AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 09:50 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Question Modem drivers required

hi all,
a few weeks ago, i got a new Asus modem with a PCTEL PCT789T-C1 chip. I got a driver disc with it but they didn't work correctly. I am installing this on a folding rig running windows XP pro so i need some drivers ASAP. I can find them for all other versions of windows but not XP. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Scott.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 03:59 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

The nightmare of Winmodem drivers. In the past, this has worked for me; try the update driver wizard, but choose the driver to install. Choose a generic winmodem out of the list of Windows driver. This will usually get it working. Then go to Windows Update, and with any luck there will be an updated driver that works better available.
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 06:02 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

It should have an FCC ID # on it. Find it then do a search on the FCC's website and it will give you the exact model # for that modem. Then go to the manufacturers site and see if they have an XP driver for it. If they don't try a Windows 2000 driver.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 09:03 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Right, i tried the FCC ID but no luck. When i tried to install the modem last night using some windows 98 drivers that a few people said worked on XP, i selected the modem ( a different modem from the one i have but said it worked for this one) and clicked next. On the next page, it asks which port to install it to (COM1, COM2, etc.), there were no options in the 'port select' box so i couldn't click next. Anyone want to explain this to me?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2005, 03:44 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

The modem driver here will probably get it working well enough to go to Windows Update, http://www.conexant.com/support/hsp_driverdownload.jsp

Got there from here (tip number six) http://www.tellurian.com/customers/modem_tips.asp . Also take a look here, http://modemsite.com/56k/pctel.asp .
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2005, 04:39 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

you might try www.driversguide.com they ahve a huge database of drivers, and you can search by chip, manufacturer, FCC ID etc.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2005, 06:52 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

i've tried all of those but i've figured out the problem, it's knack'ed. I put my Conexant modem in from this computer and it was instantly recognised and installed by windows so my mums said she is going to take me to a local computer store to get a dvd/cdrom drive and a new modem. I'm gonna get a conexant, even if it is strictly a winmodem. Thanks for the help anyway.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PNG dll required skool h8r Programming and Assembly Language 77 21st January, 2011 01:02 PM
New Athlon Cpu Required surgeon AMD Motherboards & CPUs 15 18th November, 2005 05:29 PM
Drivers required for an Epox EP-MVP3H-02 pipeme EPoX MotherBoards 4 21st July, 2005 01:26 AM
More mentions required dod ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 8th October, 2004 08:47 PM
Are 8RDA+ NForce Drivers Required ? FastFred EPoX MotherBoards 10 13th January, 2003 09:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0