 08:26 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Yes, that's one hell of a design update on my RT314! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 10:07 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Again with the Wireless. Why? Personally, I have enough security problems already, I don't want war driving greedy nerds hijacking my connection.

Granted, they rock if you have a notebook that you want to use anytwhere in your house without wiring the whole dwelling.
I agree. Wireless has its uses, but there's a bit of a wireless bandwagon at the moment. People are keen to jump on it with no good reason. Cables are best for networking unless you have good reason to use wireless.

The wireless part of my router is disabled, but if someone calls round with a wireless laptop I can enable it for them.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2005, 10:25 AM
Con's Avatar
Con Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 450
Send a message via AIM to Con

Fine each to their own.

I think I did suggest he uses it as a wired router didn't i? just he will have the function there incase he needs it in the future.

Up to you - I'll keep my trap shut.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best 802.11B/G router? Staz Mobile Devices and Networking 1 21st November, 2006 03:21 PM
need router barneygumble742 Mobile Devices and Networking 1 30th September, 2005 08:32 AM
New Router WonderBread Mobile Devices and Networking 1 18th July, 2005 10:50 AM
wireless router/cabled router issues andrew726 Mobile Devices and Networking 6 23rd June, 2005 09:56 PM
Uplink router to router? LP Mobile Devices and Networking 6 24th August, 2003 03:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0